We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good diving, nice room, average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murex Bangka Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good diving, nice room, average service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were the only guests at the resort since it was low-season and Bangka isn't as visited as Bunaken or Lembeh but it felt rather lonely especially since the staff didn't really try to talk much with us neither did the local manager who came and went after only an hour and didn't speak to us at all. We had really been wanting to find out more about the situation in Bangka with the Chinese mining corporation and what would happen to the local people once they start taking over the island, and then what would happen to the resorts. Unfortunately we didn't get much information on this. It is quite sad that Bangka isn't part of the marine park as it offers stunning diving and a mix between Bunaken and Lembeh with even more different things like insanely colourful soft coral. We saw so many frogfish and Sauhang is definitely an incredible dive site despite the bombings there is still so much there I can only imagine what it would have been like before. It is truly sad that these amazing reefs are not getting the protection, attention and management they deserve.
With regards to the resort, it is quite basic and clean, the shower wasn't working properly but sufficiently for us (we are not difficult). The food was nothing special which was surprising for North Sulawesi, the breakfast was good though. The dive guide did his job ok, I would encourage not to touch or disturb the critters but that is my view on diving when we come as a visitor it is only to see at a distance. However we did have one problem with leakage in one of the regulators. Most of all I would say it is not a cheap resort for what we got and I was disappointed with the service that simply lacked warmth and a "home" feel that we got at the other places we stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Travels200,

Thank you very much for reviewing our resort at Bangka Island. We appreciate a lot that you have taken the time to write these comments.

First of all my personal apologies for not taking more time to talk to you. I met you briefly when you came off the boat after diving and we had a short talk. When you said all was ok I assumed everything was fine and that’s why I left as scheduled.

The mining case on Bangka is still not clear, not for us and not for anybody.
We are very happy to hear that you like the diving around Bangka, it is truly a magnificent place and we all should fight to keep these beautiful reefs healthy. What’s important is to promote tourism - wether people choose to stay with us or not, we just want tourists visiting Bangka area and North Sulawesi. At the end of the day, it’s about financial contribution. We hope tourism can make a stronger contribution to the economy than fly by night mining operations.

We are in process of renovations (so that not only all showers work properly but many other improvements) and staff training. The process is taking longer than anticipated. We now do have a certified regulator technician and equipment is being serviced regularly. We also have some new staff and are moving other staff to our different locations for training and experience. I believe within a few months your type of complaints will be a thing of the past.

Once again, thank you very much and happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
51
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

On a whim I decided to go to this resort for a week of diving after going to Lembeh Resort. The diving was incredible and I will be back. You must keep in mind it is a very remote location, a bit basic conditions and limited food selection. Putting all that aside, I was there to dive and I have never seen so many frogfish! The reefs they take you to are in perfect shape and for the price to stay and dive you will be amazed. The only complaint I have is for a few days we were 8 divers to a guide, way to many. Next time I go, I will be sure to stress this is not acceptable for macro photography. Electricity is from around 6 pm until around 5 am. So keeping your batteries charged is a challenge, but I found a system that worked for me. You must bring bug spray or you will be covered with bites from mosquitoes. Don't let any of the negative things I have said stop you from going if you are looking for amazing diving.

Room Tip: The rooms have cracks in the walls so at night bugs get in if you have the lights on. All have ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings from Murex Dive Resorts and thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. We really appreciate all positive and negative comments because this way we can keep on improving our business. We are very happy to hear that the diving was incredible and that you are planning to visit us again.

At the moment we are in process of implementing several changes in the resort. Part of this, is a small renovation that will increase the comfort of our guests. A new F&B manager is already hired and he will start changing the menus, so food selection will be better and a wider choice of dishes will be available.

We are really sorry that you had to dive in group of 8. We understand that a group of 8 is too big for macro photography. This happened because of a combination of circumstances. Our ratio is usually 1:6 and, if possible, we plan even smaller groups, especially when there are several photographers in 1 group. This way everybody can enjoy all the critters and take photographs. We will make sure that a big group like this will not happen again anymore.

Electricity has been and always will be a challenge in such remote locations and it is great to hear that you found a system to keep all your batteries charged. Recently we have installed a new, silent generator and the restaurant has more hours of electricity now, which makes it possible to charge batteries at different times of the day.

We do our best to control mosquitoes by having mosquito nets in all cottages and providing burning coils which repel the mosquitoes but it is of course recommendable to bring your own personal repellant to keep you clear from mosquito bites.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Murex and we will make sure your experience will be enhanced and you will notice the improvements made in the resort and the diving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You ahve to be there to experience the tranquility of this beautiful resort in Bangka Island, North Sulawesi, Indonesia.

It's worth every cents, good value. They provide healthy breakfast, lunch & dinner with a combination of freshly catch fish & fruits from the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have always picture myself on an isolated island with nothing but the sea, sand, sun and the basic necessity to lived. Murex Bangka Island was the answer! Though the resort provided more than the basics such as a surreal individual cottages, simple meals, serenity, great (and I must mentioned GREAT!) diving, the best part of it, we were so disconnected from the world of technology - yup, no internet services, poor mobile reception, no TV nor radio - it was so perfect!
For those who needs these on a daily basis, forget about coming to Bangka!

From the airport, it was an hour by car to the transfer boat. Amazing volcanic sand beach! Another 30 mins by boat to the island and you are welcome by a small stretch of white sand beach which is private to Murex Bangka.

It was totally back to the basic - everything was done manually from check-in to check-out. Cash! Electric supply is run on a generator and starts only from 5pm to 7am. This means no power in the day time and honestly, who needs it! We were out diving the day and chilling out in the late afternoon on the beach and watching the sunsets.

In summary, Bangka IS the place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a stressful city life! It has rejuvenated us so much that we are planning for a return visit and this time for a much longer period!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Murex Bangka Resort is a "branch" of the main Murex resort in Manado. This visit was our second and although it was a short visit (4 nights and 3 days of diving), we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The staff is very accommodating, from arranging transfers from the airport to making sure our room was to our liking. We also found that the food service improved quite a bit from two years ago. As other reviewers have said, three dives a day is quite easy to do, with two dives in the morning (leaving around 8 am) and then an afternoon dive at 3 pm. Don't expect fancy rooms or finishing touches, and the electricity is only on from about 5 pm to about 7am (means a/c in the night when it's quite warm). We liked the outdoor shower and the great front porch (as well as hammocks) to relax in. The other guests were quite friendly and we enjoyed talking with them throughout the day

Room Tip: pick one of the rooms away from the dive shop if you want to be close to the beach and an outdoor sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed about one week at Murex Bangka Dive Resort and we were happy with our stay. Place is relaxed, no stress, and good diving. Stuff is friendly and they try to make your stay enjoyable. Diving wasn’t difficult here we took three dives a day and it was pleasant. Lot of macro stuff and even muck dives (similar to Lembeh). Bungalows are simple but it was ok for us. Beach is small but size is enough for all guests. Stuff cleaned bungalows and beach every day in the morning. Food was also ok better Indonesian standard to compare it with some Bunaken resorts. If you look for quite place outside Bunaken or Lembeh try to come to Bangka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsmatCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were here this spring, see that review. This place has not changed, and we think that is great. This is still a prestine hide-away. You are far from busy city life here, so do not expect top service in any way. But on an island resort in this simple yet comfortable style, that is fine. Take it slow! Adjust to the island pace, and you will feel better. Like last time, we combined this with mainland (this time Kungkungan Bay Resort in Lembeh) and Bunaken (Bunaken Village Resort). Here on Bangka you do all sorts of diving, so if you have only time for one place to go - choose Bangka. It is worldclass coral diving a 10 min trip with the boat, and righ outside the resort it is outstanding macro diving, so bring your camera! We feel very comfortable with the diveguides, especially Sandros. They really do a good job to show you the best, at one of the worlds better divesites! Perfect place for kids to play, and to learn to snorkel. There is much to see right on the beach. We will come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangka Island
20.1 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
21.0 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
20.0 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
25.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
18.4 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murex Bangka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murex Bangka Resort

Property: Murex Bangka Resort
Address: Bangka Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bangka Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bangka Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Murex Bangka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing