We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Overcharges, has no customer service. Dirty.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn

BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Overcharges, has no customer service. Dirty.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I was driving on highway 5 headed up to SF and needed to salty the night somewhere. I booked a room through Best Western. Checked in and went to sleep. The room was a bit unsanitary. I guess you can't expect much from a BW and this location. They will always provide for the demand of travelers on I-5. So no need to make the place nice.
My positive note is that the wan who was at the front desk at breakfast was very pleasant and friendly. She really cares about her guests. That's a plus.
Now my reason to write a review. I got my bill and realized the hotel over charged me. I directly contacted them about his and requested it be fixed. The gm sent me a cut and paste message apologizing for my bad experience. Seems they get a lot of complaints. He never fixed the bill. I sent many emails and made calls to no avail. I'm now in contact with corporate to get my money back. It's not a lot, but if the hotel randomly overcharges guests I can imagine its a good racket for them. All in all this hotel may overcharge your credit card, and you will go through hell trying to get it back. I hate to make a chargeback because the mistake is clear as day. The hotel should fix it, but they just ignore me. Sleep in your car. Don't stay at this Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BangkokRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    33
    26
    12
See reviews for
79
53
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The room was spacious, with clean carpet, nice new furniture, and was impeccably maintained. Four bags of coffee with creamers and sugar. Big screen TV. Attention to detail including how the shower curtain was folded to look like the ones over those medieval royal beds. Quiet ice machine. Walking distance to iHop, Subway, and convenience store. Staff were wonderful, especially SUSIE, who went above and beyond. She was so friendly and helpful and sweet. Next time we do a road trip we will plan it around Susie's Best Western Heritage Inn on Trask Street in Bakersfield. :)

Room Tip: Second floor near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I left an expensive orthopedic pillow in our room and didn't realize it until we were in Los Angeles. My wife called the hotel and spoke to the desk clerk, Susie, who informed her that the housekeeper Maria had already found the pillow and turned it into the office. She agreed to hold the pillow until our return stay several days later. This saved us a lot of money as it would have been very expensive to replace. I was very grateful to both Susie and Maria for their excellent service.

This hotel is a very good resting place for us on our way to/from LA. The rooms have always been clean and the service professional and friendly. It's not a five star, but if you are looking for a convenient stop just off the highway, this one is hard to beat. There is an IHOP, Jack in the Box and Subway next door, or if you prefer something else a whole bunch of restaurants just 3 miles north in Buttonwillow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The location is terrible. It is in the middle of farming fields which creates terrible smells of manure in the spring and a plethora of flies in the summer which is what we experienced. It's not just outside either. Since the doors are generally open when they are cleaning the rooms there are flies that make their home and spawn in the rooms too. There were over 30 active flies in our first room so we asked to change rooms and they nicely placed us in another that probably had 8-10 which was more reasonable, but still not ideal. The staff was very friendly and as accommodating as they could be, but they can't change the location. The accommodations were typical for a middle of nowhere motel, but next time I will go to the Best Western 30 minutes down the road in Lebec, CA where there are a bunch of food options at least.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is an older, not very well maintained BW with a tiny breakfast area. We stayed one night in July. The FLIES were terrible in the room. Noise of interstate and truckstop next door were muffled by air conditioner. When we asked about the flies at desk they blamed the feed lot a couple of miles away. Bed was clean and ok. It is about 10 miles to a restaurant. Will stay in town next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stopped here for a night on a vacation trip. It was a perfectly nice place to stay! Only issue was that the wifi was not as fast as I would have liked. Other than that, no problems. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

After a three day course in LA we wanted to stay out of the city & in the Central Valley. Apparently everyone else had the same idea because there were no rooms available at the first location we stopped. Then we googled hotels and found The Best Western. We were so glad we did. The night manager Stephanie was polite & helpful, the price was right & there was AAA discount. Our room was comfortable, quite (despite being adjacent to I5 & clean. A good night's rest before a big driving day. Thank you Best Wester Heritage Inn.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank outsols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakersfield
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#10 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
15.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
13.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#21 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
Address: 253 Trask St, Bakersfield, CA 93314-9756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#12 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property is conveniently located on Interstate 5, 20 miles West of downtown Bakersfield, 5 miles South of HWY 58, exit 253 Stockdale HWY, Free WiFi, and parking. Continental breakfast. Hi-Def DirecTV. 6 miles North of Kern County Raceway Park. One and a half hours North of Six Flags Magic Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Heritage Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing