We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and wood floors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Bakersfield
1 review
“Good service and wood floors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I were passing by bakersfield we had been driving for a couple of hours we saw the sign for 39.99. When we checked inn Michelle the desk clear was very friendly she informed us about everything the room came with. Rooms were remolded had wood floors I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    53
    22
    24
See reviews for
43
63
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Driving back to L.A from Vegas and we saw the sign that was 39.99 a night me and my husband were very tried decided to stay here. We got good service from Michelle and the rooms were remolded with wood floors as well. It was very clean we will sure be staying here more when we pass through here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Michelle is a great asset to our property. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

On our way from Vegas we seen the advertising sign for 39.99,we were extremely tired from the long drive so me and my husband decided to stop and stayed the night the room was remodel with wood floors,flat screen tv,great breakfast thanks alma for the great room you gaved us & for the really good price we will be coming back soon:-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomuchgoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
147 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For years, while living in the Netherlands, we flew back to visit relatives, and stayed at the Vagabond. Each time was a good experience. The waffle bar made it exceptional, as I could eat when I woke up before husband, read paper and enjoy coffee....just like at home. The staff was always pleasant, the rooms clean, and in a great location for other fast foods and shopping, before relative visits. I heartily recommend the Vagabond for a good lay over and rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakersfieldmom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate your review of our property as well as your business. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I literally just left the vagabond. We stayed here based on the reviews and with the hope of a clean room and breakfast we stayed here. Our room was ok, our dresser was broken and our shower was pretty gross. We woke up early to grab breakfast and to get on the road when they told us they were not serving breakfast because of a remodel... That wasn't disclosed to us when we booked our room and we would have paid 30.00 less somewhere else with no breakfast if we knew that was the case..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessmielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. All feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. I can assure you that these issues have been relayed to a manager as well as housekeeping staff and are being handled accordingly in order to prevent these from happening in the future. On the day our property was remodeling the breakfast room we were only trying to give our guests a better experience with our provided breakfast. We sincerely apologize but can assure you that our breakfast is completely complimentary and is not in any way included in the price of your room. We hope that you will give us a better opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Rude service. Paid for a room in full ahead of time and went to check-in later there was luggage in the room and it didn't belong to us. Security was using a key card to open random rooms to see if they were being occupied. Prostitutes lingering. Front desk clerk Alma was rude. Did not stay and refused to provide a refund because 20 minutes had past. Manager could not be contacted.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badhotels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. All feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated. We are very sorry to hear that there were multiple issues during your visit to our property. I can assure you that these issues have been reported to upper management and are being handled appropriately. Again, our sincerest apologies.

Thank you,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Location was very good. Wal-Mart right across the street. And many places to go eat also in walking distance. Room was very tidy. The pool was a plus. Overall really enjoyed my stay. Recommended to everyone passing the 99.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madera559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
17.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#42 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
5.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#50 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
5.2 mi away
Historic Downtowner Inn
Historic Downtowner Inn
#48 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#28 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Property: Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Address: 6501 Colony St, Bakersfield, CA 93307-6533
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South hotel is located just off of Highway 99 and I-5 with Downtown Bakersfield just minutes away. Our newly renovated rooms feature a 32" LCD TV's with HBO programming, mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Guests receive complimentary high speed wi-fi and a hot breakfast buffet including waffles, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee, and cappuccino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing