We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

While the neighborhood looks a little rough the hotel itself is great and it was very quiet; our room was on the first floor and we heard no noises. The staff was fantastic and we were even allowed to check in early. There's a military discount so be sure to ask for it and bring along government ID to show proof. Plenty of parking space and the WiFi works great and the breakfast is tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TacomaJew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    88
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
53
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks rough from the outside but once you get in you are greeted by virtuous staff and the hotel is getting a facelift inside so they are quick to let you know they are sorry for the dust. But once I got to my room I was very happy to deal with the dust. The room I was in was one of the newly remodeled and was amazing. I don't have anything else to add orher than they did have a pool and jacuzzi but I didn't use them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zackdft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is clean and has very friendly staff, including the maids. Room had a microwave & small refrigerator and also free Wi-Fi. There were also several pc's & a printer in the lobby area for customers to use, as well as current newspapers to read. I did like that there were 2 layers of drapes in the room, one for allowing light to enter and still be able to see out somewhat, the other for room black-out & complete privacy. The showerhead was amazingly large, which, with the good water pressure made for easy rinsing of my long hair. The breakfast was fantastic, offering various food items i.e., scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, juice, coffee, milk, real cream, great cinnamon rolls, yogurt, sausage, etc. The food service staff was close-by & attentive to everyone's needs & requests. My room was close to the pool but I did not experience any noise from swimmers as another rater did...I believe that rater may have confused this hotel with another Holiday Inn as this one is not next to the freeway as he stated. The one thing I did notice which was out-of-character with HIE was that the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling in a couple of areas. I was also disappointed in the area in which the hotel was located, as it bordered on a somewhat run-down area of town which (in my opinion as a woman) was not suitable for taking walks or shopping. However, with these things in mind & my ability to plan ahead for walking/shopping elsewhere, I would definately return to this hotel because of the friendliness of staff, the clean & quiet rooms, the wonderful breakfast, and the affordable rate offered to me as a convention delegate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDDD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
408 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the modern, clean lobby and it just kept getting better!

The front desk clerk handed me water & snack bar while checking-in and they were very helpful with restaurant locations and a map. My room was as requested in my profile, top floor and end of hall away from elevator,etc. The room was very large, totally remodeled and cool on the 105 degree afternoon. Wifi was strong and breakfast had eggs and assorted breads, pastry, cereals, yogurt, fruit, etc.

It had the best rate in the area and don't let the neighborhood discourage you. The parking was secure and I felt very safe in the property with a cordial and efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado County
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very clean hotel currently being remodeled (3rd floor where the ice machine is); very attentive staff; very clean breakfast area with well stocked items. This HI Xpress had the best rates of the three IHG's in Bakersfield; presumably due to the location (off the 99 a few blocks and embedded in a neighborhood as one recent reviewer pointed out; and the remodeling in progress). Very clean and newly renovated lobby and rooms; parking was great and appeared secure to ease any aforementioned neighborhood observation perception. Flat screen television; new linens. Staff very attentive. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Four floors; hotel is set back 3-4 blocks from 99; east side would be the quietest. Ice machine is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trace10808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived in Bakersfield, and as typical in July, it was very hot. Needed a cool and comfortable place to stay before heading on to Sequoia. Delicious looking Iced water was waiting for us at the reception area. We were recognized as a Priority Club member and offered bottled water and nutrition bars. Very nice. Not sure of the man's name who checked us in, but he was a very friendly person and offered us tips for our travel to the Sequoias. He is a great asset to the hotel. If I could guess, I'd say his name was Jason (but not sure).

We rented two rooms as I was bringing family with me. Both were well appointed and clean. A lovely fragrance of toiletries were given (Bath & Body Works White Ginger). Smells divine! We had a Coffee pot, nice bedding and a comfortable bed, a refrigerator and a microwave in our room. Everything nice. Didn't use the T.V. so can't comment on it.

I thought the wall-air conditioner was a little loud when I put the fan on high, which is to be expected from those types of air conditioning units (non-central). Since I always travel with my earplugs, I slept through the fan noise. We slept very well, and before heading out to Sequoia, we ate their complimentary breakfast. It was adequate but had a lot of variety from which to choose.

The hotel was still undergoing reconstruction but it was of no problem to us. It is a good location and I'd stay their again. Thank you to the young man at the desk who checked us in!

Room Tip: The hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Be sure to ask for a non-smoking if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCouple1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
286 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our touring group of 50 stayed overnight here on the way home. We did see some construction work going on at the entrance outside and inside but there was never a problem. Our motor coach let us off in the rear of the motel -- we were met and escorted in while our luggage was taken to our rooms. We heard a train going by and we wondered if we would be hearing it all night -- we never heard it again. The rooms were nicely appointed and apparently newly remodeled. There was free WiFi -- the only place we stayed on our trip that didn't charge extra. Breakfast had everything we needed -- the attendant kept the area well stocked knowing we all needed to leave shortly. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it besides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Address: 4400 Hughes Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93304-6834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Bakersfield provides easy access from Hwy 99 and all Bakersfield attractions. Four floors with interior corridors. Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast Bar. Free Local Phone Calls. Free In-Room, Wireless High Speed Internet. Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms. 25' screen Televisions, Work Desk with Data Port, Hair dryers, Ironing Boards and Coffeemakers in all rooms. Jacuzzi Rooms available with Romance Package. Meeting space for up to 30. Free parking in well lit, walled parking lot. Coin laundry. Dry Cleaning Service available. Outdoor Pool & Spa. Restaurants within walking distance. Group and Corporate rates available. Collect points or airline miles on all Hotel charges with our Priority Club frequent stay program. Self-serve business center with high speed internet access.Visit Bakersfield, CA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing