We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort at Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
304 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Comfort at Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of reasons. One was close to freeway (US 99) and the allow dogs. They also have a great breakfast. The rooms are well acquainted with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, HD TV and free Wi-Fi. The beds are very comfortable and friendly staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RueterRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    114
    70
    45
    39
See reviews for
114
90
41
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overall, I wasn't totally impressed. The motel is old and it shows by not having many recepticles, old door handles, old faucets and a scary elevator that jumps when it starts and stops. Also the pool heater was broken. I really wasn't impressed.

Helpful?
Thank randyndawna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was close to good food. The room was clean and remodeled and had a good breakfast. We had o drive about ten to fifteen minutes to enjoy the Square Dance Festival we drove to Bakersfield for. We will do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silt, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this La Quinta many times over the years while visiting Bakersfield. It's our choice because they are one of a few very that are pet friendly and centrally located. We won't stay here again. From the moment we got there, it was nothing but problems. Each issue was met with the same response...they aren't responsible because we booked through a third party. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, which was extremely inconvenient. During the day, it seems okay but that changes once it gets dark. My husband didn't want me taking our dog out by myself. The only plus is no extra fee for your dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mom23kites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in a little motel the night before in LA. By comparison the La Quinta was twice as nice at half the price. We got the seniors discount. . Clean, attractive, good value. Breakfast was adequate, and the rating area was clean. No public computer, but the nice lady st the desk printed our boarding passes for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank SteveSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

All the staff we interacted with or observed seemed friendly and helpful. Though not fancy or very spacious, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was well stocked and offered a good selection. Overall the motel was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First for travelers with pets there is no pet fee! There is a place to walk and play with your dog next door.
We rented two rooms one for ourselves and one for our parents so my review is base on our two rooms.

This is a older hotel with an elevator, very soft mattresses, towels that are almost non existent, so you may want to ask for acouple more at check in. You can hear the freeway noise in your rooms and doors don't have a seal on them so if you are able to shut your door you may still be able to see light in the cracks. There was a cattle truck parked outside which gave you the pleasant aroma of a stock yard as soon as you walked out the door just a nice bonus. Breakfast was okay, lots of fresh fruit, muffins in packages, yogurt, cold cereal, watery coffee, you can make your own Belgium waffle and toast and bagels. The rooms cost around $70 (without tax) sometimes less depending on the rate you are able to get at the time. Two dbl beds or a queen no king beds. Beds were clean and everything else looked as clean as it could be for the age of the hotel. They have upgraded to new Samsung flat screen tv's with a great clear picture and they even had Showtime. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and around the tub, there was hot water in the morning but when I tried washing my face the night before I was only able to get luke warm water out of the taps. The outlets were iffy as when you went to plug something in they would sink into the wall.
Best of all is probably the location, Costco (which has fuel) is just across on the other side of the freeway and there are plenty of places to eat near by.
Would I stay here again? I think I may be inclined to look for someplace else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroomin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#21 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#27 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#14 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Property: La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing