We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love staying at BackBayInn”
Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Back Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
clovis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love staying at BackBayInn”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My hubby and I have stayed at the Back Bay Inn numerous times. The staff at the front desk are wonderful and friendly. The owners are very pleasant. Tracy at the cafe makes wonderful food, and the staff gives great customer service. My hubby and I always feel very welcomed and would like to live in this wonderful, friendly town. Every time we leave I count the days till we can return :)

Room Tip: My fav rooms are the following, both end rooms upstairs, and the garden room, 306.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 5-year anniversary. What a beautiful and relaxing getaway! We stayed in the cottage across the street, which is nice for a family (could sleep 8 if needed). The staff was extremely friendly and the grounds are lovely. I would highly recommend this spot if you want to relax and get away from it all, yet be close to the larger communities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed this small hotel in August; stayed in Room 1 (101 on the website). Interior decor is basic, white and nautical - a welcome relaxation from the over-decorated frilly B&B's. Could hear some noise from the room next door, fortunately no room above. Room 1 is on the end, closest to the parking lot, but that is NOT a problem at all. There is a double terrace door opening to the bay. One negative is the room has no window (only the terrace doors), and we like fresh air during the night, so we had to sleep with the doors ajar. Fortunately the property is fairly quiet, but note there is a public path 20 feet away and no fence. We had to keep the shades down in the morning, when we'd prefer to look at the bay. Next time, we'll get an upstairs room with balcony.

Also, the surrounding area is a quiet; just a couple restaurants and the whole neighborhood is a bit run down. The hotel, though is great. We didn't care about the town - we were biking anyway.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms have terraces open to the bay; second floor rooms have windows (couple with balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Family trip and we brought our husky. We stayed in the pet friendly room, which was actually two rooms, very clean There was plenty of room for my wife, daughter, dog and me. Situated right at the back bay, nice garden area, wine and cheese happy hour, breakfast included @ corner cafe. Sunsets were unbelievable!!! Just walked right out of the room to the water. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: check the website; accurate description of all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altaprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our first stay and we are already planning our next. The location is peaceful with a gorgeous view of the bay and surrounded by a beautiful garden filled with shasta daisies and roses.

The room was very large and elegantly furnished. We particularly enjoyed the fire place and view. The bed was comfortable, though the best feature was the down comforter.

Breakfast was a little more simple then expected but still delicious, I particularly enjoyed the quiche. Their lattes were the best we have had in many years.

We will definitly be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheriseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived 26 Jul and stayed for 3 nights in room 7 (gd floor overlooking the bay). The room was clean, reasonably large with a very comfortable Kingsize bed and dual aspect windows onto the bay, it also had a small fridge under the sink area, a small bathroom with a shower over the bath.
Immediately on arrival we felt relaxed, it was like arriving in a little bit of heaven, even though there was a bit of a sea fret in the bay. The cheese and wine reception had already started in the gathering room, so we decided to check it out. On arrival we met two friendly American couples who were on a repeat visit to Back Bay Inn, so we spend a nice hour or so in their company. The next day we took a short walk to the local nature reserve where we saw turtles, Egrets and Herons. A lovely place to spend your time. There are several area's outside the accommodation to sit and enjoy the view of the bay. Close by are a few shops, places to eat and even a laundromatt, so everything you need is here. If you want to escape from the madness that is LA, this is the place to come to for peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We loved the beauty of the grounds as much as the comfortable room and view from the balcony. The spring wildflowers were in full bloom and we enjoyed quiet walks through the adjoining neighborhoods and the Elfin Forest and local State Parks. The staff is friendly and helpful...very much "at your service". We had dinner at the Mexican Restaurant across the street and we would highly recommend it for delicious food and great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TASKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baywood Park
1.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Sea Pines Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Los Osos
106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Property: Back Bay Inn
Address: 1391 2nd St, Baywood Park, CA 93402-1111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Back Bay Inn is located in great community of Baywood Park/Los Osos on the Central Coast of California in San Luis Obispo County. The Inn is the only waterfront hotel located right on the quiet waters of the Back Bay. The rooms in the main building overlook the gardens, the Back Bay waters and views towards the wonderful hills of the State Park, Montana de Oro. Complimentary breakfast is served at our popular Back Bay Cafe. Across the bay, a short stroll away, is the Audubon Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary. Golf is available just 1.5 miles away. Morro Bay State Park & Bird Sanctuary and Morro Bay Golf Course are a 5 mile drive away and wineries can be found in San Luis Obispo and North County. Baywood Park/Los Osos is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures with numerous trails, particularly in Montana de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing