We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we have stayed here about 4 to 5 times. each time room has been clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. the staff is very nice. we always requested a room at the front of motel away from freeway and trains, quiet. breakfast is a snack, but they have good coffee. we will be staying there again end of oct. Bakersfield can be hot, the air conditioner has always worked very well. we have family in the area so it is very convienent and reasonable. good value

Room Tip: rooms on the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Robert - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that our staff provided you with such great service and that you like the coffee from the grab-and-go breakfast bar. It is also great to know that your room was comfortable and quiet.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    14
    18
    14
See reviews for
16
9
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked in this hotel for one night and one night was one night too many!!!! Our room was very small, cramped and smelt really bad. The room was facing the freeway and the noise kept us awake all night. The public areas are disgusting with garbage all over the stairways.
The only positive thing I can say is the lady at reception was very pleasant and helpful.
I would highly recommend you go elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nic675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Cayucos, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was only there one night. I had a room in front. The speaker from Camelot next door was a bit annoying, but that is not the hotel's fault. My room was clean and met my needs. Free WiFi was appreciated. Other reviewers mentioned the train, but I only heard it once at 9:45pm. Overall, this hotel was fine and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the parking lot will hear the speaker from Camelot.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CayucosFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and our free WiFi. Still, I sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by noise from a property next door to our hotel.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The only great thing about this place is the price. The overall housekeeping is horrible. I am in a non-smoking room, yet the pillow cases have cigarette burns in them. When I complained, their solution was to give me ONE new pillow case, rather than replace the pillows. Even though the room appears to be reciently remodeled, the carpet has numerous stains throughout. I brought this to their attention after check-in, but after 4 days, nothing has been done to shampoo the carpet. After check-in I discovered that although I had 3 bath towels, I only had 1 hand towel and 1 wash cloth. When I complained I received an additional one of each. In addition to these issues, the stairways and walkways are extremely stained and dirty. If you don't have an issue with dirt, I guess that this place would suite you just fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Office closed at 11p.m but when reserving room about 3 hours ahead was told if i arrived after 11 to use the phone outside office to call so someone would assist me. I arrived at 11:03 p.m had to call several times was given dif excuses i even asked to cancel so i could just get a room somewhere else but was told i could not get my money back. After a hour and 15 min finally someone opened me the door.. yet on the day i was gonna check out they came knocked on the door at 10 when check out was at 11 to make sure i would check out. And also i checked out 10 min late they called me to tell me then about 15 min later i was already on the road the manager calls me to tell me im still in her room. I have stayed at many extended stays thru out California but i will never stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the poor customer service you encountered at our hotel This is unacceptable and it will be addressed with the entire staff. We strive to provide all our guests with a comfortable, “home away from home” experience. I am sorry we failed at that mission. Still, I appreciate you bringing this to my attention as I will use your comments as an example in order to coach our team on different ways to provide better service in the future.

If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at bak@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overnight stay was adequate. Smallest queen size bed I've ever slept in, but the room, and the bed, was comfortable and clean. Microwave, sink, dishes, full size refrigerator would make this good for a couple of days stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Kanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It maybe value for money, but I didnt really enjoy my 2.5 week stay here. They gave me a room at the back of the hotel despite my asking for one away from the freeway. I was here on business for 4 weeks and cut it short.

The front desk isnt really warm enough, and no one really sits at the desk 24 hours. Even during the mornings and evenings, you have to ring to get their attention. Breakfast is a joke, but they dont advertise otherwise; so I wouldnt complain. I just wish my company wasnt stingy enough to book me here at the lowest rate they found on the internet. The treatment you get at the front desk is completely different if you book through the property or otherwise. So I got the stale end of it. Poor sleep quality because of the constant noise from the freeway right outside my room.

This has nothing to do with the hotel, but Bakersfield is in the middle of nowhere and you cant get anywhere without a rental car or a cab which would cost you a bomb. I dont know if this was just my room, but they say the kitchen is fully equipped, but all they have is two pans and a laddle; really small bowls which isnt really enough to cook a meal. With nothing out there in Bakersfield in walking distance, you have to depend on your own cooking.

Terribly loud air conditioning unit; the unit itself is inside the room making it worse. TV is tuned down to a low volume, so if you're cooking, with the microwave on and your a/c unit on, you might as well not watch any television.

All in all, I wouldnt come back to Bakersfield, much less, stay in ESA!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayathri_Iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Gayathri - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry that our staff did not attend to your needs properly. In response to this feedback, I am coaching the entire team on how to provide better customer service moving forward. As well, I apologize that our location and grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. The breakfast is a new feature, one which we are still fine tuning. As we do so, we will definitely keep your remarks in mind.

Thank you again for your comments. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at bak@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#28 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bakersfield
Residence Inn Bakersfield
#21 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#39 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

Property: Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
Address: 3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Bakersfield
Extended Stay Bakersfield
Bakersfield Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing