We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to spend a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Coolville, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to spend a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our rooms were clean and spacious. Service was great. Location was convinient. Breakfast was good. We stayed with a group and had 4 rooms and they were able to keep our rooms together. Overall a good value for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us at the hampton Inn bakersfield-Central. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    148
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
116
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

They actually have food a person on a gluten free diet can eat! A welcome sight for those of us who can't eat muffins, toast, etc. The rooms were clean and I loved the lightweight comforter with the clean duvet cover. A great idea for making the rooms fresh and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabostevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We strive to ensure all guests are satisfied during their stay and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

For two reasons I gave it a 4 overall and not a 5. First, they do not have guest laundry. There are very few Hampton's out there that don't. And second. This is the first Hampton that I have found that has a fitness center, but no treadmill. I do commend them for making an effort, as there are still a few that have nothing. The staff is great. The rooms are super clean. Very good breakfast. My rate was $89 which I think was very reasonable. I don't think anyone should be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property here in Bakersfield. We are undergoing major renovations this year and we will have a great new fitness center " with treadmill" , a new lobby, new breakfast area and so much more. I am very pleased however that your stay was satisfying. We hope you come back and see us as well as all our wonderful changes. As well thank you for the compliments of our staff too. They are a great staff and work hard to make all guests feel comfortable.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This Hampton is a little tired around the edges. Nice staff and all. Just hasn't been given a thorough refurbishing in awhile. It's in a drab area, but conveniently freeway close. Not far from the Grapevine. I wouldn't stay here on a vacation, but for business travel, it was merely acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVH350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel Yes we are a bit dated although, we are starting major renovations from the inside to the outside of our Hotel. We have a wonderful staff here and glad they took care of you. We hope to see you here again and you can see all our fabulous and wonderful changes to the Hotel. I am excited to see the changes as well as excited for all our wonderful guests to see it and experience our Hamptonality.

Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped here overnight based on the Trip Advisor reviews which gave it good ratings so there were pretty much no surprises. This inn is located right off Hwy 99 and has several reasonable restaurants very nearby. The hotel sits perpendicular to the highway so no rooms are blasted by the noise. Our room was near the entrance and was quiet. The post-it on the bed says the duvet cover and sheets have been washed between guests. I like that! The complimentary breakfast good ,.. even a little better than other comparable hotels. It had hot oatmeal, string cheese, and was kept stocked and clean. The wi-fi worked in the room. The room was a reasonable size and everything worked, even the refrigerator and microwave. Only one problem ... we had room 113 near the front entrance on the main floor. When we turned out the lights a bit after 11 PM, we discovered there was a very large floodlight directly below our window. The black-out curtains did absolutely nothing to prevent bright light from seeping in all around the curtains and lighting up the room for the whole night. It was a bit late to ask to change rooms so --- great rooms except for this one if you want a dark room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 113 and the floodlight below the window. Ask for a second floor room or one not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on our property. We are going through some major renovations and the lighting will be a definite change we will be doing. We are so happy you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in the near furture again. We strive to satisfy each and every guest and make your stay as comfortable as can be.

Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The service and friendliness of it's staff can't be beat ! Love the crisp, clean white linen throughout the beds. The best variety of any continental breakfast ! ON OUR NEXT TRIP TO BAKERSFIELD ,WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. We strive to make sure all our guests are comfortable and satisied 100%. Thabk you for your kind review, we appreciate any and all feed back from you our valuable guests. We hope to see you here again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hampton Inn for a business purposes for a week. this is a green hotel, clean, and good service. There is a post note on your headboard saying that the duvet cover was clean prior to your arrival. I believed every customer will expect their bed cleaned prior to their arrival. Overall I have a good stay. The housekeeping making sure your supplies are replenish daily. Breakfast to go are enough to give you a good starter in the morning. The location of this hotel is also close to the freeway, this make it easy to go anywhere i need. I will stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We want to always make sure you our wonderful guests are happy and satisfied during every part of your stay. We do hope to have you here with us again at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
1.1 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#4 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Property: Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Address: 1017 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing