We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was one of the best visits I have ever had in Bakersfield thanks to this hotel..Stayed for 3 nights...Great rooms... Great staff-very helpful and informative...Very clean place...Carpets in elevators need to be redone...The breakfast was excellent...lots of variety...Will stay here again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q5713UWkateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here as an overnight stop to break up our journey.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast had plenty of choice.

The pool area was clean and tidy.

A great hotel for what we wanted.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Elspeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really liked this hotel last year when I visited for 3 days, just prior to their remodel. This year was not such a pleasant experience. I would like to mention that the staff here are WONDERFUL, from the maids to the desk staff to the kitchen staff. They're friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to help out when needed. For instance, my roommate dropped a glass jar about 9 pm one evening, and we had nothing to vacuum up the pieces. She called the front desk and, as they had no access to the vacuums at that hour,they brought wide masking tape to lift up the shards. The young man was very gracious & got on his hands & knees helping to pick up all the tiny pieces bit by bit until it was clean. Also, the breakfast here is still tops! Many, many choices from pancakes,, eggs, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, sausage, you name it, they seem to have it. Also, the room was very clean each day when we returned.
**On the NEGATIVE side: 1) For the second year in a row, our room key-cards did not work in the back door where we always entered after parking. After bringing this to staff attention we were told that it was an ongoing problem and that only certain rooms had cards which worked properly. Question is, if this was a known problem, why was the back door not repaired during the extensive remodel?? 2). There was no ice machine on the second floor. 3). The elevators were very slow & the carpets in them filthy. 4). The hallways were uncomfortably warm when standing & waiting for the slow elevator. 5). My roommate was awakened in the middle of the night when an earwig (pincher bug) bit her on the cheek. 5). The bathroom countertop was virtually "chopped short", leaving approx. 5 ft. of unusable space. (last year was from wall-to-wall). The countertop wasn't long enough to hold normal grooming items for a woman, e.g., blow dryer, hairbrush/comb, hairspray, lotion. I realize it was a money-saving tactic to cut short the countertops, but it was very inconvenient. They had even moved the coffee-maker to the bedroom area because of lack of space. It was not like this last year. 6). The noise in the hallway and rooms above & adjacent to us were easily heard from within our room. Last year I had a room right next to the front desk, and never heard any sound. 7). The closet was cut too shallow, hitting the hangers when closed, leaving scratches in the newly painted door's interior. Also, our clothes were all pushed sideways when the door was closed. Very poor planning. 8). Only one small suitcase stand was made available in a 2 bed room. 8) The refrigerator's door was difficult to locate at first because the cabinetry & refrigerator are both black, and the frig door handle was an indentation on top of the frig. Also, when pulled open, the frig slid nearly out of the cabinet. But, that may be a good thing as this meant it had a good seal, even though it was somewhat annoying to have to use 2 hands to simultaneously open & stabilize the unit. All in all, I don't think I will be returning next year for my annual visit. There were too many annoyances, some minor, but some substantial. Too bad their remodel cut so many corners, and didn't address others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDDD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear LDDD D,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your review regarding our hotel. I am very delighted that you found our hotel staff highly commendable and that you liked our breakfast selection.

I apologize if we fell short on some of your expectations, particularly with the room key card malfunctioning and layout of room fixtures. I would like to assure you that your comments, including that of noise levels, have been taken into serious account to reconsider improvements on our end.

I hope you give us another chance to host you again on your next visit as we would love to regain your faith in us.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We pulled in to this hotel after midnight and were greeted with all the courtesy of a 5 star hotel.
The room was clean, large and new.
The breakfast didn't offer a whole lot for those who prefer a more healthy diet, but there was plenty in the way of pancakes, cereal, bacon, eggs, toast & muffins and other high carb foods.
We will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location is easy to get to, right off hwy 99, although it is in an area that seems like a mix of industry and fast food. But who cares if you're only there to sleep? The lady at the front desk told me that this hotel was renovated and upgraded 6 weeks ago. They seem to have done a lot because the place looks new and clean and contemporary. My room was well-appointed with a mini-fridge and microwave and coffee/tea maker. The bathroom looked modern and clean too. The TV had a lot of channels...over 100, including the premium channels at no extra cost. My bed was comfy and the area was quiet. Note: There is a train that runs adjacent to the hotel, but I only heard it once, about 9pm, and it wasn't loud and went quickly. The area seemed safe, and there were a number of fast food places you could walk to, and a mall that is a mile or less away if you want to drive there.
The free breakfast offered a lot too. Hot choices were eggs, pancakes, sausage, and cinnamon rolls. There was bread and bagels to toast, cereals, yogurt, bananas, apples, juice, milk and coffee/tea.
If I finding myself rolling through this area again, I'd come back for a stay. The front people were very friendly and nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honurider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Booked after being unable to get a room in my first choice of location. What a result ! Hotel seemed new, beds were super comfortable and rooms were a generous size. Matt on reception was very welcoming and it was very much appreciated after an extended day of driving. Best of all this is a five mknute drive from the awesome Cruz drive through car wash where they have installed a photo booth at the end of the wash. Yeah ~ a photo booth in a car wash that takes your picture like you are on a roller coaster. The title 'genius' is bandied about too freely nowadays, but the guy that thought of that is a proper genius. I salute you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamSpongeCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed overnight while traveling through Bakersfield. The hotel staff were excellent. The entrance is welcoming and I liked the new decor. The room was spacious and clean with Directv, which is nice. The bed was comfortable and I didn't hear any noise from the train that some reviewers spoke of. We had breakfast which had eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, juices, coffee, and a new pancake maker (cool). We had a complimentary paper in front of the door and a quick check out bill. All in all a good stay!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Swhalen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 63 in Bakersfield
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield

Address: 4400 Hughes Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93304-6834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Bakersfield provides easy access from Hwy 99 and all Bakersfield attractions. Four floors with interior corridors. Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast Bar. Free Local Phone Calls. Free In-Room, Wireless High Speed Internet. Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms. 25' screen Televisions, Work Desk with Data Port, Hair dryers, Ironing Boards and Coffeemakers in all rooms. Jacuzzi Rooms available with Romance Package. Meeting space for up to 30. Free parking in well lit, walled parking lot. Coin laundry. Dry Cleaning Service available. Outdoor Pool & Spa. Restaurants within walking distance. Group and Corporate rates available. Collect points or airline miles on all Hotel charges with our Priority Club frequent stay program. Self-serve business center with high speed internet access.Visit Bakersfield, CA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing