We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Pines Resort Chalet”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited 3 nights over Labor Day 2013. Basic cleanliness was sufficient - sheets, kitchen, bathroom, etc. were clean but the carpets were FILTHY. Bare feet and socks were black with dirt after walking about without shoes.
The resort lists the kitchen as "fully-equipped" but didn't have basics such as a scrub sponge or paper towels (although it did have a miniscule bottle of dish soap). If you think that you'll need something (9x13 pan for brownies?) I suggest you bring it with you. Our chalet had a microwave, toaster, coffee maker and basic plates, bowls, mugs and small glass tumblers (although not 6 of each despite this being how many the room accommodates), about 4 pans and a handful of utensils - corkscrew, one dull knife, pizza cutter, frying spatula, big plastic spoon. The two queen beds were very comfortable. A plumbing problem was fixed promptly. Surprised there weren't more plumbing issues as kitchen sink had no sink strainer (or waste disposal).
The pool area was clean. The hot tub was very busy .
Kids had a great time tubing one afternoon on the lake. The small beach next by the boat dock is sand - walk into the lake and you'll experience gooey mud!
The Pines Market next to registration had most things - which is good when you haven't got paper towels or anything to clean dishes with.
Free WiFi was problematic for the first two days, although it did seem to get worked out by day three.
Resort was quiet - no noise from surrounding guests. Amazing starry nights!
South entrance to Yosemite was about 30 minutes drive away. Had a great hike up to the Chilnualna Falls near Wawona. http://www.yosemitehikes.com/southern-yosemite/chilnualna-falls/chilnualna-falls.htm
Overall this was a good trip. Negatives were the dirty carpets and lacking kitchen supplies. Positives were location, location, location. I would go again - but next time I'll be more prepared...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorset_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. I sincerely apologize for the conditons of our chalet during your stay. That is not the way we want to represent our resort. Your comments regarding the carpet cleanliness and kitchen accomodations have been addressed with housekeeping, and will also be brought to the attention of the owners. I would appreciate you giving the Resort another chance. If you have any questions or concerns please contact our management team to further assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The resort is located in quite & secluded area with stunning view of the bass lake. The restaurant food was excellent and good selection of wines. The room we stayed has very large deck. We just sit there enjoying quietness, beautiful scenery of the surroundings, and reading books. The room has jacuzzi, small refrigerator, fire place, and sink with other necessary amenities. It was very clean and cozy. We made a trip to Yosemite national park one day. It's about an hour distance to the park gate. The good portion of the road is winding but has excellent view of valleys and mountains. My wife and I made a memorable experience here. We wish we stayed much longer.

Room Tip: 1st floor room with large deck with Basslake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuttyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, your response is greatly appreciated. Our reservations team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I encourage you to come back and stay with us again, our Fall season is absolutely beautiful. Please contact our reservations department if you have any further questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just came back from a 5 night visit to Yosemite/ Sequoia/ King's Canyon National Parks. We stayed three nights at Pine Resort in Bass Lake after spending two nights at Three Rivers to visit Sequoia/King's Canyon. Pine resort was located pretty close from Oakhurst which is on hwy 41, which was a plus timewise to visit Yosemite for us. Bass lake was bigger than we thought; Pine resort was located in the middle of the lake with commanding view of the lake. Lots of cabins called chalets, which would be nice for families or friends, were scattered around the hill of the resort. We stayed in one of the Ducey suites near the waterfront. After our arrival Ducey Restaurant was perfect for dinner with sunset view; food was superb, wine selection was very tasteful. Second floor suite was wonderful for couples; decor/ambiance was nice and bed was very comfortable after Jacuzzi, we felt like honeymooners again. It was a perfect spot to relax in between driving and hikings of the National Parks. We did not have enough time to enjoy boating or water sports in the lake. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Ducey suite is best for couples, second floor has better view naturally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotus-Wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are staying in a spa suite two nights into our 4 night visit. We've been coming here for years and have raved about this place to everyone we know. This time ,what a disappointment! We checked in and instead of the beauty and peace we have come to expect, we found our room and deck surrounded with very LOUD blasting music from a wedding being catered outside our deck. All the rooms were completely dominated from the sounds of this event. For this we payed $300.00+ for a "spa room"? There was no tranquility to be found here and we fled to Oakhurst to escape for dinner.
The next morning we were awakened by loud music blasting into our room at 7:30 a.m. This time it came from the nearby marina. I called them and was told by a young woman that her boss required they turn on the music that loud every day at precisely 7:30 a.m. and it continues all day!! Unbelievable, they intentionally destroy the peacefulness for the guests staying here. Why?? What a shame! Whoever is running this place is driving us away. We'll have to find another resort for future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 183linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If we were not notified of the issues at hand it is hard for us to fix the problem. We appreciate your thoughts and comments. Please contact our administrative offices for a follow up conversation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ok, I get it. This is a rustic place on a lake. Thats totally fine! But it needs to be CLEAN! We rented a chalet for 3 nights and this place is DISGUSTING! Our feet were black from walking on the floor immediately after check in. Major stains in the carpet. Carpet ripped and coming up along the wall. The bedroom is downstairs and it gets SO HOT down there. The upstairs is freezing but the bedroom is like a furnace at night. Not to mention that it sounds like an elephant stomping around with even the slightest movement upstairs so don't try to go to sleep while people are still in the living room. The sofa was old and dirty. The sheets on the beds are like rough paper towels. There is no maid service except every 4th day and no one brings towels or collects trash. I laughed when I saw an envelope for tips. I can't believe they can charge the prices for these chalets and get away with it. It really is a shame because Bass Lake is beautiful! We spent as little time in the room as possible but it was still depressing to go back to the room when we did as the children had to go to bed at a reasonable time. It was dark, damp, and depressing! The rest of the resort was great. We enjoyed the pool, the beach, Duceys, the pizza place, the bar, and a boat rental. At checkout we voiced our concerns about the dirty chalets and we got a 15% coupon for another visit. But why would I want to come back to a dirty hotel? The owners should be embarrassed to rent out those chalets in that condition. Because of that, we probably wouldn't come back. I feel like for $250/night I should at least have a clean and comfortable place to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the chalets!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhshlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We appreciate your comments. We would greatly appreciate it if you would contact our executive offices so they can better assist with your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked a "chalet" room, looked like a dungeon with the bedroom down stairs in a box, no AC, had to be 50 years old without obvious renovations. Switched to a "spa" room in the hotel at a higher price. Toilet clogged up, lights sporadic, no utensils or bowls to go with the microwave, carpet dirty. I know places get old but this one is badly in need of work. Spent one night and left.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Chris868686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The chalets are rustic and the new owners are in the processes of getting the rooms renovated. It will be a work in progress for several years. The suites are newer and do not offer cooking utensils due to the fact there is nothing to cook with other than a microwave, in the suites you are able to order room service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

You could simply imagine yogi bear just wandering down to greet you .. This place is literally straddled by pines . Forest And lake
Relaxing , quiet if you choose or more active if you prefer . Cold pool . Ouch.. Hot tub and the lake is warm
Ate in restaurant great device and good value ( has a cheaper menu till 6.00 pm )

Discounted cocktails at the pool and very family safe.. Or couples hideaway !

Room was just delightful and great bed ( king size ) clean tidy and well appointed

Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matts1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again real soon. There are quite a few specials out there right now if you are interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
11.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.4 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range: $125 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing