We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food and Lots of it”

Shalizaar Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Lots of it”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had dinner here with a diverse group from work. We had several appetizers for the table. Enjoyed the crispy rice with chick peas. Did not enjoy the pureed eggplant but I don't like eggplant. The Naan bread was very good and they brought feta cheese, walnuts, and greens to put on top of it . They also brought some cream cheese like spread that was very flavorful.

For my entree, I ordered the filet kabob. It was delicious. Very tender - could cut with a fork. Also came with a pile of rice which was very yummy.

Had no room for dessert.

Service was great. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    44
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“In a word, delicious”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We used to eat there on special occasions and all of the dishes we tried from the Beef Kabobs to the Chicken Kabobs and stew dishes were superb. The service was consistently good, though I caution you not to go there during their peak lunch or dinner hours, if you must make a reservation and ask for a table by the window.

Don't forget to indulge in the appetizer platters and a delicious cup ( or two ) of tea

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always consistent”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Every time we done at this restaurant, the food and service has been consistently good. The restaurant is nicely decorated and clean. The wait staff is attentive. Would recommend and will go again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popp Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic persian with a touch of mexican servers”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this place reminds you of the opulence of middle eastern palaces, 45 table restaurant with a well trained personnel will make your night.
good beer on tap, good wine and huge selection of whiskies, cognacs and tequilas, its nice to see such detail in the drinks, the food is out even better, order the cubide if your a meat eater, its served with saffron basmatti rice and cucumber,tomato salad, simply amazing.
prices are reasonably cheap and the service is excellent, i have to say that all the waiters are mexican and they seem to know how to get along with the persians, its a good combo... thanks to my buddy el Dr Irani! this place is a keeper!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermenejildo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like a trip to Persia”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My brother and sister in law took us to Shalizaar for a family dinner. We had recently come back from a Holyland trip to Israel so I was not looking forward to falafals or hommus which are not my favorites. What a surprise this place was - it was a classy place, well decorated, very good service. We had the house favorite kebobs. Really good, and I loved the rice.

Reservations are absolutely required - we saw multiple parties turned away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dzb3kv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalizaar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shalizaar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing