We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent one night here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is an older La Quinta located right of highway 99 near Buck Owens Drive. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the recliner was worn and run down. As stated this hotel is old and is ok if nothing else in the area is available especially with a price of over $130. The other La Quinta Inn and Suites (north) located at 8858 Spectrum Parkway is much more spacious and modern, so if it is available book there. The breakfast was the standard "Bright Side" and the dining area was clean and neat. Front Desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomc879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 395 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

You will either freeze or get scalded taking a shower at this place. Water pressure goes from none to plenty in 1 second. You can start your shower with perfect temperature, then ice cold, then no water pressure at all, then a trickle of warm, then back to scalding, then start the whole freezing to scalding over and over again. Room decor is from the 70's. Carpet is filthy. Remote for TV had no cover for the batteries. Location is not the greatest either. I will never stay here again and will advise anyone to stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Pick a room at another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice hotel. Highly recommend. Very nice room layout, very clean and quiet. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Good choice of TV channels. Lovely complementary breakfast - good choice of food, but very busy - should wait for the breakfast rush to be over.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TP2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you want to stay in a motel that has clean and quiet rooms. This is the place to stay. The place is near a number of different kinds of eating places within a short walk. The freeway is close but far enough away so you wont hear traffic while you sleep. The air conditioner-heater is quiet. The outside is lit up with lights .But your room is dark a t night unless you want it lit up If you watch TV they have a new large TV and programs from Dish network. I do not work for this motel in any way, I get no money or anything from them to write this.Its just from me as a customer. When I come to Bakersfield again and need a motel. This is where I will stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank carlt315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
1
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Thanks for your friendly service and clean rooms. Thanks for the breakfast to start off the day before racing and thanks for the ease of the check out process. The reservation online was easy and I called to verify my stay and request non-smoking room since it wasn't verified online. The receptionist stated she would take care of that so when I arrived I would be staying in a non-smoking room. Thanks for following through on my request.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've stayed at many good La Quintas but this one is terrible. We found dirty linens, a stopped up sink, and a broken window shade.

Called the front desk who said they would send a maintenance guy over. While waiting over 20 minutes my wife said she saw a cockroach running under the bed. Called the front office again and was put on hold forever. Repacked everything, went to front office, and asked for another room. They said all they had left was smoking so I asked for a refund and told them I'd find another hotel. At which point one of their staff told me "good luck finding another room on Bakersfield tonight."

I walked next door and found a much better Best Western, clean, everything works. Oh, when the maintenance guy came he told my wife that wasn't a cockroach, it was just a beetle. That goes to show their low bar for cleanliness and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank np2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at many La Quinta hotels. I won't stay at the Bakersfield South again. There wasn't a top sheet over the blanket and the blanket didn't look like it was clean. Things like the laundry bag, note paper, pen, etc were missing. That made me wonder how well housekeeping cleaned the room. The hotel no longer provides a paper in the morning. We took our dog for a walk in the evening but didn't stay out long. We didn't feel safe in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsdencci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $61 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing