We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual yet comfortable small dive resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murex Bangka Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangka Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murex Bangka Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Casual yet comfortable small dive resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Murex Bangka Resort is a "branch" of the main Murex resort in Manado. This visit was our second and although it was a short visit (4 nights and 3 days of diving), we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The staff is very accommodating, from arranging transfers from the airport to making sure our room was to our liking. We also found that the food service improved quite a bit from two years ago. As other reviewers have said, three dives a day is quite easy to do, with two dives in the morning (leaving around 8 am) and then an afternoon dive at 3 pm. Don't expect fancy rooms or finishing touches, and the electricity is only on from about 5 pm to about 7am (means a/c in the night when it's quite warm). We liked the outdoor shower and the great front porch (as well as hammocks) to relax in. The other guests were quite friendly and we enjoyed talking with them throughout the day

Room Tip: pick one of the rooms away from the dive shop if you want to be close to the beach and an outdoor sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed about one week at Murex Bangka Dive Resort and we were happy with our stay. Place is relaxed, no stress, and good diving. Stuff is friendly and they try to make your stay enjoyable. Diving wasn’t difficult here we took three dives a day and it was pleasant. Lot of macro stuff and even muck dives (similar to Lembeh). Bungalows are simple but it was ok for us. Beach is small but size is enough for all guests. Stuff cleaned bungalows and beach every day in the morning. Food was also ok better Indonesian standard to compare it with some Bunaken resorts. If you look for quite place outside Bunaken or Lembeh try to come to Bangka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsmatCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were here this spring, see that review. This place has not changed, and we think that is great. This is still a prestine hide-away. You are far from busy city life here, so do not expect top service in any way. But on an island resort in this simple yet comfortable style, that is fine. Take it slow! Adjust to the island pace, and you will feel better. Like last time, we combined this with mainland (this time Kungkungan Bay Resort in Lembeh) and Bunaken (Bunaken Village Resort). Here on Bangka you do all sorts of diving, so if you have only time for one place to go - choose Bangka. It is worldclass coral diving a 10 min trip with the boat, and righ outside the resort it is outstanding macro diving, so bring your camera! We feel very comfortable with the diveguides, especially Sandros. They really do a good job to show you the best, at one of the worlds better divesites! Perfect place for kids to play, and to learn to snorkel. There is much to see right on the beach. We will come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 8 days in October 2012,
The resort is situated in a small bay on the south part of Bangka Island – completely separated from the „rest of the world“. To do anything you need a boat (f.i. to reach the nearest village on the island, if you don’t want to cross the rocks that enclose the maybe 100m of resort beach.)
The perfect place for diving, snorkeling and relaxing!!!
Before you go there note: it’s a simple but cheap resort that offers everything you need on a standard that is oriented to the local standard: there is no electricity from 7am to 5 pm, simple clean bungalows in local style (but with aircon), bathroom is like a backward terrace - mandi style.
The rate (40 EUR, 10% discount if you stay longer than 10 days – for instance in combination with the Murex Manado Resort - see my review, very good: kids under the age of 11 are free of charge!!!!) includes everything out of soft drinks, beer and postcards. Diving is cheap (55 to 65 EUR for 3 dives a day, housereef dives 5 EUR). The daily routine is completely diver oriented but if you have special wishes changes are possible.
If you consider the environment when travelling than this resort is a good choice! Dive sites are near the resort (only 10 min by boat) Even the house reef offers a lot – for snorkelers and divers.
The resort employes people from the island. When we where there they had 4 students from a local school for a training – maybe the start of a career?
The staff lives on the resort compounds too and is very friendly and communicative and musical too (sometimes they play fro the guests as a band in the evening) - one of the big pro’s of the resort!!!

Some additional points: a) generator runs quite near to the bungalows (noisy, off gases), b) food is very good but not as variable as it should be when you eat lunch and dinner at the same place for 8 days; c) you live only few meters from the beach – the sea is adaquate loud. d) you only can pay cash e) no internet, but good mobilphone network f) European electric outlets g) our stay was in the beginning rainy season – but: when rain was falling it was only a short time, so it didn’t affect our plans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My friends and I chose this resort for diving trip around Bangka, North Sulawesi. Most of dive sites here have hard current, except the house reef. It's good to do night dive at house reef, no current and can be accessed by beach entry. The beach is nice, crystal clear water, and white sands. Hanging on the hammock under the trees while listen to music or just feel the waves sound is such an enjoyable activity during day time. The cottage made from wooden with Minahasa style, and right in front of beach. The room facility is average and need more improvement, but overall it's still ok. This resort is good option for those who looking for chalenging dive experiences and isolated island.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hedwique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have been travelling a lot in asia with children 3 and 5 years old. First time in Indonesia.
When we got here after a 2 hour car ride on bad roads and after that 30 minutes boat ride, it was like coming to paradise!!! It is a white sandy beach, and an outstanding, prestine house reef! All the rooms are beach front, and we heard the waves from the bungalows at night…
This is an island resort with air-con from 17-08. Mosquito nets in the rooms, but we did not see much mosquitos inside the room, only at the beach in the afternoon.
This is a good place to stay for diving. ( 65 euro for 3 dives) You have about 10-15 minutes to the divesites. The reefs are in perfect condition, compared to for instance southern Thailand. And we did not meet any other divers on our 20 dives here, so enjoy!!!
The food is included in the room rate, and there is no other restaurants close by. Ok food, and staff. The rooms are big, clean and nice. Everything is well maintained. Some things are well worn, and should be replaced. (both in the resort and the dive equipment). It is easily seen that Murex is well established, and it made us confident that things would be in order.
There is an opportunity when low tide to walk to a small village, but not really possible to buy anything there. Bring from mainland if you need snacks. They sell wine and beer at the resort. There is no internet possibility, but your cell phone is working.
We stayed here for 7 nights and would like to come back again!
Think about combining with diving in Manado Bay ("New Lembeh") where Murex also have a dive resort, and Bunaken Island with world class wall diving.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

The resort is pretty basic but clean. All room is beachfront. I was told that they can only accommodate up to 20 people in this resort. The water pressure in my room was pretty terrible. The water is pretty much dripping from the shower head. The electricity only run from 5pm to 8am. The service was okay for Indonesia standard. Staff is friendly and helpful. Food was local homestyle cooking which I enjoyed.

Overall we had a good time there. It is quite therapeutic to sleep to the sound of the waves. There was only a hand full of us there during the time of our visit. So we pretty much have the whole beach by ourselves.

The Bangka beach is ok. Though it is private and with clear water, there were in fact quite some trash lon the beach. The current bring the trash over from other places. Even though the resort staff try cleaning it daily, it is still no quite as clean as we would like it to be.

Diving was pretty good. I have never seen such display of soft corals in the region. Really beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeC_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangka Island
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
19.3 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
20.4 mi away
La Merry Resort
La Merry Resort
#1 of 1 in Tarabitan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Tangkoko Ranger Homestay
23.4 mi away
Black Sand Dive Retreat
0.0 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murex Bangka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murex Bangka Resort

Property: Murex Bangka Resort
Address: Bangka Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bangka Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bangka Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing