We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay - Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for one night while traveling. When we entered the lobby, 2-3 housekeeping personnel
by the door, we said hello to them and received blank stares. The desk clerk was matter of fact not overly friendly. See bluntly pointed to a printed sign taped to the front desk and told us we need to read it. It was informing guests that water to the hotel would be shut off at 8am the next morning. No "sorry for the inconvenience" from the clerk, almost like "stay somewhere else if that's a problem" kind of attitude. Neighborhood is sketchy, a few "earthy" looking people around but no one bothered us. Room was moderately clean, lots of stray hair in the bathroom like most lower end motels. Fine for a night just remember you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkingRedInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

For the price-point it is one of the best. It is convenient to the freeway and has a great staff. They are always polite and recognize repeat customers. The breakfast is decent and the rooms are comfortable. There are many restaurants nearby and a famous local breakfast diner and country music dinner house.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank richardsX8055DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

It's not the worst place to stay, but certainly not the best either. Beds are comfortable, but that's about all. One elevator for each building and there r three. We stayed three nights and part of the coffee maker was missing, we never got coffee all three days. Breakfast was a joke all carbs. They had cream cheese but nothing to put it on. Creamer was powder, one flavor if yogurt. Very poor breakfast. Next year we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obergranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am a professional woman and I worked in Bakersfield for sixty days and I stayed at this hotel, so I know it well. Earwigs and roaches, homeless people sleeping in the elevators, sagging beds and sad boring breakfast every morning. However, I good naturedly put up with it all. There is a security guard on the grounds, so I never felt in danger.
Still, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and will never stay at a La Quinta again. But this is the LAST STRAW!

In my entire life, I have NEVER received a stealth credit card charge from ANY business six months after the fact, which is exactly what this hotel has done to me. SIX MONTHS after my stay, I got a $295 charge on my credit card bill from this hotel. They said they undercharged my company for my stay by mistake. Now, they wish to extract what their mistake has cost them from me. Needless to say, I have had no problem in getting this unscrupulous charge reversed by my credit card company.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I did not like how they took care of their problem once it was reported. Once I reported their error it continued through the next day of my stay. There is nothing more motifying then someone walking into your room in the morning with a key that the hotel staff issued to them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stay away from this place!! From the dirty unkempt grounds to the loitering "guests" smoking and blocking passage on the stairs to the band of roving unsupervised children running wild on the stairs making it difficult to unpack the car it went from bad to worse. The room itself was a nightmare! Outdated is only the beginning...We turned on the air conditioning unit only to be hit with the worst musty moldy smell that filled the already stinky room. The bathroom was scarey to say the least. I barely slept as the room was so creepy! I did not even use the coffee pot in the morning ! I took a quick shower and we left as quick as we could!! As for the free breakfast - I could not eat at this facility!!!Based on the condition and care of rest of the "hotel" I would not trust the cleanliness of the breakfast area! Cleanliness is not a strong point with this facility. I hope I never have the misfortune of making the mistake of booking this "hotel"ever again!!!.!!!! I booked based on other reviews! Did you stay at the same place I did??? Really? Trust me folks STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miagirl522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here two nights, first night was after long drive through death valley .
On the third floor but has a lift, room clean and has all the amenities including fridge & large tv.
Drove Upto sequoia park then back down to stay for the second night, just short drive into town centre with all the eateries you may require, nice hotel would stay again.
One note: no really relevant to this hotel nut maybe location, here seem to be a lot of down and out or homeless people about ! Just an observation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank thefolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $68 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing