We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Still Perfect.”
other travelers have booked this property
Samhach Holiday Let
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Samhach Holiday Let
View From Raised Decking Towards Loch Ness Garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Samhach Holiday Let
View From Raised Decking Towards Loch Ness
Garden area.
Croft Land Next To Garden Area
View Of Samhach From Croft Land
Wood Burner For Those Cosy Nights In
Tea, Coffee & Sugar Provided
All Kitchen Utensils Provided
En-Suite Shower Room
En-Suite Shower Room
Dores Beach Looking Down Loch Ness
Mist Lifting Off A Local Road
Loch Ness
Loch Ness
Stag head
Bedroom.
The bedroom.
The living room.
Sofa in living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gorthleck, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Benedict...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still Perfect.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After visiting previously during the autumn/winter, it was wonderful to experience the same peace and quiet in warmer weather. The house is still perfect, and is just as comfortable in the warmer weather, and certainly gains from being able to sit out on the decking in the open air, just soaking in the clean air and sun.

Graham and Roz are so helpful and friendly, and anyone staying at Samhach would do well to ask for advice and guidance regarding places to go, Applecross was a lovely little gem they put us on to!

I can't commend the apartment any more highly, just go, and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet outdoor location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivienne...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful little gem, tucked away, full of peace, quiet and tranquility.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Samhach is easy to find, if you follow the instructions. I didn't take better pix than they did, so I haven't included any and I haven't recommended it for the groups listed as it is one bedroom up stairs to decking.

Ros and Graham have a new attitude to any cottage I have EVER stayed in and I have been doing this for 50 years. Normally there are warnings all over the place and you have to bring your own bedding.

At Samhach EVERYTHING has been provided except milk for your tea and coffee, that can't be bad. I am quite critical and get cross if everything isn't quite right so this is very truthful.

I loved not having to bring my bed linen and towels. I loved being able to have a supermarket (Tesco, Sainsbury's and Asda all deliver here) shopping delivery on the evening I arrived in the knowledge that Ros or Graham would take it in for us.

Samhach is like one of those Bijou Hotels I keep reading about, it is decorated as I would like to be able to do it, so it feels like home - but better. There is everything that you need - even a wee dram when you get there.

There is a lovely bathroom with a decent size shower and lots of lovely hot water.

The peace oh, it was delightful, near enough countryside to walk, but far enough away to be quiet. Situated only about 20 mins from Inverness you have the best of both worlds. Easy access to things to eat, we asked for a food recommendation and wow was it good!

I am not a huge lover of other people's children and there was a mention of Ros and Graham's little son, he is very quiet and you hardly know he is there. We had free range eggs, I loved collecting them and talking to the chickens.

Ros and Graham gave us our space but when we needed help (no TV at home and couldn't fathom this new fangled sky) we were given a free lesson in TV usage! Nothing seemed too much trouble. Oh and I forgot I was getting my deposit back, so it was a lovely surprise too!

What didn't I like: well you had to clean it at the end, how could I criticise that? Someone had to do it and we didn't make much mess in a week, so there wasn't much to do.

In general we loved it: And not a notice of how to behave in sight bliss....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: help with anything - we couldn't work the TV, don't have one
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsTootin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Inverness for the weekend as my husband was taking part in a cycling event in the area. Samhach is lovely. The house has everything you need and more including fresh eggs from the owners chickens. The setting is beautiful and very peaceful but still within commuting distance to Inverness. We were made to feel very welcome, Graham and Roselyn are so friendly. I would definitely love to return. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
380Andrew
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would love to go back”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A perfect retreat in a lovely setting just left me thinking about when I'd be able to get back again. Went with my two teenage children who were both revising for exams! We all like walking and there is no shortage of walks around. The scenery is stunning and the wildlife fascinating.

Really well equipped and the my son loved the Sky Sports. Free wifi too. There is a lovely big veranda which must be great when it's a bit warmer. The place is really well looked after and the owners make it warm and welcoming - the extra thought that makes the difference - a decanter of whisky, free eggs from the chickens in the garden and logs for the wood stove (there's central heating too).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itrunsdee...
itrunsdeeper
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway in the Woods”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Samhach for 2 nights to explore Loch Ness and Glen Affric. It was a perfect base for us, private and hidden away in beautiful woodland but with all the amenities needed to be comfortable and self-sufficient. Rosalyn was very welcoming host and we could not have asked for anything more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge windows and high ceiling
Liked least: Only being there for 2 nights!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomsonsO...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden little gem!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Samhach is a perfect hideaway tucked away in peaceful countryside, it has all you need and more. Friendly hosts who generously offer those little extras like tea, coffee, fresh eggs, firewood for the wood burner, Sky TV & WiFi, along with an abundance of DVD’s, books and games and not forgetting a wee dram! All these extra touches make Samhach stand out from the rest. Myself, my husband and 15 year old daughter stayed for 3 nights in February and it may have been freezing outside but it was very, very toasty inside. Perfectly situated to visit the local area with all it's stunning scenery yet far enough away to feel like you’re away from it all. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, homely and peaceful
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing