We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once a Gem, not Anymore!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baywood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed just one night on our way through town. We selected the Kensington room knowing it was on the low end of the price range. We should have spent the extra money and stayed across the street.

One thing we really appreciated was the early check-in. The room itself is a good size. However, the peeling wallpaper is really disappointing. The love seat is the same one from 13 years ago & the plastic flowers needed to be dusted! The complimentry snacks are nice. Wine and cheese is no longer! It consists of a glass of wine(with cork pieces) and an offer of chips with salsa. No more turn down service either.
The staff were average & the stairwell was dirty; Cob webs and bugs.
Thankfully breakfast was great at Good Tides across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NenNanPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

I just returned from a lovely Memorial Day weekend stay at the Baywood Inn. Having read some mixed reviews on this site we were pleasantly surprised to find the inn delightful.
I am sure the younger folks would find the decor out of the 80's but never the less each room is charming, confortable, and extremely clean. Not one suite or room could be described as shabby, on the contrary, they are well kept and maintained. The staff are really accomodating and fill the fridge with soft drinks and snacks daily. A hearty breakfast can be had at the restaurant next door and the cafe accross the street. At five a good wine is served with chips and salsa. All this is included in the price of the room. We had a wonderful dinner at Windows on the Sea at Morro Bay, which is a ten minute drive from the inn. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artynicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The hotel is an old office building that has been converted and the downstairs rooms are about six feet from the parking lot so it is not private. Each room has a theme and while it wasn’t my style, you can tell someone put thought and effort into the room designs. Our room was fairly clean and the bed/bed linens were nice but the attention to details about cleaning was missing such as spider webs on the bathroom ceiling fan. That said, the rates are affordable and the location is fantastic but just don’t expect anything amazing.

Like a prior poster, we visited the Good Tides Coffee Shop across the street during out stay at the hotel and it was the highlight of our visit. I had the best cup of coffee ever (a Mexican coffee) and a veggie egg dish that was out of this world. It’s a tiny little place so it’s amazing to see the variety of dishes the kitchen can create. I met the owner and she spent some time in Ireland cooking and came back to take over this shop – she’s done a great job (lots of good quality ingredients). We went back several times before we left and even took a bag of homemade muffins on the road with us. The location is perfect to grab a cup of coffee, some wonderful food and enjoy the view. I’m jealous of the locals that can visit this place daily though my wallet is happy we’re not close.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycshopgirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet place in a beautiful setting with great weather; this is it. We spent the weekend in central california with the Baywood Inn as our base. The room was cute and clean. The towels and amenities were top notch. Breakfasts were in restaurants next door or across the street and gave no reason to complaint. All in all, it was more than worth the money and being able to watch the sun set over the Morro Bay sand spit was marvelous.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We have three kids, so finding a place for everyone can be tough. The room was just pecfect. A little worn but very clean.
staff happy and helpful. We were giving a choice of places for our morning meal and we opted for the little coffee house across the street ( "GOOD TIDES COFFEE HOUSE") So happy we did. While it was busy. The staff was wonderful and Warm. The food Fresh and Yummy. Everything is baked on site every morning and you can tell the owner loves what she is doing. Sitting in the sun with my kids after a good night sleep with a fine meal. Truly a very good B & B.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank lee454545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

It is difficult to find accommodations online in an area you have never travelled to before so, naturally, you turn to hotel reviews on TripAdvisor!
When I was looking for a single night's lodging for our trip to San Simeon's Hearst Castle I met with the usual 2-night minimum stays at luxury B&Bs with out- of-range prices. Fortunately I came across the Baywood Inn B&B just 10 minutes south of Morro Bay in Los Osos.
As we were travelling with our friends we requested their AVONLEA SUITE, a two-bedroom each with bathroom and a seperate sitting area. We managed to get a one-night stay as we couldn't fit more into our schedule.The previous reviews were somewhat mixed but mostly to the positive. And that's what our experience was...POSITIVE!!!!
From my initial email inquiries about the facility, the surrounding restaurants and areas, Inkeeper Lindsay was expediant and thorough in her replies.
When we arrived, the young girls at the front desk were professional, very couteous and helpful to us in our check-in.
The suite was surprisingly comfortable for the four of us! Although not as gleeming as the website's pictures (but NOTHING is!!!!) it was comfortably worn and quite clean...certainly worth the price! The rooms were spacious and the sitting area with fridge was a nice touch for some local wines at night.
The breakfast was a bit of a glitch. Previous complaints were that the Baywood was not actually an on-site B&B....NO BIG DEAL!!!! Vouchers at the La Palapa Restaurant next door served some GREAT breakfast food...quite a variety with huge portions ...the breakfast burrito was terrific, the waffles were very "American" and the coffee cup was bottomless!
The impressions and recommendations from our two couples....."Wish we could have stayed longer!"

Doug & Cathie Wighton
Mississauga (Toronto), Ontario, CANADA

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

First of all we stayed at Baywood in October 2008 with a very positive experience. There was the wine and cheese hour, and a nice basket breakfast with good granola brought to our clean room.

Over the Christmas Holiday we had a very different experience. We checked in and the heater did not work. The blinds in the bedroom were broken at the top but over all the room was clean. The woman who was on duty did try hard to fix the heater and when it did not work she kindly moved us to another room. The resuraunt next door is now mexican food, and the wine and cheese hour have been done away with-you now go next door and have wine with salsa and chips! BTW the staff over there is rude and hateful to guests. The next morning we had a "voucher "to go next door to the same place and have a breakfast like you would get a Denny's.Please stop calling the Baywood Inn a bed and breakfast and change your website to properly advertise what it is now- a hotel.
I did express my feelings to the day staff who listened but I am sure they do not have the authority to make the needed change.
Hopefully the owners will change how they are running this once nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CrestlineMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baywood Park
1.1 mi away
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Sea Pines Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Los Osos
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Back Bay Inn
Back Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Baywood Park
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Landing at Morro Bay
The Landing at Morro Bay
#18 of 29 in Morro Bay
41 reviews
2.5 mi away
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1370 2nd St, Baywood Park, CA 93402-1112
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range: $133 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baywood Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing