We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful local spot”

Benicia State Recreation Area
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Benicia
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

For years, I ran the short pathway in and out of the park. Now I occasionally fish for striped bass and salmon off the point. Although the park services have declined, the locals still keep this place relatively clean. I hope the local effort to keep this place open is successful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee-and-Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Local walking, bike riding and fishing area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Good exercise area. Good views of water. Many locals use the several mile paved trail for daily exercise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank csutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Get away from the heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is state run, so there is a fee to park. Paved path for a good section (with raspberries in season). At the end there are toilets. The best part is down the stairs and to the right along the waterfront. Great rocks, nice breeze, a train across the bay to sit and watch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were first timers there this weekend. Family of three plus dogs. Great path, very nice to have bikes and walkers separated, seems to work well for everyone. We had a beautiful day in some great weather. Lovely fresh air and views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ccmgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friends and I walk here frequently. It is about 5 miles to the end and back and the scenery is breathtaking. There is lots of wildlife (ground squirrels, birds, etc.) and lots of people exercising and enjoying the outdoors. Very dog friendly, but watch for the bikes! and please clean up after your pet so we can all enjoy it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benicia State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing