We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kabobs around!”

Shalizaar Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best kabobs around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this place! They have the best kabobs ever. My husband is Armenian, so I have had my share of kabobs in the last 25 years. If they aren't cooked right they tend to be dry and rubbery, but Shalizaar has perfected the art of the kabob. Tender, moist and juicy. The yogurt is to die for as are the deserts. We belong to a food group and are hosting our next fete there. We went on a Sunday afternoon and it was a little noisy as there were a lot of kids with their families. We will try again on a Friday night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glogig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
565 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great, Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a beautiuful restaurant with ample parking, terrific service, outstanding menue choices and terrific food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like alot of Rice Shalizaar is the place for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This place is decorated nice as they spent 5 mil to buy and remodel, (I went to the planning commission hearing on this place) food is good if you like Iraninan food. Place is pricey, but parking lot is always full if that tells you anything. The owners are very nice people. Try it and make up your own mind if you want to return, I only went once even though its only a block from my house.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buckspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Have gone back several times and have not been disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I visit the Bay area on business several times a year and I always make a point of visiting Shalizaar for dinner. The food was particularly good this time so I went twice in the one trip! The owners are there all the time and take pride in their food and service. They are very friendly and welcoming. It is simply great Iranian food and the bread is fresh baked and delicious. I also like the decor of the restaurant as it adds to the pleasant dining experience. The prices are also very reasonable.

For visitors that are staying in the area while transiting through SFO it is a short drive from the Millbrae / Burlingame area and worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Axsdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You've got to try the salmon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Went with business colleagues and thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. Nice ambiance, great food. Look for Mahi on the menu...that's the salmon, and it's wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalizaar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shalizaar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing