We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More gold than white”
Review of The Whitehouse

The Whitehouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Lochaline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $80
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Whitehouse Restaurant in Lochaline makes the most of the West Coast larder on our doorstep. Lochaline langoustines and Sound of Mull dived scallops and crab are regulars, as are Seared Morvern stag's liver, heart and kidney with Tobermory whisky, lamb, mutton, beef and pork from local farmers. Our garden grows most of the herbs, salads and vegetables on the menu. Highland delicacies are foraged from hill and shore. We love celebrating Scottish food and drink - our fabulous local harvest served in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Lochaber environment is among the richest in Scotland. Our food puts it on your plate.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Once again an excellent meal at this gem of a restaurant. Local produce delivered with real flair by Mike and Lee - a varied menu choice with a very good wine list to complement the food. If you are on a yacht at the superb new pontoon facility at Lochaline, passing through the village and taking the ferry to Mull or if you are simply relaxing for a few days in the Lochaline area this is a foodie treat not to be missed. The restaurant is small anyway and being split into two parts it has a particularly intimate and homely feel. We prefer the road side with the view for two or four diners but a larger group would be better located on the garden side and whatever size of group you are, booking is certainly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Have read about the Whithouse often and intended to visit but never got round to doing it. Having friends visiting gave us the excuse we needed and it was well worth the visit.
The menu was excellent and extensive and everything we had was superb.
If you haven't been and like good food go for it you certainly won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IJB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWhitehouse, Co Owner at The Whitehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for coming to Morvern and visiting us. We are so glad that you did and that you enjoyed your visit. Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have tried a number of out of the way places in the highlands for meals out with very discerning friends and have had some excellent experiences. This was a first time to the Whitehouse and ended with perhaps the best meal we've all experienced. There was a really wide selection - a surprise because smaller places like this usually have a fairly limited choice and the Whitehouse only use locally sourced ingredients . We all tried something different, although two of us settled on the halibut, and everyone was delighted with the presentation and the quality of food and service. We had to try the desserts which proved to be as superb, just as the first two courses.
I would recommend the Whitehouse to anyone who likes good food, in a good atmosphere with very pleasant staff. We're already looking forward to returning - it can't be too soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWhitehouse, Co Owner at The Whitehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are all delighted! It is a fair way to come to visit us (although a very beautiful drive/sail) and thank you for taking the time to do so and then write about it. The halibut is farmed organically on the Isle of Gigha and we think it is outstanding. (http://www.gighahalibut.co.uk). Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A short ferry trip from Fishnish to Lochaline (the CalMac ferry waited for us to park and get aboard - what a brilliant organization) to an early lunch at The Whitehouse. A small restaurant serving excellent food - we had an splendid lunch. Smoked salmon parfait with quail's eggs and herring caviar, then Highland Cotriade ( sort of bouillabaisse), excellent glass of house wine and coffee. The whole experience left us with a warm glow of satisfaction having found a little gem by accident.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWhitehouse, Co Owner at The Whitehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. The Cal Mac tream on the Lochaline/ Fishnish boat are brilliant and do all they can to help travellers. We think the Lochaline/Fishnish route on or off Mull is the best way to or from the island (well we would I suppose!) and thank you for stoping off with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had very high expectations...and these were exceeded. This is lovely little restaurant in the quiet town of Lochaline and we had a simply superb lunch for two here a couple of weeks ago. The service is prompt, courteous and friendly. Great menu making use of the excellent local produce....lamb, venison, fish, seafood...extraordinarily good bread (baked on premises daily)...delicious desserts. Everything we ordered was perfectly prepared and presented....particularly memorable was the monkfish with hand dived scallops...poetry on a plate. My mouth is watering at the thought....

This wonderful restaurant is worth a very considerable detour indeed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank judithlorraine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whitehouse also viewed

Lochaline, Scottish Highlands
Killiechronan, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Ulva, The Hebrides
 

Been to The Whitehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing