We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms except one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped here overnight based on the Trip Advisor reviews which gave it good ratings so there were pretty much no surprises. This inn is located right off Hwy 99 and has several reasonable restaurants very nearby. The hotel sits perpendicular to the highway so no rooms are blasted by the noise. Our room was near the entrance and was quiet. The post-it on the bed says the duvet cover and sheets have been washed between guests. I like that! The complimentary breakfast good ,.. even a little better than other comparable hotels. It had hot oatmeal, string cheese, and was kept stocked and clean. The wi-fi worked in the room. The room was a reasonable size and everything worked, even the refrigerator and microwave. Only one problem ... we had room 113 near the front entrance on the main floor. When we turned out the lights a bit after 11 PM, we discovered there was a very large floodlight directly below our window. The black-out curtains did absolutely nothing to prevent bright light from seeping in all around the curtains and lighting up the room for the whole night. It was a bit late to ask to change rooms so --- great rooms except for this one if you want a dark room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 113 and the floodlight below the window. Ask for a second floor room or one not on the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on our property. We are going through some major renovations and the lighting will be a definite change we will be doing. We are so happy you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in the near furture again. We strive to satisfy each and every guest and make your stay as comfortable as can be.

Thank You
Sandie Cartwright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 526 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

The service and friendliness of it's staff can't be beat ! Love the crisp, clean white linen throughout the beds. The best variety of any continental breakfast ! ON OUR NEXT TRIP TO BAKERSFIELD ,WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. We strive to make sure all our guests are comfortable and satisied 100%. Thabk you for your kind review, we appreciate any and all feed back from you our valuable guests. We hope to see you here again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hampton Inn for a business purposes for a week. this is a green hotel, clean, and good service. There is a post note on your headboard saying that the duvet cover was clean prior to your arrival. I believed every customer will expect their bed cleaned prior to their arrival. Overall I have a good stay. The housekeeping making sure your supplies are replenish daily. Breakfast to go are enough to give you a good starter in the morning. The location of this hotel is also close to the freeway, this make it easy to go anywhere i need. I will stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We want to always make sure you our wonderful guests are happy and satisfied during every part of your stay. We do hope to have you here with us again at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed one night for less than $100 and were pleased with Hampton. The room was quite large, we did not have a reservation but there were rooms available and they didn't beat us up on price for just showing up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice response to our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you here again with us.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hampton Inn's are a great place to stay. The rooms are always clean and fresh smelling and I never really feel I'm staying in a hotel room. I like the fact that they clean their bedspreads for each guest and clean only the towels as necessary if you're staying more than one night. The breakfast offered in the morning is more than adequate and very fresh and accomodating. Their coffee and tea sellections are outstanding and I've been staying in the Hampton Inn's for the past several years, just because they're living up to their brand and I can count on a pleasant stay each time I visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I would recommend Hampton Inn's to anyone. This location was right off the freeway with plenty of eateries and gas stations to serve anyone's needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We are so happy you stay with us was a great one. We always appreciate our guests comments on our hotel. Our guests are our #1 priority and to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied always. Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel. We love having you here and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We have stayed at several other Hampton Inns, so compared to other properties, the hotel is a bit old, and the rooms need to be remodeled. The room was very clean and comfortable, but the carpet was older, and the room had a popcorn ceiling. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and gave my kids some cookies upon arrival.
We were also, surprised at the great breakfast the next morning. It seemed to have more/better selections that other Hampton Inns. The breakfast had hot items (Sausages and French Toast), Waffles, many pastries and donuts, bagels w/ crema cheese, fresh Oatmeal with almond toppings, and dried fruits, small boxes of cereals, yogurts, small boxes of raisins, mints, hard boiled eggs, croissants, etc. and they kept refilling all the selections constantly.
There is also Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABourne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

I am so very pleased you had a wonderful stay here with us. We always appreciate guest feed back, and I thank you so much for all your kind words. Our guests are very important to us, and we want to make sure each stay is enjoyable. Thank you again and we hope to see you here with us again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went there for one night, to go to Ernst Quarry. Centrally located but nothing really much to do in Bakersfield. Good breakfast, good internet connection, gave us a late check-out, room was clean and the staff friendly. I would suggest it to anyone in need of a night or two in the area. There is also an outdoor pool but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiroDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank You so much for your kind words on our hampton Inn bakersfield. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future. Happy New Year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing