We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good place for a stopover”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On route from Vegas to Yosemite, I spend one night in the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. The hotel is a very good place for a stopover close by the freeway and a number of restaurants within walking distance. At a little over $100 (tax included) a night there are cheaper hotels in the area, but this is one with comfort. Although the freeway is very near, I didn't hear any traffic. The staff at the hotel is pleasant, the rooms large enough and there is a swimming pool. Check-inn and check-out were very efficient. I can certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone passing by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words on our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again with us soon. We love having you here,
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    168
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
162
147
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wasn't expecting the level of service or the comfort provided by this hotel, a very pleasant surprise. I would definitely stay here again when in Bakersfield. Very convenient location, feels safe, could use more lighting in the parking lot. Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank You so much for your great review on our Hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback from our valued guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and received exceptional service each day. Great breakfast buffet, accommodating staff, and excellent housekeeping service for an extended stay. Really enjoyed heated pool - great on cool evenings. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank You so very much for all your wonderful comments on our Hotel and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you recived as well. We look foward to having you here with us again.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pefferlaw, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed here a few times as feel safe there as a woman travelling alone. It is clean, and the staff are very friendly. I am also a light sleeper and have never found noise to be a problem there.
The breakfast area is a bit small, but everyone is so friendly that you just join in, or grab a comfy couch, to grab a quick bite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona_E_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You so much for your great review on our Hotel. We always appreciate all feed back. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are under going some big renovations and we will be enlarging our breakfast area as well. Hope you come back and see all our wonderful changes coming this year. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolville, OH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our rooms were clean and spacious. Service was great. Location was convinient. Breakfast was good. We stayed with a group and had 4 rooms and they were able to keep our rooms together. Overall a good value for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us at the hampton Inn bakersfield-Central. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

They actually have food a person on a gluten free diet can eat! A welcome sight for those of us who can't eat muffins, toast, etc. The rooms were clean and I loved the lightweight comforter with the clean duvet cover. A great idea for making the rooms fresh and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabostevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We strive to ensure all guests are satisfied during their stay and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

For two reasons I gave it a 4 overall and not a 5. First, they do not have guest laundry. There are very few Hampton's out there that don't. And second. This is the first Hampton that I have found that has a fitness center, but no treadmill. I do commend them for making an effort, as there are still a few that have nothing. The staff is great. The rooms are super clean. Very good breakfast. My rate was $89 which I think was very reasonable. I don't think anyone should be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property here in Bakersfield. We are undergoing major renovations this year and we will have a great new fitness center " with treadmill" , a new lobby, new breakfast area and so much more. I am very pleased however that your stay was satisfying. We hope you come back and see us as well as all our wonderful changes. As well thank you for the compliments of our staff too. They are a great staff and work hard to make all guests feel comfortable.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
1.1 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Property: Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Address: 1017 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing