We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away from it All!”
Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Back Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Get Away from it All!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Traveling to Los Osos is like taking a trip back in time to a simpler day in California. I stay here while visiting my parents who live near. The rooms are clean and wonderful with the tranquil view of the ever changing bay out the window. Breakfast is at THE happening spot in town :-) and the Managers reception in the evening is charming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayPays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    55
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We drove down to Los Osos from Washington state to have work done on our van at a local specialty shop. Although we arrived later than planned (too late for the wine and cheese), the desk clerk brought wine and a plate of hors d'oeurves to our room for us, and we were greeted with a beautiful sunset from our patio. We had a very pleasant stay here and the staff was gracious and accommodating. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised and are already planning a time to return!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsmith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a beautiful space... clean, comfortible, quiet... the bed was fantastic and the sheets so soft. Right on the bay with beautiful gardens on their grounds. Already planning our trip back. Kelly was so kind and helpful - walking distance to restaurants and great breakfast next door. Definately on our list of spots to remember!! Just beautiful...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seemaryrun_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My in laws having been staying here for years. Last week end we celebrated my husband's birthday with his 2 brothers & their wives. Nice view, amazing property, king beds and you can walk to dinner. Honestly do yourself a favor & go and remember that word "rela just do it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed one night in this lovely hotel on the edge of the water. Pretty gardens and we enjoyed complimentary cheese and wine while watching the sunset. good Mexican opposite. very tranquil and a perfect stopover if doing route one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My hubby and I have stayed at the Back Bay Inn numerous times. The staff at the front desk are wonderful and friendly. The owners are very pleasant. Tracy at the cafe makes wonderful food, and the staff gives great customer service. My hubby and I always feel very welcomed and would like to live in this wonderful, friendly town. Every time we leave I count the days till we can return :)

Room Tip: My fav rooms are the following, both end rooms upstairs, and the garden room, 306.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 5-year anniversary. What a beautiful and relaxing getaway! We stayed in the cottage across the street, which is nice for a family (could sleep 8 if needed). The staff was extremely friendly and the grounds are lovely. I would highly recommend this spot if you want to relax and get away from it all, yet be close to the larger communities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baywood Park
1.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Sea Pines Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Los Osos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Property: Back Bay Inn
Address: 1391 2nd St, Baywood Park, CA 93402-1111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Back Bay Inn is located in great community of Baywood Park/Los Osos on the Central Coast of California in San Luis Obispo County. The Inn is the only waterfront hotel located right on the quiet waters of the Back Bay. The rooms in the main building overlook the gardens, the Back Bay waters and views towards the wonderful hills of the State Park, Montana de Oro. Complimentary breakfast is served at our popular Back Bay Cafe. Across the bay, a short stroll away, is the Audubon Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary. Golf is available just 1.5 miles away. Morro Bay State Park & Bird Sanctuary and Morro Bay Golf Course are a 5 mile drive away and wineries can be found in San Luis Obispo and North County. Baywood Park/Los Osos is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures with numerous trails, particularly in Montana de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing