We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down with bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Run down with bad service”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in the doubletree for 2 nights as part of a conference in Bakersfield.
The first impression I had was of the run down nature of the property. The roof was cracked, windows and common areas were dusty and dirty, the rugs were worn and stained and everything looked worn and scratched. When I reached the room it turned out the lobby was the better looking part of the property. The room in addition to being worn also had a funky smell. The rug in the sink area was stained and sticky and I decided to keep my shoes on.
After the first night – I thought the worse was behind me. I went down for breakfast – because of my Hilton status I get a free buffet breakfast. The breakfast was pretty poor, bland and little of it (some of the items –e.g. scrambled eggs were empty). This breakfast also didn't have bowls for the cereal, so they were using fruit cup. That was a first for me. I also had the catered lunch. It was low quality and bland.
When I went back to my room in the evening I found out it was not serviced. I called down to report and was told they would come right up to clean it. After returning from dinner – I found out it was still dirty (both the previous grim and the little extra I left).
It’s obvious housekeeping and maintenance in this property in unprofessional and management does not want or know how to fix it.
All in all – run down property and horrible customer service does not make a very good combination for a hotel.
It's hard to understand how they pass their corporate inspections from Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighTechTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    306
    244
    170
    115
See reviews for
277
187
68
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

They offer wifi in the rooms for $12 a day. I find this unacceptable. We just spent 9 weeks touring the US and never got charged for wifi once. In this day and age, part of a decent hotel's service should include wifi just like cable TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcatgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Average hotel, spacious room, nice big kingsize bed. The room had a little balcony but no chair on the balcony. Wifi is USD 9,95 for 24 hours. Convenient next to the highway. A little bit dated. I would return to the hotel but it is not a hotel where you would like to stay very long.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polleke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for business because I wanted a full service property and I am HHonors Diamond. The customer service was outstanding, but unfortunately it cannot make up for poor maintenance and a dated hotel. When I arrived to my room, there was NO desk chair. I checked the bathroom just in case it had been moved for some reason, but still nada. I called downstairs and asked -was there supposed to be one and was, of course, told yes. And they would send one up. How could housekeeping miss that? I'm trying to give them the benefit of the doubt; maybe the chair was broken and was removed. But surely there would have been a notification to replace it???
Next, I was going to order room service, but no menu. I gave up and decided to go out. In the meantime, when I walked in the room, it was not cool. The A/C was on 70-72, so I cranked it down to 65, which was as low as it would go and set the fan to HIGH. I left and came back, and by 4 hours later the room was still not cool (female with hot flashes cool). I called the front desk and they stated they would send someone to check it. A gentleman arrived and installed a new filter and made the comment that 'when it's humid the system has a hard time cooling' to which I replied that I travel every week and stay in many more hot and humid places and their A/C units can keep the rooms much cooler than this. I told him I would give it another hour.
An hour later, no change. I called the front desk and requested a different room, but would they make sure it was cool. I even suggested perhaps moving down a floor as I was on the top floor. They called me back and arranged for another room, and stated that the person bringing my new key had checked the new room and it was already cooling down quickly.
Moved to the new room, unpacked again. When getting ready for bed, pulled the comforter back and noticed that, on this king size bed, there was no fitted sheet; rather they had cheaped out and used a flat sheet on the bottom and it barely came down to the bottom of the mattress, much less would it tuck in-maybe an inch, but would never stay. See photos. At this point I was considering moving to another property, but it was late and I wanted to go to bed.
The last item that made this a 'never again' property was a bug that resembled a roach that was on my comforter.

Room Tip: many outside rooms are next to the freeway, inside rooms are courtyard/pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califcajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'm not a Hilton fan, but.....I was going to Bakersfield for my beloved Aunt's memorial service. I stayed at the Hilton because my cousin was going to stay there, and the deal was when I made my reservation, we would have rooms next to each other. I was staying for a week, and I went through AAA to get the reservation. The book said that the room was $85 -$140. The barely english-speaking clerk kept telling me a much higher price. I said I wanted the $85 rate, and in order to get this, I had to prepay for a week. Big mistake.

This hotel is located on the corner of Rosedale Highway, and Freeway 99 - which 8 lanes of non-stop noise.

I was in the very back of the hotel There is a balcony, and if I opened the door, it was like being in an airport. It was als overlooking a very noisy parking lot. The rooms were spacious, and clean when I got there. After that, I got service twice in 7 days. Someone had gone out on the balcony and smoked, and left their butts out there. They had never been cleaned up. There is a small fridge in the room, but no microwave. When I brought leftovers home from the many excellent restaurants in Bakersfield, I had to eat them cold. They could put a microwave in my room, for $15 a day, or I could hike my food to the cafe, and use theirs. The cafe was the equivalent of two blocks away.

There was an Indian wedding going on and the place was packed, but many of the areas were blocked off, and you really had to walk (Plus after all that, I didn't even get to see the celebration!)

The pool was warm, there weren't any towels, and there was debris in the pool.

When I hadn't heard from my cousin, I called her. She had gotten in the night before and was in a completely different part of the hotel. They did move her, but not next to me. she had had it after one night and moved down the street to the Comfort Inn. I was stuck because I had prepaid for this.

I've traveled a lot and stayed in a lot of hotels. This was a really lousy experience. I would not recommend this hotel. I will certainly find another place when I go home next time.

Room Tip: Get one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSyrahSyrah_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on a trip from san Fran to Vegas for the night.

Not a bad place at all, rooms Ok but a little dark. A little dated but nothing really to complain about.

Pool area very quiet but really clean and nice. Breakfast Very expensive and far too huge a portion.

Went across the car park to eat, to find some vehicles had been robbed, so this nerved us a little. However it was a nice steak house across the road. Lovely meal.

For a stop over,. not a bad place, but there is really no other reason to stay in Bakersfield - odd place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Front Desk was polite and the foyer seemed okay. Good cookies. The surprise was when I got to my room. I had to drive around to the back of the hotel and enter through a side door. The carpet in the halls should have been my first clue. I just assumed it may have been a little dated. Then I got to my room and the door jamb had been drilled so many times for the locking mechanism that if I had really thought about it, may have been alarmed. The room was clean...as clean as you're going to get an old hotel. I just tried not to think about the "60 minute" reviews on hotel rooms and what you might find and went to sleep so that I could leave by 6:00 the next morning. It really needs a major update. I do have business in Bakersfield at least once a month and this was the first time I had stayed over. I will definitely be trying the other hotels nearby next month

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
1.4 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Address: 3100 Camino Del Rio Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Rosedale Highway and Highway 99 - The gateway to the San Joaquin Valley and Central California - The DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield is the ideal location to call your home away from home, be it business or pleasure. We are conveniently located less than 3 miles from Rabobank Arena, Local, State and Federal Courthouses and Government buildings. We offer many different amenities including oversized guest rooms, complementary wireless access in public areas and guest rooms. We offer complementary parking, complementary shuttle service to and from the Bakersfield Airport, The Café is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wanting to maintain your fitness regimen? Try out our fitness center, pool and spa. We also have over 14,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space to handle your meeting, convention or special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Doubletree Bakersfield
Bakersfield Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing