We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, great setting. Eco Tent.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belair National Park Caravan Park
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a weekend in one of the eco tents. Debbie the manager was awesome at check in, giving us a basket of goodies for breakfast, easy directions around the park and even a ball for our children.
Our family live in the area so they came for a BBQ, the playground area was great for the kids and the grass kept in good condition for them to run without shoes.
We used the camp kitchen, it was spotless and there was a TV room next door with a huge wall mounted TV.
All in all a lovely experience and we would love to return but in a bigger cabin next time. The National Park next door is huge and really worth exploring, ask Debbie for where the koalas are hanging out. :)
The eco tents would be the perfect setting for a romantic weekend away, the heating was great and the showers hot! All what you need in a cooler climate!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Firstly site we got put on was dirt no grass no concrete slabs - it rained and hailed whole time ,male and female toilets used same key, so safety was obviously not a priority,- They didnt give us sufficient information as to the check out time shockingly dirty - reception and staff didnt make you feel welcome at all.- it was like show me the money

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The lady at reception is too lovely for words. Helpful, informative, just great. The location is stunning. Access to city was easy. Highly reccomend

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunegunda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in a powered site at the Belair Caravan Park. Nice spot with direct access to the Belair National Park. Perfect for bike riding. Positives were the night walk to view possums, shady sites. Downsides, kiosk bread not restocked, terribly dusty (could put some gravel down on sites) - was shockingly dirty due to it. The pool area was nice, but not solar heated so super cold - even on a hot day. Great if you want to bushwalk and ride through the national park,but not so great if you want to stick around the area. No shops within walking distance, so reliant on the kiosk. Could be so much better with a bit more invested in it, perfect location. Toilets/showers were clean. But the dust was hideous, and would turn to mud at the first sign of rain. Pets allowed in your own accommodation which was nice. A nice stay and the national park was so much fun. Just sort out the dust issue - yuk

Room Tip: Cabins looked nice. Clean and in good positions. Sites - some had gravel so ask for one that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

If you like lots of noisy kids, tv, radios and games rooms, look elsewhere. But if you like the tranquil experience in the real wilds of Australia (but with hot showers!) make sure to visit this caravan park in the Adelaide hills. The families and the grey nomads who frequent this place probably would not be impressed with my review because they want to keep this place a secret, but this park located in the middle of a national park deserves to be mentioned. After all, our taxes pay for this fantastic national park!

This caravan park is very similar to the Lane Cove Tourist Park in Sydney, but much smaller and less crowded and consequently much cleaner. Two years ago when we drove into Adelaide in mid-January all caravan parks were booked out in Adeliade except this one, which turned out to be one of the best we have stayed in Australia. Nightly activities of spotting of wildlife is a favorite activity for visitors. The camping groud is situated on a ridge that overlooks Adelaide (although you cannot see the city due to the bush) and cool breezes rush up the valleys even on very hot days and it is a very pleasant place to stay amongst the large gum trees.

The caravan park is well serviced and clean. The facilities include large clean shower stalls (unlike most caravan parks), excellent laundry and recently built modern camp kitchen. There is a bath in the female shower blocks for small children and there is one child-sized toilet for people with short legs. There is even a tv/reading room although not too many use it because most people who come here enjoy the natural surroundings. The only minor inconvenience is that you have to carry a key to open the toilets (a key pad would have been better). There is a swimming pool for the hot days and some small items can be purchased from the office (ice cream!).

The major attraction here is, well, nothing other than walks/cycle along paths in the Belair national park, and animal spotting. You can appreciate why the Australian government preserves parks like this around the continent. Park managers are friendly and tell you about which trees to spot the possums at night (with babies on their back!). A powered site for our caravan was $53/night (two adults and three kids). Cabins and non-powered sites are also available.

One word of warning about getting to this place. Upper Sturt road is a very long road and since the address does not have a street number, it might be advisable to indicate the closest intersection (with Woodlark Grove) in the GPS to get there efficiently. Also driving there from Adelaide from the northwest is a very steep climb and the road is narrow. Be careful driving up and good luck if you are cycling! If you are pulling a caravan but underpowered, it might be advisable to get to the park from the eastern side (Princess Highway side).

We cannot wait to get back to this park again on our drive back to Perth from Sydney in January 2012. It is one of the best spots to camp so close to a major city and it is one of the best ways to experience the Australian bush.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank DHdeWit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank totosguilvinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyM420, Manager at Belair National Park Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belair
7.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#15 of 56 in Adelaide
2,396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brownhill Creek Caravan Park
2.2 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Blackwood
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair National Park Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair National Park Caravan Park

Address: Upper Sturt Road, Belair, South Australia 5052, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Belair
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Belair
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belair National Park Holiday Park situated within the boundaries of the tranquil Belair National Park is the ideal place to Make Memories for you and your loved ones! The picturesque surroundings of the Belair National Park Holiday Park provide an ideal setting for complete relaxation and family adventures. Wake up to the sounds of nature with your loved ones or peace & quiet on your own. Guests may choose to explore the many walking trails located within the National Park, play a round of golf at the Belair National Park Golf Course, enjoy a meal and a drink at the Belair Park Country Club or just sit back and relax by the pool and forget that the city is only 25 minutes away. The park is ideally situated for day trips to explore the Adelaide Hills, Barossa and the Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing