We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel has seen better days (at least I hope it has). It's old and worn down. And, that's an understatement. The furniture was all banged up and the carpet looked so dirty I didn't want to walk barefoot. At least the paint was relatively fresh. I checked in late (around 10ish) and during my short stay three light bulbs went out. I thought the daily rate of $43 was pretty cheap, but after spending one night there I felt like I was ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Bakersfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Old furniture, not clean, very poor breakfast. No coffe maker, no microwave and no bath tub.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmjtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The linens and towels were clean and the bed was firm. We had a good night's rest. There was shampoo and conditioner but no hand soap - I think they thought the shampoo and body wash covered that. There was no hairdryer either and only one available electrical outlet in the room (in the bathroom) into which we could plug our laptop. We had to rearrange the furniture to use it. The breakfast was minimal - juice, coffee, toast, sticky bun. The lobby had an odor but the room smelled fresh. The price was right though - $31.95 plus tax.

Room Tip: Good for a night - don't expect too much luxury. Ask to see a room before you commit.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Room had no towels nor soap. Highly recommend you find other accomodations and save yourself from a most miserable experience. It would be better to sleep in your car than stay here. You have been warned....

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loe51935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

i didnt care for it much my husband was happy with the internet the breakfast sucked bread and honey buns really that was it the room are small but clean parking was good and the pool was packed with people i thought the lobby stunk really badly it has the very basic necessitites no fridge or microwave

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raychael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

It is difficult to convey how terrible this place is. First, the room given to us originally smelled like smoke and when i mentioned it, the manager went to the room and came back and said i and my entire family were all wrong - no smoke smell. if i wanted another room it would cost more. So I got another room. This room was so small that the two small beds barely fit into the room. They were jammed against both side walls to have a tiny walk space between them. Everything was old and had been painted over numerous times. The shower felt like a sandblaster. But, we were all exhausted and figured, so what, we would sleep and leave. Not a chance. The beds were so bad that my teenage son, who can sleep anywhere, woke up all night long trying to find a comfortable spot and finally told me he'd rather sleep on the hard floor. In my bed, i had to lay all the towels and the bed spread under me to finally fall asleep. in the morning, as we were dashing out, we went down to get the "breakfast" offered. A piece of toast and a cup of coffee in a dirty, messy breakfast area. though the manager - David - was standing right there, he made no move to clean things up, and when the one loaf of bread was gone, he brought nothing else out. I have been in places all over the world, but the rudeness of the manager and the awfulness of the accommodations rivaled the worst.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravelor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

After a long drive and needing to stop and having asked the best price at a hotel a couple of blocks away guess this one cashes in on the high prices elsewhere and told us there were worst in Barsow at the voucher price we paid!??

Rooms were clean with a fridge and microwave but it seems not in all rooms as we were given the keys to check out which rooms had them.

At about 5.30 pm a van drove up to the room next door with an older man and much younger girl who entered the room and shortly after we couldn't fail to hear what appeared to be the head board of the bed next door banging on the adjoining wall.......Shortly after the young girl was picked up by another vehicle and by 6.30 the man left and didn't return. (Work it out for yourself)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calimagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#34 of 63 in Bakersfield
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bakersfield Fairgrounds
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield

Address: 350 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1731 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $49 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bakersfield
Bakersfield Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing