We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a quiet place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was very surprised that we got the room which was not silent. I had wished a quiet comfortable room. In the second upper floor someone walked nearly all the night and in some other room a baby cried in the early morning. Breakfast room was small and people just pop in to take something to eat. Not so friendly service in reception, I wonder why.
The building was new. I wonder why the place you should wash your hands and intime parts is open to the room and not in the restroom/bathroom. Voyerism.... I did not like.

Room Tip: Second floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuula27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
33
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Why is this place so bad? Let me count the ways:
1) Room telephone and TV remote were non-functional. Despite being reported when I checked in, they remained unfixed for our three night stay.
2) Room heater (in March) was so loud you could not sleep - and you also could not separate heating function from fan, so the thing would cycle up from scratch (LOUD!) every few minutes. I was told these were new units, but they were just plain poorly designed and made.
3) Bed blankets were simply inadequate - I was cold every night.
4) Bed pillows resembled chicklets made of foam = very uncomfortable, period.
5) No room service 50% of our stay (no trash collection, new towels, etc). Even when it came, the floors were not cleaned (stuff from the previous occupants remained in place on the floor throughout our visit).
6) Paper-thin walls made room very noisy - the main road was 50 yards away and you still hear every car that passed (as well as they heavy footed people up stairs!) and every car that started up in the parking lot.
7) Bar lock on room door for security was broken.
8) Closet door opened fine but did not close without a big effort.
9) Difficult to locate the manager at the checkin counter.
10) We were denied the AAA discount at checkin, even though we were supposed to get one.
(I do not understand how AAA can rate this as anything above minimal, but they do, so beware.)
11) The shower door leaked water all over the bathroom every time you took a shower,
About the only positive thing I can say was that the breakfast was better than average for a place of this sort. Also, be sure to check out the (literal) castle next door!
Bottom Line: Find someplace else - this is not worth the aggravation.

Room Tip: I suspect the upstairs rooms are a bit less noisy (nobody above with heavy feet!), but I do not thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_Moosie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ben Lomond hotels

alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived on a Friday night, no internet. they tried re setting router, but no success. Told us there was no service tech available till Monday (day we departed). Gave $10 rebate. Not acceptable.
Facility was fine but don't advertise internet if it is not there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska12550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at this motel and were quite satisfied. It was much nicer than I expected for an older motor lodge. We just wanted a clean, comfortable place to stay overnight after a day hiking at Big Basin and then dinner at the Tyrolean Inn. We chose the Quality Inn because of the proximity to the Tyrolean Inn and because it is inexpensive.

From the outside, the property is basic, but looks well cared for. Our room was very comfortable and looked like it had been recently redecorated - newer furniture and fixtures, fresh paint, granite counter and shower enclosure, nice curtains with good black-out drapes. The bed was comfortable.

The motel exceeded our expectations and we were quite pleased with it. That said, there are 2 reasons that I rate this place a 4 rather than a 5:

1. Hot water - after hiking for several hours at Big Basin, I was really looking forward to a hot shower. The water in the shower was warm, but even at its hotest setting, it was not warm enough to satisfy my sore muscles.

2. Sound-proofing - being an older motel, the soundproofing isn't up to modern standards. We were on the ground floor with one room above us. We could hear the guests above us whenever they walked anywhere in their room - including getting up for the bathroom in the middle of the night. With the fan on the heater/AC unit on this was much less noticable, so we kept the fan running. I would recommend that guests request upstairs rooms if possible to avoid the overhead noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a small hotel on the edge of town in Ben Lomand , Santa Cruz mountains. We were lucky enough for a few dollars more to stay in their cottage, a separate cabin next to the motel with a kitchen , living area, separate bedroom and front deck. We had a great time here in this rustic quirky little cottage. Behind the reception house is a great little area overlooking the river and the castle house with picnic benches to sit at. Staff was super friendly . We would return here.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars and book a suite or the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a stop over here because we wanted to drive through the redwoods. Also spent time walking and talking to locals of the area, which was a very pleasant experience.
Room was fine, nice and clean, and very quiet so we had a great nights sleep. Staff very friendly and helpful. Daniel, one of the front desk team, was kind enough to loan us his lap top to look for our next hotel, and gave us suggestions on where to stay. We had our own laptop but would not work at the time.

Negatives- Not a great choice for continental breakfast. No yogurts, just cakes and various types of bread. Also had waffle machine. The fruit again, only apples, which weren't very nice. Also compared to other prices we have paid on our journey around the west coast the night rate was high.

Room Tip: All rooms look similar - we had one in the middle of the block on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

we did fine here, although i imagine there is an issue with mold. this may be pretty universal for the area as it's pretty damp outside a lot of the time. our room did smell bleachy which means they may have just done a blitz...but we slept well. it was very quiet during our stay, there was an extensive breakfast and the tyrolean inn is a few yards down the road if you are looking for german food or a huge beer. it was a good base for the redwoods, near felton and henry cowells with big basin the other way and just a short hop to santa cruz and route 1. room was around $90. i would give it "good" rather than average, so let's say 3.5 stars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ben Lomond
5.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
7.4 mi away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Fern River Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
#2 of 3 in Ben Lomond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Address: 9733 Highway 9, Ben Lomond, CA 95005-9204 (Formerly Coast Redwood Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains, a relaxing resort Inn located near The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and coastal beaches located near Santa Cruz, California. Our newly rejuvenated Inn features various room appointments, signature amenities and award- winning hospitality to make your perfect Santa Cruz, CA getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Ben Lomond
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Ben Lomond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing