We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“why stay in santa cruz?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Vacaville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“why stay in santa cruz?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Why anyone would stay in the town of Santa Cruz is beyond me. Stayed for a reasonable rate, just outside of town in the GORGEOUS mountains. Nice hotel. First room did have a gross odor to it, but was changed quickly for us. The room is furnished well, and your basic needs. Staff super friendly and gave us helpful tips w/ out sounding like they have done this 1000 times. Good for them! After a day in the mountains, very short drive to the Boardwalk, I looked at all the other hotels I researched and was SO VERY HAPPY I chose to stay on the outskirts. YUCK! I would kick myself If i had paid $250.00 for one of those hotels! People did. Listen to instinct....happiness follows!

Room Tip: average continental breakfast....my husband said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glitteredshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    11
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
33
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am puzzled by the negative reviews....i have only good things to say about this hotel. The exterior looks rather ordinary but the rooms (at least the room i am in) are excellent. All new everything - carpets, bath, linens, curtains, furniture. I wasnt expecting much but i had looked around santa cruz first and was not liking that scene, so came back up the highway to Ben Lomond for a little more serenity. I have never stayed in a Quality Inn before, or if i did it was not memorable. To me the interior of this room resembles a Doubletree or Hilton Garden Inn, maybe a nice La Quinta. For my next work trip to this area i will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am baffled by the comments of other reviewers. This place isn't cute but disgusting, and management didn't seem to care. I stayed here in July 2012 with a group and got to see several rooms. The pool water was blue/yellow. My room had black mold spots all along the inside of the shower curtain. (That's healthy!) The sound was so loud from the small fridge every few hours that we had to unplug it after the first night (or be worken up all night again). One of my travel companions checked into a room that smelled like a mixture of stale cat urine and human body odor. The smell was so bad that she asked to be moved to another room. Management found a room that was open but initially said that they were going to charge her for the "upgrade" to a king sized bed. (We laughed, and they backed down.) I saw housekeeping go into the room to check out the smell; she shrugged her shoulders and went back outside. My room was musty but bearable; we kept the bathroom window open during the entire stay. The best part was that for all of this, the hotel charged a rate that was higher than some of the cute (and santiary) B&Bs in Santa Cruz. Nothing about this place looks like the pictures. Don't be fooled. Keep driving.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room on the (looking at the hotel) far right first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ben Lomond hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed one night but the room was very nice with great linens and pillows and a very pretty and pleasant small hotel. We could see a castle from our room across a river and there were lots of roses and other flowers. You could even have a cook-out if you wanted. In fact, someone was having a candlelight dinner and charcoaling out on a picnic area when we got back from dinner. Close enough to Santa Cruz to be worth it. Reasonably priced.

Very, very small breakfast room. The parking was kinda crowded but ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We searched every hotel in Santa Cruz and came across this one because of the price. It's in a cute little town that has everything you would need and is tucked away in the woods. I didn't mind the 10 minute drive to the Boardwalk and would prefer it over staying downtown any day. Not sure what room the other reviewer had, but we had 205 and there was no smell at all. It was a nice clean room with nice beds and a huge TV. They need to invest in microwaves though. A few complaints were NO ICE. The Manager said it would be up and running next time. Also if you're the last one in, you'll have to make a parking spot. It worked but they should do something to fix that. Worked great for our family. We have stayed in some real dumps in Santa Cruz for the same price actually more. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 205 was on top and in the middle, good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

this hotel is off the beaten track for sure, but only about 7 miles from CA17 and there's food and grocery store within 6-7 miles.

The hotel is in the woods off a 2 land road, which is nice. Behind the hotel it appears that there is a walking trail but the windows in the bathroom at night are a little creepy even if they are frosted, just something aboubt them.

The front desk service was nice and parking was easy. The room was comfortable but had a mildew smell inside, but that went away a few minutes after entering. The beds are a bit firm, but after a day in Santa Crus, it didn't matter.

Room Tip: All the same it appears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent one night there after visiting family in Big Basin Redwoods State Park. We stopped on the way to the park to check in. Even though the room was not ready, the front desk agent gave us our 2 keys so it was EZ to get into our room late that night. The room is beautiful, large flat screen TV, comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was well appointed and decorated. Our only comment is that hand rails in the shower, a place to put the soap and a mat on the tub floor would have provided a safer feeling for us seniors. Otherwise, the stay was perfect. We slept in and missed the breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Everyone that we encountered was friendly and the grounds were landscaped beautifully.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. Get there early in order to get a good parking place. The parking was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ben Lomond
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
7.4 mi away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#16 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Fern River Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
Jaye's Timberlane Resort
#2 of 3 in Ben Lomond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Address: 9733 Highway 9, Ben Lomond, CA 95005-9204 (Formerly Coast Redwood Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains, a relaxing resort Inn located near The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and coastal beaches located near Santa Cruz, California. Our newly rejuvenated Inn features various room appointments, signature amenities and award- winning hospitality to make your perfect Santa Cruz, CA getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Ben Lomond
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Ben Lomond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing