We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin de Playas
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Playas
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Maria-Gabriela and Juan Carlos are great hosts, in this cosy off the tracks B&B we felt at home. A few bungalows around a sand garden with swimming pool just 200m from the beautiful sand beach. Units are are well dimensioned and clean with ac, fan and hot water. Juan Carlos is a great cook and plates are huge. Maria Gabriela helps with all type of requests even Galapagos trips.
This was for us a great place to recharge our batteries after 2 weeks around Ecuador.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family stayed at el Jardin for 6 weeks. It was one of the most relaxed times I have ever had. everything from the beach to the food was awesome. We enjoyed swims in the ocean, the pool and watching fisherman along the beach. It was a superb experience. Marie and Juan Carlos made our visit special and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Every Casa in el Jardin has something that makes it special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeanneandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am staying at El Jardín in Playas Ecuador for a month. Maria and Juan Carlos are very accommodating and helpful. I feel very safe here. I am a single woman 58 years old . It is a 2 minute walk to the beach and .40 ride by bus to the city. There are many sand dollars on the beach to search for that are beautiful.

Room Tip: They have many different sizes of places to stay. Some have kitchens, some do not. Next time I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikeplaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at El Jardin for the month of December 2012. Not knowing what to expect we arrived with an open mind. Maria & her husband we both very helpful with giving us all of the information we needed to get around and feel comfortable. However, with our experiences in renting through VRBO we were quite dissapointed with the way they managed their Cabanas. We had to provide our own toilet paper, buy our water which we were overcharged by an insulting amount...considering you couldn't use the water from the taps...during our stay for the month the unit was not cleaned ONCE. We paid 1200 for the month cash...and I was informed that they didn't have Visa or Mastercard available...this was not the case. Also we travelled for approx 2 1/2 weeks of our trip throughout Ecuador and everyplace we stayed at included our breakfast for a quarter of the price we had paid with them. It was quite shocking as they have a great restaurant with a great chef...so considered a hosteria in Ecuador and no other alternative for miles the breakfast should of been included. All in all a great place to stay for a couple of days if you are travelling up the coast but not reccommended at all for any length of time. We had a great visit to Ecuador and learned alot about the country and the people. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swile265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hosteria is off the beaten track in Playas but well worth looking for. i stayed here with my family for the weekend and have no complaints what so ever.

The villas are well equiped and clean.
the villa we stayed in (#1), was 2 floors, Master bedroom upstairs with A/C and bathroom. downstairs consisted of: kitchen, dining/living room, bathroom and bedroom with double set of bunk beds (no A/C, but does have a ceiling fan). a small TV with cable is also supplied in the room. the kitchen is equiped with gas cooker, microwave, fridge and pans, plates etc.

the whole environment with the gardens, pool and beach(200m away) is aimed at chilling out and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble for Juan Carlos and Gabi and their personal and friendly touch makes the stay even more enjoyable. The food in the restaurant is excellent and good value for money.
this really is a little gem of a place.
if you want personal service, an excellent atmosphere and a lovely place to relax with your family or friends; then this is the place to visit.
we have stayed in many hotels and hosterias throughout Ecuador but i think our stay here has probably been the most pleasant and relaxing of them all and we will definately be going back again.
Patrick

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have been all over Ecuador and know so many beaches, but El Jardin has been the best experience ever.. My stress level went from a +10 to a zero in no time... Beautiful area, nice little town to visit if necessary, beautiful long beach to walk everyday, wonderful waves and ocean front... The hotel accomodations are just what I love, simple and sweet, my own hammock, palm trees, a swimming pool for those moments you don´t want to go to beach... Wonderful service, the best food ever, I can´t wait to go back... Love you Maga and JC!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TracyLindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent 2 days at El Jardín, seeking to get away from the city and relax. Well, we found the perfect place at El Jardín. The lovely hosts, Juan Carlos and María Gabriela, made us feel at home from the very first minute. We stayed at the chalet, which is a separate from the rest of the houses, and it was extremely relaxing. The beach was very close, so we could hear the sea from our balcony and chill on the hammock... El Jardín is full of exotic birds which are real fun to watch, especially when you are by the pool, and the food is absolutely delicious. It's all fresh, made from scratch and mouth-watering. If I want to relax by the beach and enjoy good food and lovely company, I will head straight to El jardín

Room Tip: Chalet for more quiet, romantic experience and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playas hotels
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Nevada
#2 of 2 in Playas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
3.2 mi away
Playa Paraiso Gastronomia & Lodge
6.9 mi away
Promenade Hostel
Promenade Hostel
#3 of 11 in Playas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Casa Taller Ramirez
Casa Taller Ramirez
#2 of 11 in Playas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel La Posada del Sueco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Titopolis
Hotel Titopolis
#1 of 16 in Playas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Playas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Playas

Property: El Jardin de Playas
Address: Km. 10. 5 Via Data, General Villamil, Playas, Playas 092150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Playas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Playas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin embraces all nature and ocean life lovers. We offer 12 units close to the beach (100 meters) with different ambiences, vegetation that attracts a variety of bird, gardens, children's playground and a great beach. Also we have soccer, mini tennis and a volley ball courts. Featuring 1 and 2 floor houses, suites equipped with comfortable rooms, A/C, living/dining room, kitchen and hammocks, and four comfortable bedrooms. We arrange ecotourism experiences such as dolphin watching, horseback riding or trekking and host special events. We are located only 1 hour away from Guayaquil. In the restaurant "El Colibri" you can enjoy ecuadorian typical food and italian food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Jardin de Playas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin De Playas Hotel Ecuador
El Jardin De Playas Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing