We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Membership?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Membership?”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Apparently Elite membership doesn't mean anything at this hotel. Upgrade ignored as well as everything else. The room was as most La Quinta's are. I can't say anything except you have to go to the lobby to get ice. This location does have a pool, but I didn't see any sauna. After my long drive there, I was hoping to use it. My mistake for not calling to double check to see if they had one. From the pictures on line you can't tell.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 130danielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    130
    81
    55
    48
See reviews for
140
106
45
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

When we arrived 2 unrelated guests were complaining at the front desk. Property looks OK, nice pool, no Jacuzzi. Room fairly standard like the table provided. Mis-matched chairs one of them had apparently been used by somebody without any underwear, there was a skid mark on it. Bathtub not the picture of cleanliness. We were here on our way to Arizona one night and out. Breakfast was free nothing exciting, but they had waffles (we stuck with the coffee) The bed was comfortable, had black-out drapes. Would probably look elsewhere next time but slept well

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2Guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived at 5pm, checked in, got our key and walked into a room that had an immediate overwhelming smell of smoke, unmade beds, trash and tv was on (we thought they had perhaps given us an occupied room). When we went back to the front desk we were told that none of the available rooms for the night were cleaned. (Um, could have told us before giving us the key and it's 5pm, really??). We said we wanted another room, as we requested a non-smoking room in our reservation. We said we would go eat and be back in about an hour and expected a different, clean room ready to check in. When we came back at 6pm there was another clerk who had no idea what we were talking about. In addition, she told us that there were no other rooms except the original room we walked into. She also had no idea if it was clean yet and had to call maintainence to confirm. After hearing a very rude conversation, on both parts, between the clerk and the maintenance guy we finally got our key....to the same smelly room, but it was clean (or appeared to be). The wifi doesn't work it connects then disconnects immediately. When I called the front desk about the issue I was told I "didn't know how to connect computer" and could have the number to an offsite tech support to teach me "how to connect to wifi". No, my iPad connects to wifi everywhere and easily and with no issues. The hotel's wifi is what doesn't work...the issue was never resolved. The hair dryer didn't work, some of the lights didn't work, when running water in the sink and tub the water stands and drains slowly. And as we leave we, and our belongings, smell terribly of cigarette smoke. (Shower and laundry currently needed!!!) Some pros: The breakfast was decent with waffles, bagels, fruit and the basics. The flat screen tv is nice and there were plenty of channels and the beds were comfy but questionably clean!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hez_renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for one night. The room itself was decent, but my sixth sense kicked in when we saw the guests next door smoking, drinking (?), and with their puppy out on the hotel's second floor walkway. (All of the rooms have outside entrances.) At least one other dog owner from down the hall was also out with the first one. Around 10 pm the puppy started howling like it needed to go to the bathroom. The owners just yelled at it to be quiet. That went on for a while. Then around midnight someone started banging on their door trying to get in. "I know you're in there!" Bang, bang! Whomever was banging on the door had to be high on something. And the screaming! No normal person would ever be so inconsiderate of other guests. I am so sorry I didn't call the front desk, but at the time I was more worried that I might have to head for the floor. I wasn't sure if bullets would be coming through the door or the wall next! Things finally quieted down and I was able to get back to sleep. It sounds dramatic and, at the time, it was. I've found the need to call the front desk a few times in the past at other hotels. Maybe I was hoping someone else would call while I kept my head down. Would I stay here again? Probably not. And probably not at any other hotel that welcomes dogs either. Hotel management should keep pet owners in a section all to themselves. And maybe even consider adding a "Pet Free" designation, along with the current "Smoke Free" one, for the benefit of those of us that don't care to share our linens/comforters/furniture/rugs with animals. Just one more question to ask when booking a room.

Do you run a hotel that caters to animals? I'll be passing you by...

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a dog or dogs for next door neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upacrk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is clean and more importantly, quiet. The clerk was very considerate of our request for a room as far away from traffic noise as possible. The bed was extremely comfortable which was very welcome after driving for over eight hours. Recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We were allowed to check into our room on a Saturday before 11 am. Room was very spacious, very clean, and comfortable beds. My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night with our dog for a dog show at the fairgrounds. Great walking areas for dog potty. IHOP right next door. We didn't have any issues with shady characters or loud people in and around the hotel. We would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRCazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

enjoyed our stay, Great price ,good food. right of the freeway,and not to far from down town. you can get the hwy 99 south and north ,a,s,d,f,e,r,t,gf,,dfv,df,g,ed,,df,,f,dff,d,fg,,fdsdkjfns c,dhjcn,msn,nfnbskjfknsd,fndsbfkjbsd,bs,b,bg,dfmng,sd

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#41 of 63 in Bakersfield
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Property: La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing