We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Mariposa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

My Fiance and I had an easy and excelant experience making wedding plans at the Pines resort. The facilities and the staff where supperb and very helpful. Our wedding was schedueled for April of 2012. Unfortunately we are having to change plans because of a resent job oppertunity that presented itself to me in Texas. Hannah, the wedding coordinator was very understanding and helpful with use on this issue and is giving us a full refund on our deposit which was supposed to be non-refundable. We are so disappointed that we are not going to be able to celebrate this special day at this special place. We had friends who just recently had their ceramony and it was a beautiful event and went very well. We would definately recomend the Pines resort for a wedding event with its beautiful setting, helpful staff and great environment to anyone trying to planning a wedding event. 10 out of 10 in our book. Thankyou Hannah

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for reviewing The Pines Resort. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service you received at our resort. It is too bad that you were unable to have your wedding here. We hope that you will visit our resort again in the future.
Charity Bona, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    136
    97
    59
    47
See reviews for
239
181
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I would tell anyone about this place! I had my wedding at Ducey's in September..can you say PERFECT weather!! It wasnt to hot or cold. Having my wedding completely outdoors was amazing! The perfect back drop for your pictures! We went down on the docks to do photos with an amazing sunset behind us. OUr first dance we had some amazing pictures with the beautiful lake behind us. The food was AMAZING! The food was hot and very tasty. For our food tasting the chef came out to explain what we were eating and made changes to our request. He was very kind to us. From our linen on our tables to the silverware not one thing was out of place. It was all set up with such great attention to detail. The bartender did not have patron at the bar HOWEVER it took litterally a minute for them to get it for me. There was no huffing or puffing with my request. The staff was also very kind. Several came up and made sure everything was perfect for me. My wedding coordinator was on top of everything. She did her best to make sure my night was amazing. From the time I met with her to the end of my night she was kind and treated it like it was her wedding. We did stay at the ressort the night of our wedding and it was perfect! If I could post pictures I would! Our wedding was everything I had hoped for!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that your most special day was as wonderful as you would hope. Thank you for your wonderful review of The Pines Resort, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Charity Bona, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our cabin had a was clean, comfortable and appears to be recently updated. I had a very relaxing and much needed getaway with my girlfriend. The view was beautiful and the air was so fresh. I will definitely be coming back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Jon K,
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Pines Resort! We would love to see you back in the future. Thank you.
Charity Bona, Front Desk Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

located in bass lake, right next to nice lake, there are great pool in a resort.
nice and cozy, pretty quiet. good to take a rest.
staffs are all friendly, quick response to every quetion.
recommend to go yosemiti or take a rest in CA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bora c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

one of the worst experiences of my life after travelling around california for nearly a month, me and my girlfriend arrived at the pines resort, greeted by huge cobwebs at the reception area my girlfriend asked "i hope there aren't any spiders" just joking, but was answered with "of course there are spiders your in the forest". which was very unprofessional.
Alot of reviews say "could do with an update" this is an unstatement to say the least, we went to our chalet only to be greeted by a dark dingy living room, there was a tiny staircase leading to the bedroom which may have been ok if I had not been stopped by the sight of two brown spiders in our sink!!. Basically dont stay here go the the chuckchansi gold resort 20 minutes drive and much much better and very close to yosemite, which is beautiful...
i've read other reviews and replies from management who will probably say "we are trying our best to resolve the problems which have been brought to our attention, and we are working very hard". DONT LISTEN!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest:
The current Owners of the resort have only recently acquired the property. In the past month we have re-carpeted most of the rooms, replaced many of the sofa beds, we have upgraded all TV’s in the suites, we have had all the chalets treated by a pest control company and many of the chalets have also been deep cleaned. Plus we are continually working on upgrading and updating the entire resort. We truly regret when a guest receive anything less than excellent customer service. I would really appreciate you contacting me directly at ldarling@basslake.com. Thank you, Laura Darling, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bass Lake hotels

La Canada, California
Level Contributor
704 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I would advise people from ignoring the pretty pictures of the chalets that the official Pines website shows. The chalets are old and are in need of some very serious updating. Do not stay in these units if you want a room that feels clean!

The chalets are really side by side twin units that share a common wall. The living area and kitchen are on one level while the sleeping quarters are on another. Each has a patio. On our visit we did not have neighbors so I was not able to determine how thin the common wall was or how good the sound insulation was.

Upon entry to our unit, we immediately noticed how run-down the place looked. We were quite disappointed. A large ugly stain on the rug greeted us. There were black marks and scratches on all the doors and walls…this made the place feel really unkempt and old. The rug (which was extremely thin and hard) was fraying at the edges. The foam in the sofa pads was coming out.

One very subtle, but annoying factor, was that all the light fixtures were too small for the new bulbs that they were using. Those new curly fluorescent bulbs were way too big for the small fixtures. They stuck way out of the fixture ruining the rustic ambience and casting their unnatural glow onto the room.

The TV in the main room was very old…the picture had a strong yellow tint that manual adjustment could not remove. The bedroom TV had a remote that didn’t work.

The unit also had a loft that wasn’t useable…probably because it was quite dangerous.

The bathroom area is very small and the water pressure in the shower was extremely weak.

It is unfortunate that these units have been allowed to become so run-down. I did notify the front desk of these problems and the clerk said she was going to address them with the manager.

As far as the official website’s picture of the chalet…this is he classic case of a hotel putting up a picture that is quite different from the actual condition of the unit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest, your comments were brought to the management's attention. Please know we are working on upgrading and updating the entire resort. In just the past month we have re-carpeted most of the rooms, replaced many of the sofa beds, we have upgraded all TV’s in the suites, we have had all the chalets treated by a pest control company and many of the chalets have also been deep cleaned. We truly regret when a guest receive anything less than excellent customer service. I would really appreciate you contacting me directly at ldarling@basslake.com. Thank you, Laura Darling, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

My family came here for a mini holiday reunion by recommendation of friends and we were definitely NOT disappointed! We live in Los Angeles so it was a nice getaway from the city and the drive wasn't too bad.

First off, the resort is beautiful! It's location is so peaceful and calming, a nice departure from my everyday hustle and bustle. We stayed in the chalets, one for the group of adults and one for the kids. The chalets were very cozy and roomy with plenty of space for everyone. Each chalet has a separate bathroom, bedroom and sitting area so you don't feel crowded. They also have nice patio with direct access to the lake! Great for the kids!

Bottom line: You will have a great time here; Great accomodations, warm and friendly staff and lots of great activities that will keep you busy during your vacation!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for sharing your good experience at the Pines Resort. Our goal is to provide a consistent standard of excellence to all of our guests. We are hoping to see you back at the Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
10.9 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
11.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing