We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could of been better”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Fresno, ca
1 review
“Could of been better”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have been to many resorts in my travels this by far has the worst management I have ever encountered. I believe the lady that helped us on our trip in the restaurants name was Jessica, she was nice on approach but as I told her of my discontent she not only gave me attitude she walked away from me and never followed up with me after I gave her my information. You would think someone who has gotten sick from one of their restaurants would deserve the time of day from the management. I'm not hard to accommodate but to blow me and my family off is ridiculous. She is clearly unfit to be dealing with people in customer service. Would of given one star but location sells itself.

Room Tip: Stay there but don't eat there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WedStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I hope that other than your experience at the restaurant that the remainder of your stay was satisfactory. We value all opinions whether good or bad and would like to be able to make things right for you and your family. I do apologize for the way you were treated at the restaurant. I would recommend you calling and speaking to our Food and Beverage Manager Laura Darling regarding this issue. I am most certain she would be interested to hear what you have to say. I hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that our service is not what your experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    143
    101
    62
    48
See reviews for
250
190
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took advantage of the midweek room and breakfast special and took my husband up to the Pines Chalets to celebrate his birthday. I have stayed in the Chalets a couple of times but this was a first for him. The cabins are cozy and rustic and this time of year were very quiet. We opted for a lake view which was very pretty from the balcony. The only negative about the stay was that the hair dryer in the bathroom, as well as the outlet plug, did not work. It was exciting to wake up to snow which left the Chalets and the surrounding grounds looking like a beautiful painting.
I do think that the owners should start some renovations to upgrade the interior looks of the cabins and furnishings, but keeping the decor of a charming cabin retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Snow makes everything look so beautiful and serene around the lake. The new owners have been making alot of progress in updating the chalets, they have replaced, carpet, beds as well as bedspreads and other interiors. This will be a consistent project of updating the resort. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atco, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family spent a week here in August 2012 and we keep having flashbacks of fond memories. The lake is beautiful and the boat rental was quick and easy. I like that the lake is deep and we didn't have to worry much about damaging the props or hitting any shallow areas. The teens loved being pulled around on the tube by the jet boat. The chalet had a nice amount of room for our family of 4. The view was pretty and peaceful. Yes, the inside was a bit dated but personally we didn't mind, it had all the basic kitchen necessities and met our needs. The little store on the property had any supplies that we might have forgotten. The restaurant had gorgeous views. The menu was family friendly, the prices were reasonable and although it wasn't outstanding in taste, it was good and better than the other two local resturants we tried. The pool had pretty views and a decent amount of flowering landscape. The beach was small but we prefer the pool anyway. Yosemite was about 40 mins. so it's very conveniently located. All in all, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJWorldTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that your family enjoyed your vacation with us here at The Pines Resort. One of the things that are wonderful about the location is everything is within walking distance, to the store as well as little shops and restaurants. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love coming up here in the winter! It is so quiet and peaceful. The suites are comfortable and cozy. The restaurant and bar are great! It's close to home, but feels like a million miles away. Love it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. We are hopeful that you will return and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at The Pines Resort over Christmas 2012 and from the moment we checked into our chalets (we had four) to the moment we left (five days later) we were treated like royalty. Front desk staff was accomodating to all of our needs, housekeepers were very warm and friendly and did an excellent job cleaning our rooms every day.We will definately make this a family tradition and send our warmest thanks to such a great resort!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in chalets 107, 108, 109 & 110 all were excellent condition and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Everyone at The Pines is so happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful vacation during the holidays. Christmas is one of our busiest holidays and glad that we did everything to make your stay more enjoyable. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

friends took us up here for breakfast. The place is nice and inviting and looks like a four star restaurant. The menu is promising, the prices were actually lower than I expected for a place like this. However, the service was very friendly until taking and delivering our orders, then pretty much disappeared. The food was ok, nothing extraordinary, just ok for the price. You will have to take the nice views over the lake into account to appreciate your breakfast a little more. I would not again consider to drive 30 miles for having a breakfast here. But it's not a bad place to go either. Just don't expect too much and enjoy the ambience of the restaurant and the views.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abceschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to come spend a morning at Ducey's Restaurant. I have forwarded your concerns to the Food and Beverage Management and I am sure that this issue will be addressed. I hope that you might decide to come stay with us sometime so that we can prove to you that it is worth the drive and the service in the restaurants have been improved. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Pines Resort over Christmas 2012 and it was amazing how different this place was from 15 years ago. We did not get a Chalet, we ended up staying near Duceys on the Lake. Our large room was very outdated and had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The heat was completely off. We needed to buy duraflame logs at $4.50 each to kick start any heat. Further, the additional blankets they provided were worn, had large holes and were extremely uncomfortable. The front desk was ok. Do not expect room service - this is not possible here. This can be quite hard for a young family who are better off dining in. However, the lake, trees are lovely and we quite liked the location but if we return it will be Wawona or a location much closer to Yosemite with better amenities. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Select a chalet. Do not stay in a room next to Duceys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Pines Resort. The new owners of 2 years have made many improvements from 15 years ago and will continue to do so, it is a slow process and they are making every effort to make the resort updated and much more comfortable. We are aware of outdated issues. But as far as your room being dirty and blankets with holes I am not aware of since we do use a linen company for our bedding. If you would like to contact us regarding these issues we would be happy to listen and go further from there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bass Lake hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#2 of 9 in Oakhurst
237 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
5.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing