We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in one of the chalets and booked both rooms. Great for large groups as the rooms in the chalets can be connected by a shared door on the patio and the kitchen. It was nice to be able to cook our own food, and we also went to one of the restaurants. The rooms were rustic, nice and clean, and our son loved hanging out at the pool overlooking the lake. Many places in the area are expensive, especially during high tourist season, so The Pines Resort offered everything we needed for the price. The staff was very nice and helpful, but don't count on getting internet connection here. It's pretty spotty! We were able to survive not using the internet and actually enjoying our vacation, imagine that! Seems like a waste to be online all the time in a beautiful location like this.

Hope to come back here with some family friends again. Perfect place for the whole family!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you had a wonderful experience here at The Pines Resort! We are continuously working on upgrading our internet service but we were happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay even though it was spotty. Please visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 613 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed this place with my husband twice.
We were tired due to a long trip. However, the lake view and fresh air gave us clean energy.
A staff at the front desk was so nice and polite.
The cabin was comfortable with a classic taste.
The resort itself has a pool and a hot tub with nice view of the lake.
Both of our trips were awesome.
Steak and seafood cream pasta of the resort restaurant (Ducey's Bar) were so tasty and fresh.
Sweet potato was delicious.
The server and the manager of the restaurant made us to have a delicious and comfortable dinner.
My husband and I will visit there again with my kids for our birthday party.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We always love to hear how well our staff is treating our guests and how much they have made your stay an unforgettable one! We are also happy to hear that your dinning experience was a wonderful one and will be passing on the compliments to our chef! Please come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Pines Resort is a nicely situated, although a bit outdated hotel facility and chalet combination. It definitely suffers from the overall situation at Bass Lake where the water level has dramatically decreased.

We, a couple of two, had a 2-level chalet with the sleeping room and bathroom on the ground level and therefore comfortably cool in summer. The equipment with dishes and cutlery was poor, definitely not sufficient to cook or even prepare a salad for oneself.

As a warning to other guests who may need access to the internet - we could not get a single connection in 4 days, i.e. neither email nor browser access on any of the various routing addresses (repeaters) which are apparently spread over the location.

We are, I should mention this, working in the data communications business, and surely know how to set up a connection even under not so favourable conditions. Although all our smart phones, the tablets and the PCs properly connected to the WI-FI spots offered at the Pines Resort we could see nothing more than a message like "trying to get an IP address" [Which means that the request for the establishent of a connection to the Internet tries to get an "available" IP address dynamically assigned by the router( wiFi-Service of the facility]
.
The situation became funny when we tried to achieve more information (or a solution to the problem) at the lobby. After having described the situation I was told to "bring my own IP address" if that is what is missing. We both are not sure whether this was merely the response of an unknowledgeable person at the front desk of the desperate attempt to get rid of us while well-knowing that the allegedly available Internet access at the location does not operate properly at all.

As a result, I haven't spent so many days off from the Internet within the past twenty years ....

Should a reader of this review now point to internet connections via smart phones be warned as well: More than "EDGE" does not seem to be available there at all.

The Pines Resort has another big advantage one should mention: It is an almost perfect location for rock climbing or hiking in Yosemite or the High Sierra and definitely preferable to Camp Curry or other (super expensive and/or poorly equipped) accomodations within the national park.






good alternative to accomoOne is very close to Yosemite and attractive hiking trails in the High Sierra and not

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comments. We are always interested in what our guests experience during there stay and we are always working on improving guest satisfaction. We are working with our internet provider to enhance our band width as well as updating our in room amenities. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the area and truly hope you come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This property is well past its prime. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The area is beautiful. However, you stay in the room not in the front office. The arrangement is independent cabins or 2 cabins under one roof. We stayed in one that had a living room on the entry level and the bedroom and bath in the basement underneath. The carpet needed replacing, in fact the entire room needed replacing. The construction looks like 1960's with very little having been done since. It was clean as could reasonably be done for the age. Internet was virtually unworkable, don't expect to do more than check your email. Employees were great, they just don't have much to work with, with the facilities they have.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgary49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest, Thank you so much for recognizing the amazing staff we have here. We are in the process of remodeling our chalets and are constantly working on improving our guest rooms as well as our entire resort. We are also working with our internet provider to enhance our band width to accommodate the amount of guests we have each day. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit so you can see what improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We spent one night in a pet friendly chalet, as we were traveling with our dog. Based on previous reviews, our expectations were pretty low, so were pleasantly surprised by what we actually found. Desk staff were all friendly and helpful. The property is large, duplex chalets set among the pines overlooking the lake. Chalets are indeed rustic, and the walls are very thin, but the bed was comfortable, the kitchen very convenient, and our neighbors were quiet. The rooms were very clean, with no sign or smell of previous pet occupancy. Baseboard heaters did a good job of taking away the chill (it was quite cool and rainy while we were there). Internet was free and fast. Friends were also staying at the resort, and the living room and large deck of the chalet provided a comfortable gathering place. They were staying in a suite, which was much more along the lines of a large standard hotel room and had a better view of the lake. With the pet charge of $30 added even the non-refundable rate seemed rather high, but it is not easy to find acceptable pet friendly lodging this close to Yosemite, and this suited our needs perfectly. I know renovations are underway, and hope they will add some sort of sound dampening insulation in the common wall of the chalets, as this is the only major downside I could see (even normal conversation could be clearly heard, and loud neighbors would have been unbearable). We would certainly stay here again, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the review! We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves at our resort! We are continuously upgrading our rooms to better accommodate our guests and we are happy to hear that they were comfortable and met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We just returned from our stay at Bass Lake. We reserved a suite and it was ready when we arrived early which I appreciated. The customer service at the front desk is very good. Howard and all the ladies were warm and friendly. I appreciate that the suites have a sink inside and outside of the bathroom. It makes getting ready so much easier. I appreciate the full length mirrors too. They do need to install makeup mirrors as these are suites and it's is expected. It also would have been nice to use the desk but there was no light bulb in the lamp. The rooms do have microwaves and refrigerators and a coffee maker and they are roomy and have a nice balcony. The rooms are somewhat dated but the views are wonderful day and night. The rooms are very clean and quiet. I also return again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and the view was nice and location quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad to hear that our staff was so helpful and that you enjoyed your stay here at The Pines Resort! I will pass along your suggestions, we are always interested in what our guests would like to see in the rooms to make there stay more comfortable. Thank you again and we hope that you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Traveling to new places is at the top of our priority list, and we heard loud and clear to explore the San Francisco area down to Big Sur as well as Yosemite. We only needed lodging for two nights in Yosemite since relatives were able to accommodate us (we are forever grateful to them) so I went online to look for lodging in or near Yosemite.

After a few phone calls and being turned down because lodge properties and other higher end places fill up a year in advance, I called The Pines on Bass Lake and was able to snag a room with a king-size bed. For two nights the charge was about $270, not an exorbitant amount but not cheap either.

We'd read about the drought in the news, but there it was right in front of us throughout the areas we visited, including Bass Lake. My husband is a boatsman and said he didn't know how people would be able to launch their boats in the lake because about a dozen of the slips are now on sand instead of in the water. The woman at the front desk told us the area was now in year three of the drought and they were hoping for rain, and soon. We're hoping right along with them because the drought is so severe Bass Lake is losing water day by day since it is rain-fed.

Service at the front desk and at Ducey's restaurant was friendly, and our room was ready for us (early) when we arrived around noon. We were booked for one of the chalets on a dirt road that winds in and around the property. The chalets are like duplexes, since they can accommodate two families. And speaking of families, The Pines is a decent destination for people with kids as well as older people looking for a quiet place to sleep. We got the quiet and were happy about that. The chalet we stayed in actually had three levels -- a loft, living room/kitchen area and bedroom/bathroom down a flight of stairs. The chalets could stand to be upgraded, as they are a bit tired -- especially the flooring, countertops and sink in the kitchen area, but we weren't planning to cook there, just sleep. And sleeping was no problem because the bed and pillows were comfortable and very quiet. Off the living room area was a deck that looked out over dense woods. It was outfitted with a table and chairs and small grill.

The PInes, we discovered, is about 16 miles from the main entrance into Yosemite, and from that point another 20 or so miles to what we most wanted to see -- El Capitan and Bridalveil falls, both well worth the drive.

The little town leading into The Pines offers a few eating places, one of which is DiCicco's, a great little Italian spot with excellent food and not over-the-top expensive. There's also a Mexican restaurant offering 50 percent off for the second dinner ordered, but I would not recommend it. I ordered a burrito and I could barely stand to eat it because it was so unappetizingly set on a dish with no garnish or anything else. I also ordered a virgin margarita, but it was bland beyond belief. I've had wonderful margaritas without alcohol and they've been yummy, but not at this place. There's another Mexican restaurant called El Cid on the same roadway about a half mile away, but we didn't stop there.

Back to The Pines for a moment -- this place made me think of a church or Boy Scout camp because of the little outbuildings called "chalets." I can't vouch for the rooms inside the lodge, since we didn't stay there, but this was definitely a place you'd refer to as rustic and rough and tumble and suitable for sneakers and casual wear. We stopped for breakfast one morning at Ducey's and found the food average but nothing to write home about. If the lake had been well fed with rain, it might have been pretty to view from Ducey's big windows, but the water seemed brackish to me. So would I recommend The Pines? Perhaps, but only if you can negotiate a good deal such as what you might get with Groupon. I think $135 plus per night was a bit steep but then again all prices in California are steep, beginning with gasoline and ending with food.

For instance, one breakfast place we stopped at in Silicon Valley handed us a bill for $39.76 (without tip). And that was just for eggs/hash browns/bacon and coffee. I'm pleased that I got to explore this lovely region of our country, but would not go back. San Francisco offers crazy drivers who think nothing of cutting in front of you so they can make one of the hundreds of stop lights. Seventeen Mile Drive comes with a $10 price tag to drive it. Just like a redwood or sequoia tree, once you've seen a vineyard, you've seen them all. My curiosity was piqued and now has been satisfied. Now we're thinking about our next destination, and Costa Rica is looking pretty good. So is Greece and maybe even Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gail0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of The Pines Resort, as well as the surrounding area! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and that the accommodations were comfortable for you. I do apologize that you were disappointed with the status of the lake, we all feel the impact of the dry season this year.
We do hope that you will give us a try again in the future, perhaps we will get a nice wet winter this year and our lake will be full for summer 2015!

Thank you again,
Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
11.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.4 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range: $125 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing