We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest place I ever stayed”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked a room with a kitchenette. The kitchen floor was sticky and everything in the room was dusty and dirty including the carpet around the handrail and the TV's. The bathroom and bedroom were located downstairs in a dark, musty dungeon. There was a LARGE HAIR BALL behind the toilet! GROSS. In addition the shower had visible mold. Even sitting on the couch was disgusting. They advertise free internet and that didn't work in the room. We called the front desk twice and no one ever showed up to fix it. We then went to the front desk and the the girl simply said we could sit in the lobby and use the internet there. No apologies or compensation or even an effort to correct it. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Christina H,

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at the Pines Resort. While our housekeeping staff makes every effort to make our Chalets clean and ready for our guests, we are more than happy to have them correct any issues or even offer a different Chalet if needed to solve the problem. We are currently updating our Chalets, so I am hoping that the issues you have experienced will be corrected with this as well. Unfortunately, though we have multiple routers on our property, there are some areas that have stronger signal than others, even when all routers in the network are working normally. This may be in part to the many trees and physical barriers to wireless internet on the property. Often, if a guest is having trouble connecting to the wireless internet from a Chalet, they will be able to connect to the stronger signal in the lobby area, especially if there is an urgent email that needs to be checked. I am sorry if the offer to use the internet from the lobby was taken as a sign of inconsideration to you. Please feel welcomed to call our resort and we will be happy to direct you to our General Manager to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 625 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a fabulous wedding and reception at Bass Lake, Duces by the Lake and stayed overnight in the Honeymoon Suite.
The ceremony took place on the grass by the lake and reception just steps away on the deck with a perfect view of the water and beautiful scenery surrounding.
Everything flowed very smoothly, thanks to the management under Linda Woods. She was very accommodating and attentive to our needs before, during and after the event.
The staff was professional and got tasks done in a very timely manner.
We had many guests stay at the hotel for our event. Though our guests went through a few misunderstandings with the hotel staff, the guests were pleased with their stay and Linda made sure every request was met and she did so with a very up-beat attitude.
I would recommend this hotel and I would recommend holding a wedding and/or reception at this venue. Linda made a lot of difference with her professionalism and warm character. We are extremely pleased with the outcome.
We are very happy that we chose Bass Lake, Duces by the Lake for such an important day as our wedding.

Room Tip: Honeymooners - if you are holding a wedding at this location, be sure to ask for the honeymoon suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Jodi S,

Thank you for your kind words, and for choosing the Pines Resort as your wedding site. We are honored! Linda Woods is truly an asset to our resort. She, along with our team of wedding coordinators and catering staff do a wonderful job with meeting the needs of our wedding guests. We hope to see you again should you visit Bass Lake in the future.

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I booked the honeymoon suite as a romantic weekend vacation for my wife and I in February as a break from our newborn son. We don't have any family living in Fresno and my parents were in town and we took the opportunity for a romantic night alone. Upon checking in our room was frigid. I don't think it is too much to ask that the heat be turned on when guests are expected to be occupying the room. But that's forgivable. But when we switched the heat on it didn't work. When I called the desk I was told maintenance would visit to repair the unit. After 45 minutes the maintenance person arrived. He tinkered with the thermostat on the wall and the unit itself for about an hour. <Pretty romantic right? He said he needed a tool and would return by this time it was 7pm and dinner time so we left and told him he was welcome to return without our presence. After dinner we returned to the room to find the heater still did not work. At this point I ran out of patience and walked back to the office. I explained the problem and was offered a free log for the fire. I told them that was unacceptable and was told we would be upgraded to the honeymoon suite (there are two) which I had already booked and was paying for anyway. Well the heat obviously wasn't on in this room either but at least it worked. After being moved it was easily 9pm and needless to say romance was definitely NOT in the air. On the upside we did get some much needed sleep. It's June as I write this review and still not happy that no compensation was made for our trouble. Not a discount on breakfast, discount on the $190/night honeymoon suite or even an extra coffee package for in room coffee. I will look for different accommodations next time I plan a weekend getaway in this area.

Room Tip: It's hard to beat the lakeside view offered at The Pines. Definitely go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Dustin S,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t what it should be for your romantic weekend. Our policy during cold weather months is for our housekeeping staff to turn on the heater in advance for rooms due to be checked in, but unfortunately, it seems there was a maintenance issue in this case. My apologies to you for not having this resolved to your satisfaction. Please feel welcomed to call us at the Pines Resort and ask to be transferred to our General Manager, who will be happy to speak further with you regarding the matter.

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The views of the lake and mountain side were amazing. Resturant on site had great food but service was slow Bar had great beers and music. The beers they offerd wasnt just ur typical light macro brewery they had rare stuff like black butte on DRAFT amazing. The only bad thing about this trip was the experience with the people/lady at the front desk when checking in. She had no interaction with us no personality was either irrated or just wanting to finish with us to move on to the next thing. It didnt ruin our day or trip but now a days people expect great customer service when eating out or traveling. The econmy is not what it use to be so traveling to some is a big deal and treat in additon to those unemployed most people would be thrilled to be working with a SMILE!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retsins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Retsins,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your candid comments. We do take pride in our restaurants, and are pleased you had a positive experience. I do apologize for your check in experience. I agree that customer service expectations are high and we do need to do everything we can to meet our guests’ expectations. Our management team will be looking into retraining of front desk staff to make the check in experience as helpful and courteous as possible. Please give us another chance to impress you,

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went to Yosemite in April and got snowed out. We stayed here for one night while they cleared the roads. The cabins have a rustic feel but are quite roomy with a living area, kitchen and loft upstairs and a large bedroom and bathroom downstairs. There were 2 adults and 2 teens and we had enough room for our short stay. We also had a balcony that overlooked the lake. Bass lake looks beautiful but this time of year there obviously wasn't much we could do except skip rocks across the water. We arrived late and found that they have a few conveniences right on the property. We enjoyed a very tasty pizza for dinner at a place that was walking distance from our cabin. We took it back to our room and relaxed in front of the fire. You can buy the logs that are ready to burn for about $3 right at check in. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast at the restaurant right onsight, overlooking the lake. On our way out, we stopped at the convenience store (also right onsight) and bought a few snacks and some water. We hit the road and found that the south entrance to Yosemite was about 30 miles away. At this entrance, there is also an area with giant sequoia trees (although I can't remember the exact name of it). We had made the long trip all the way to sequoia national park and I wish we had, instead, just stopped at the sequoia area at Yosemite, Would have been a lot less driving!! The village part of Yosemite is still another 30 minutes north of the south entrance. Around the village, you will see Yosemite Falls and El Capitan. Given that it was April, we weren't able to go into any other part of the park due to snow closing the roads. However, the drive up from the south to Yosemite Village was breathtaking. The Pines was a wonderful place to stay with easy access to Yosemite and plenty of conveniences right on the property. Prices were great, too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Jodi H,
Thank you for making the Pines Resort part of your trip to Yosemite, albeit an unplanned one. Thank you also for your kind comments about the Resort. We are fortunate because we not only have Bass Lake for our guests to enjoy, but are fairly close to Yosemite Park as well. The grove of Sequoias you mentioned just inside the park entrance is called Mariposa Grove, and has some great walking trails with easy access. If you are ever in California again, please come back to visit us.

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Came up in January having postponed from an end of year trip, but found it wonderfully quiet and tranquil. Had a great dinner at Duceys and breakfast as well. Found room accomodations just fine and will return.
Recommend for a nice get away and fresh air!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Leslie N,
Thank you for your comments about our resort. We are glad that you were able to enjoy a peaceful stay with us. Many times, the winter season is a great time to visit because it is so quiet, with fewer guests staying than in our summer season. No matter the season, Bass Lake and the surrounding area have a lot to offer in terms of hiking, fishing, and relaxing in general. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our family has camped for years at Bass Lake and more recently enjoyed renting a cabin there for family summer vacations. In April this year, our youngest daughter chose Ducey's on the Lake-a part of the Pines Resorts- as the location for their wedding reception. What an awesome stroke of good luck! We stayed several nights in their lakeside suites and were pleased with the service, the friendliness and helpful consideration of the staff, and the quality of the rooms. The location couldn't have been better as we were only a few doors away from the reception/dining area. The food at the reception, from appetizers to desserts, was exceptional and each of the dinner choices was superb. Fortunately for me, I got to sample all three! On the day after the wedding our middle daughter hosted a brunch for us in one of the chalets and it was again a remarkable spot among the pines and the kitchen sufficed to serve the 25 or so of us who were able to linger there the morning after. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for its outstanding physical amenities but above and beyond that was the excellence of every employee with whom we had he chance to interact. They truly made it an incredible and grand experience!

Room Tip: The chalets are rustic and woodsy and have all you need and you can cook for yourself and they are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammie L, Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Tony Tucker,
Thank you for your kind words about the Pines Resort, our suites, and our staff. We also feel honored that your daughter chose our location for her wedding reception. We hope to see you again soon at Bass Lake!

Sincerely,
Pines Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
11.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.4 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#4 of 10 in Oakhurst
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range: $110 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing