We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We just returned from our stay at Bass Lake. We reserved a suite and it was ready when we arrived early which I appreciated. The customer service at the front desk is very good. Howard and all the ladies were warm and friendly. I appreciate that the suites have a sink inside and outside of the bathroom. It makes getting ready so much easier. I appreciate the full length mirrors too. They do need to install makeup mirrors as these are suites and it's is expected. It also would have been nice to use the desk but there was no light bulb in the lamp. The rooms do have microwaves and refrigerators and a coffee maker and they are roomy and have a nice balcony. The rooms are somewhat dated but the views are wonderful day and night. The rooms are very clean and quiet. I also return again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and the view was nice and location quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad to hear that our staff was so helpful and that you enjoyed your stay here at The Pines Resort! I will pass along your suggestions, we are always interested in what our guests would like to see in the rooms to make there stay more comfortable. Thank you again and we hope that you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    143
    100
    61
    47
See reviews for
247
187
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Traveling to new places is at the top of our priority list, and we heard loud and clear to explore the San Francisco area down to Big Sur as well as Yosemite. We only needed lodging for two nights in Yosemite since relatives were able to accommodate us (we are forever grateful to them) so I went online to look for lodging in or near Yosemite.

After a few phone calls and being turned down because lodge properties and other higher end places fill up a year in advance, I called The Pines on Bass Lake and was able to snag a room with a king-size bed. For two nights the charge was about $270, not an exorbitant amount but not cheap either.

We'd read about the drought in the news, but there it was right in front of us throughout the areas we visited, including Bass Lake. My husband is a boatsman and said he didn't know how people would be able to launch their boats in the lake because about a dozen of the slips are now on sand instead of in the water. The woman at the front desk told us the area was now in year three of the drought and they were hoping for rain, and soon. We're hoping right along with them because the drought is so severe Bass Lake is losing water day by day since it is rain-fed.

Service at the front desk and at Ducey's restaurant was friendly, and our room was ready for us (early) when we arrived around noon. We were booked for one of the chalets on a dirt road that winds in and around the property. The chalets are like duplexes, since they can accommodate two families. And speaking of families, The Pines is a decent destination for people with kids as well as older people looking for a quiet place to sleep. We got the quiet and were happy about that. The chalet we stayed in actually had three levels -- a loft, living room/kitchen area and bedroom/bathroom down a flight of stairs. The chalets could stand to be upgraded, as they are a bit tired -- especially the flooring, countertops and sink in the kitchen area, but we weren't planning to cook there, just sleep. And sleeping was no problem because the bed and pillows were comfortable and very quiet. Off the living room area was a deck that looked out over dense woods. It was outfitted with a table and chairs and small grill.

The PInes, we discovered, is about 16 miles from the main entrance into Yosemite, and from that point another 20 or so miles to what we most wanted to see -- El Capitan and Bridalveil falls, both well worth the drive.

The little town leading into The Pines offers a few eating places, one of which is DiCicco's, a great little Italian spot with excellent food and not over-the-top expensive. There's also a Mexican restaurant offering 50 percent off for the second dinner ordered, but I would not recommend it. I ordered a burrito and I could barely stand to eat it because it was so unappetizingly set on a dish with no garnish or anything else. I also ordered a virgin margarita, but it was bland beyond belief. I've had wonderful margaritas without alcohol and they've been yummy, but not at this place. There's another Mexican restaurant called El Cid on the same roadway about a half mile away, but we didn't stop there.

Back to The Pines for a moment -- this place made me think of a church or Boy Scout camp because of the little outbuildings called "chalets." I can't vouch for the rooms inside the lodge, since we didn't stay there, but this was definitely a place you'd refer to as rustic and rough and tumble and suitable for sneakers and casual wear. We stopped for breakfast one morning at Ducey's and found the food average but nothing to write home about. If the lake had been well fed with rain, it might have been pretty to view from Ducey's big windows, but the water seemed brackish to me. So would I recommend The Pines? Perhaps, but only if you can negotiate a good deal such as what you might get with Groupon. I think $135 plus per night was a bit steep but then again all prices in California are steep, beginning with gasoline and ending with food.

For instance, one breakfast place we stopped at in Silicon Valley handed us a bill for $39.76 (without tip). And that was just for eggs/hash browns/bacon and coffee. I'm pleased that I got to explore this lovely region of our country, but would not go back. San Francisco offers crazy drivers who think nothing of cutting in front of you so they can make one of the hundreds of stop lights. Seventeen Mile Drive comes with a $10 price tag to drive it. Just like a redwood or sequoia tree, once you've seen a vineyard, you've seen them all. My curiosity was piqued and now has been satisfied. Now we're thinking about our next destination, and Costa Rica is looking pretty good. So is Greece and maybe even Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of The Pines Resort, as well as the surrounding area! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and that the accommodations were comfortable for you. I do apologize that you were disappointed with the status of the lake, we all feel the impact of the dry season this year.
We do hope that you will give us a try again in the future, perhaps we will get a nice wet winter this year and our lake will be full for summer 2015!

Thank you again,
Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location setting for these lodges are absolutley spectacular over looking the lake and only a short drive to Yosemite. The staff were friendly and helpfull and the Bar offered a great evening atmosphere. The cabins themseleves are fairly basic. They were both clean and tidy however are in great need of a face lift. The lodges we stayed in were rather tired. Al be it very comforatable. A reasnable stay however for the money spent a better standard of lodge was expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of The Pines Resort! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we do hope that you will try us again in the future after we have completed our renovations!

Thank you again,
Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights in April while visiting Yosemite. Except for breakfast none of the restaurants were open to the advertised times. On both evenings we bought food in the market and cooked for ourselves. The atmosphere in the bar was uncomfortable on both evenings particularly on the 2nd night when the topic of loud conversation of a group of local people was only what could be described as very inappropriate. These people were an older group possilbly late 50s early 60s ! The chalet was clean but outdated and smelled musty. The resort did not live up to our expectations based on their website and I wouldnt recommend it to friends or stay there again myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planb4ugoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. We always appreciate hearing all comments, good and bad, so that we know how to improve on our overall experience. I do apologize that you had a negative experience in the bar, that is not typical of what we hear and I will definitely mention this to the bar manager. And for the restaurants not being open, unfortunately if the day is slow they do occasionally close the restaurants early, and it seems this was the case during your stay.

Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, Usa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in a chalet at the Pines Resort for a wedding this past weekend. I must say the wedding was wonderful. The venue could not have been better with a view of the lake, great food and service. The chalet on the other hand was disappointing. I have been to Bass Lake many times, but this is my first time staying at the Pines Resort. Check in was great. Service was fast and friendly.

When we got to our chalet I was very disappointed to find such an outdated room. The stairs going down to the bedroom were very narrow and so dark I felt like we were entering a dungeon. We had difficulty finding any light switches to light the stairs. Someone had left the baseboard heater on, so it was really hot and stuffy down there. There was no remote control for the old fashioned small TV that had a terrible picture. There were two double sized beds that were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was very old and dingy with no tissue paper in the tissue holder and the hot water in the shower lasted about 30 seconds before running cold. Tiny bars of soap were provided at the bathroom sink and the towels were very small and thin. The plug in for the hair dryer did not work at all. Very frustrating! Motel 6 provides nicer amenities.

Moving back upstairs. The only glasses provided were tiny water glasses you would normally find beside the bathroom sink. No wine glasses, no paper towels, no towels of any kind in what is listed as a full kitchen.

There was a balcony with a plastic table with a peeling top and a couple of chairs, but all were very dirty. The whole chalet felt dingy and dirty. In reading some of the other reviews, management referred to having updated 75% of the chalets. We obviously did not get one. For $129 I would expect a lot nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated chalet or stay in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. Although we are very pleased that you had a wonderful experience with the wedding event, We do apologize that the state of your room was not as you had expected. You are correct that the majority of our chalets have been renovated and we are still working diligently on the rest of them. Unfortunately it sounds as if you were here on a weekend where we were sold out and there were no renovated rooms available to move you to. I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future, we would love the opportunity to show off our fully renovated rooms once they are complete.

Thank you again,

Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bass Lake hotels

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Pines Resort for a couple of nights in April 2014. Arriving at the resort in the early afternoon, the resort was crowded with some families with children enjoying the Easter holidays. We stayed at a King Suite with Spa Bath, right next to the Ducey’s Restaurant, in front of the lakeside. The inside was very clean, cozy, and nice. There was a large wood-deck outside of our suite room. After having dinner at the restaurant, we really enjoyed the bubble-spa in the suite. Early in the morning on the next day, we walked along the beachside, tasting one of the freshest air in the world. It was our second stay at the Pines Resort since last February 2013, and we happily left the resort with two thumbs up, saying “good bye and see ya” in 2015.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The Pines Resort. We always love to hear from our repeat customers, and we are very much looking forward to having you back again next year! We will see you soon!
Thank you again,

Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

we stayed at the pines resort for 3 nights while visiting yosemite nat'l park. all in all, we loved our stay! we stayed in one of the chalets near the check in office, the buttercup lodge. we got it on a groupon deal for 3 nights/$240 and felt like it was well worth it! the chalet had 2 floors and a loft, which our kids LOVED!! there was a small kitchen equipped with dishes, pans, and utensils, a microwave, and a fridge/freezer. we wished that a dishtowel/dishcloth/dish scrubber or something would have been provided though! sorry pines resort, you left us with no choice but to use one of the bathroom towels . . which we were glad were provided. the overall feel of the joint was that it was prob built in the early 80's, but we didn't mind that. there were two beds downstairs (prob queen size?!) and a bathroom downstairs. there was a patio on the upper floor with a picnic table and grill outside, and another door out the back on the bottom floor. the couch turned into a hide-a-bed, but we didn't use it. we had a pack n play for our baby that fit nicely downstairs. there was a tv upstairs and down and a bar and dining room table upstairs. our microwave was a little wonky and seemed like it was maybe on it's last leg, as was one of the barstools, but they both hung in there ok:)

my biggest complaint was that the there were a lot of empty chalets, as we came during the off season, but despite that, they kept both sides of the chalet (they were like duplexes) filled and we had neighbors every night. the walls were very thin and our neighbors were very noisy at times. oh, and hang up your towels b/c room service only comes if you stay for more than 3 nights!

despite a couple of things that could have made things a little better or easier, our stay was great and we would come back for sure. our kids begged every day that we were gone to go back to our cabin! the mileage to yosemite is short, but takes a long time due to the winding mountain roads. from yosemite village, which is kind of the main hub of yosemite park, to our chalet was about 1 hr. and 15 min. and the chalet to the yosemite entrance was prob about a half hour. the town of oakhurst was only about 10 min further, which was nice for grocery restocking, or whatever we needed. there was also a decent sized general market at the pines that came in pretty handy too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of The Pines Resort! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely pass your suggestions along to the other departments for areas of improvement. We hope to see you again!

Thank you,

Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#2 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
11.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing