We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe what you read!”
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Believe what you read!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed at Pines Resort for 4 nights during the last week of July with my family, travelling from the UK

The staff were nice, food was OK and the location is beautiful - also very handy for Yosemite, which is definately worth a visit. However none of this compensates for the truely awful accomodation. Moth eaten blankets, filthy curtains, dust everywhere, unusable kitchen with no utensils, ants in the bathroom and generally in need of a complete refurbishment.

Come to the area, but stay somewhere else! This is certainly not the top class resort they say they are and certainly not worth the money

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PJM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your honest view of The Pines Resort. We are under new ownership and are currently undergoing renovations in our chalets. We do understand the conditions that they are in, and are working hard to restore them. I hope that you will return after our renovations are complete. I think you will be pleased.
Charity Monahan, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    144
    101
    63
    48
See reviews for
252
190
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The cabins at the Pines have not been updated since about 1973. Old furniture, TV that barely gets reception, old carpet, and the setup was a complete death trap for our toddler. I have no idea how they get away with charging almost $300/night.

In addition, we were charged an additional $150 for cleaning after we left, $50 for leaving our clean dishes in the rack instead of putting them away in the cupboard, and $100 because the "trash was overflowing". By the way, the Pines only cleans your room every 4 days and they don't provide dumpsters or anywhere to put the garbage. When we called to complain about the extra charges the manager wouldn't budge. She said we could have requested cleaning service each day of our stay at no charge, which would have meant our place would have been clean and we wouldn't have been charged a cleaning fee. What??? So, if you do make the mistake of staying here, make sure to call each day and request a free cleaning.
The pool is nice. That's about the only nice thing I have to say about this "resort". Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelbug3478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your review of The Pines Resort. I apologize that you had such an unpleasant stay. It is our policy to clean the chalets every 4th day unless a guest requests it. This policy allows our guests their privacy. I apologize that you were not told at check-in about our cleaning policies. If you would like to speak to me directly, please feel free to call the hotel and ask to speak to me personally.
As for the room quality, we are under new ownership and are currently working very hard to correct all the issues you mentioned. I truly hope you will give our resort another chance after our renovations are complete.
Charity Monahan, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bass Lake hotels

southern california
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Weve been coming to The Pines Resort for the past 10 years. We love the location for our annual family trip. Love the beach and pool areas. BBQ dinner was awesome! They had fun activities for the kids and music. I have to say that this time though the cabin's seemed to be a bit run down. There was alot that looked like it needed cleaned up. Carpet looked dingy, deck was rotting, one of our chairs was broken, water pressure was horrible. For $800 for 3 nights, I would expect a bit more but we still had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southerncaligirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing The Pines Resort. We are in the process of updating and renovating the chalets, so when you visit again I think you will be pleased. Our new owners are committed to restoring the chalets back to their original state. We are truly working hard to make sure our repeat guests see the difference when they return again. Thank you again.
Charity Monahan, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in hotels of all sorts in 3rd world countries, but this may have been the worst ever. The rooms look like they were last updated in the 50s, with the rattiest carpet, disgusting furniture, you name it, including trash outside our door. When we checked in, two of the lights in our living room and the downstairs bedroom did not work, and the toilet seat was broken off. We mentioned this to management, and they kindly fixed one of the lights – not the rest, of course. The location is great, so drive down and have a look, but do not by any means stay here, unless you are a family wanting to cram 10 people into a crummy “chalet” or college students looking for a place that no one will know you trashed.

Room Tip: maybe the suites are OK, the chalets are uninhabitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlyslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort and our Chalets. We are aware of the conditions of the chalet cabins, and the new owners are working hard to renovate and remodel them. I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future and check out our renovated chalets. I think you will find them a lot more accommodating.
Charity Monahan, Front Desk Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Chalet was certainly roomy enough and the big balcony was appreciated, though our chalet had no views to speak of.
Though everything required was present (though I would not have used the dodgy looking oven) the rooms looked pretty tired (faded/stained carpet, old furniture) and needed a good, deep clean.
Restaurant and all other amentities were well up to scratch though, and the setting and location are great .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your review of The Pines Resort. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the spacious chalets. We are currently in the process of rennovating the chalets, and I will mention to the owners your concern about the ovens. I do hope that you will return to our Resort again after our upgrades are complete, I believe that you will be very pleased with the improvements.
Charity Monahan,Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The nightmare started upon arriving to our room. Everything started badly. There was no parking in front our our chalet cabin. Then upon entering the cabin the odor stepping into the cabin was horrid. It smelled musty and like sewage. I felt like throwing up and tried to contain myself. There was a broom in the small kitchen and the kitchen tile was broken. There was dust everywhere I looked. The carpet and couch were filthy. I did not even want to sit anywhere. The couch and chair both had stuff stuck there and hairs on it. They smelled bad. The carpet had a stain and was terribly filthy. A lightbulb was out to go downstairs. Everything I touched had dust on it. Downstairs are the beds they are the most uncomfortable beds ever. The sheets were even dirty. I looked before lying down and there were a couple of black things. I went to the chair and brought in my own blanket. You could smell the filth on the pillows. I never been so disgusted by a hotel/resort. I did not sleep at all and called to complain and they offered a $15.00 discount. I was so upset! The toilet was wiggling and the light in the bathroom had dust along with the bathroom vent. A couple of spider webs downstairs and a spider in the bathroom. The bathroom faucet was dripping. I'm highly allergic to dust so this place made me feel ill. I could not wait until morning to leave the room. The filth was unbearable. Please stay away and avoid this place at all cost. It ruined my vacation and it will do the same for you. This place affected my well being and my children woke up tired and could not sleep as well. We had to end our vacation early because other hotels were booked. For $233 a night this was horrible experience. I still feel ill thinking of the smell it just makes me want to vomit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank LUV2TRAVEL2PLACES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort and our Chalets. It is the reviews of this kind that let us know what areas need the most improvement. We are currently under renovation in our chalets, and all of the issues that you have addressed are being corrected. I hope that you will give our Resort another chance in the future after our rennovations are complete.
Charity Monahan/ Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We returned after 14 years now with 2 children in tow. On arriving our lake view chalet was not available but was the next night so had to move not great as we were only there for 3 nights.
Were do we start on the plus side the staff were very helpful on changing our room. It is only 20 mins drive to Yosemite entrance. The setting is iydillic, it has the convenience of a grocers and small shops.
We thought that during the 14 years they may have replaced some of the fittings. The shower/bath was grubby, grout was missing in the floor original from perhaps when we last visited. The bathroom mirror had tooth paste on it, the sink surround was cracked. The bed were 2 queens, very limited for storage clothes for 4 of us. Used tissues found under one of the beds. Windows dirty.
Upstairs kitchen floor was sticky so wore our shoes indoors. Large old tv with limited channels was s trapped to the stand with some kind of luggage strap. Coffee table was wobbly. Kitchen did not have 4 plates so we called housekeeping who eventually delivered some extra plates which she admitted were dirty and needed washing, yuk. Luckily we had 4 kitchen utensils in our second chalet instead of the 2 provided in the kitchen of our first night. the filth between the cooker and the units included a piece of pasta a pea and lots of general debris. The lights had thick dust and we dared not turn on the ceiling fan because of the thick dust. The loft had a broken bug screen and window latch. We could go on and on.
Moved on to a fab place in Carmel valley at less cost.
Stay here if you want a fab view, easily accessible watersports and a quickish journey into Yosemite. The owners should be ashamed, and if had any decency would offer refunds to guests. We left a long list of things wrong when we checked out. We have never stayed in anything this filthy even when paying less than half the price.
To the owners please do not ask for us to return as we will not chance it, having travelled from London, this is not a mistake to be repeated, just return our money. We were in 269 and checked out on the 24th July.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Landtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinesAdmin, Front Office Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your honest review of the Pines Resort and our Chalets. We appreciate your comments, as they allow us to see the areas we need the most help in. We are currently working very hard to renovate and update the chalets. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future and return to our resort. I promise that your experience would be much better!
Charity Monahan,Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Lake
5.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
243 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
5.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604-9762
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Resort is the only lakeside resort in the Yosemite area. It is located 17 miles from Yosemite National Park in the Sierra National Forrest. The Pines Resort offers cabins with full kitchens and private patios w BBQ's. There are also hotel suites. There is a full marina on site with all sorts of water sport rentals. Also on site are 2 renowned Ducey's Restaurants as well as a full grocery market. In the Pines village you will find a bar with the most selection of craft beer in the mountain region as well as many other shops and restaurants. The Pines Resort is also the winner of the couples choice award from Wedding Wire and host over 50 weddings a year. Come and relax in the serenity of beautiful Bass Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing