We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a find for a comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gem of a find for a comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great comfortable bed, large tv with great channels and reception. Quiet. Clean. Breakfast selections much better than average. Coffee/tea available in the lobby, I believe at all hours. Pleasant service. No problems to report!! Highly recommended. I stayed 2 nights and it was just great.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are on the south side, adjacent to the back of Travelodge, so there are no cars ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drkerrylevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank You so much for you response about our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you nect time you return to the Bakersfield Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    148
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
116
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cathey's Valley, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stay at Hampton Inns a lot and this one is typical. Interior and furnishings looked very new and I was pleased with most aspects of my stay. Two things stood out that didn't allow me to give 5 circles instead of 4. The front desk check-in lady was not very informative or cordial. She didn't even tell us where the elevator was or where our rooms were located. Seems she was too busy talking on the phone while we had to wait. Even though I made the reservation online, she seemed confused that it was made with an AARP discount, and wasn't sure how to handle that without several other questions unnecessarily being asked. Also the breakfast was very nice, typical Hampton Inn fare, but the layout was very poor. The breakfast area was on the side of the lobby instead of an individual room like most Hamptons. There weren't enough tables because of the small area and several of the tables are right next to the lobby doors. Good breakfast, well stocked, but very poor location. Other than those 2 minor things, I'd stay here again and hopefully wouldn't get "Miss Lack of Personality" when I check in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn and were pleaseantly suprised. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar was well stocked, clean and the staff was friendly! i would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We appreciate and value your business with us at Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. Thank you so much from our entire staff of your wonderful comments. We are happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am a resident of Bakersfield. I have friends and family that from time to time come visit from out of town. While here, I always book them rooms at this same Hampton Inn. The quality of customer service that I experience starting from when I book the rooms all the way until I check them out is always consistent with a smile. The beds are extremely comfortable, so comfortable that I even stay the night sometimes and I live here. The breakfast is delicious with so many options to choose from, and served with a smile. Just recently they added new carpet and 32 in flat panel television which just made the hotel even better. The Wireless works great. The pool is cozy and relaxing. The price paid is WELL worth it. The hotel is centrally located and is only minutes from anything. Across the street there is Camelot Park- Family fun center with Go Carts, bumper boats, miniature golf, batting cages, a full arcade and snack bar, which is great for when I have family with kids in town, they just walk across the street. The hotel has a very knowledgeable staff that genuinely cares about their customers needs and expectations. For example, a friend of mine was staying in town and she was not familiar with Bakersfield. She asked the front desk clerk Jennifer for a recommendation for a nice scenic spot. She gave her directions to get to Hart Park, and on those directions she included the hotels telephone number in case she got lost. She had a great time and loved the views out there. Luckily the number was listed because what do you know, she did get lost on her way back. She called the hotel in a panic and was given the assurance by Billy that she will be ok and was given turn by turn directions while still on the phone back to the hotel. Now that is going above and beyond. Way To Go. The only downfall I have come across has been that their pool is not heated, which is ok in the summer because it gets hot here. 100% Satisfied

Room Tip: On a couple of occasions if needed they do have ajoining rooms. The ones I have gotten had a king in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad that your family enjoys their visits to the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We currently are still working on some changes in the hotel. Hopefully in the near future you will be able to see all the new rennovations to come. Thank You once again for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've sayed in. A lot of comfort and coziness for the inexpensive rates!

STAFF
First off, the staff. They were completely wonderful and pleasant.
Billy at the front desk was more than helpful. He pointed me in the direction of some beautiful, fun, and exciting places. Without even asking, he printed maps and had had written extra directions and notes for me and surprised me with them almost daily! This guy knows how to go above and beyond and whatever he is making - I assure you, it's not enough!
Even when killing time or hanging out in the lobby before going on an adventure, the staff seemed interested in how your stay is going and what you have to say, even if it's just something as plain as the weather...definitely a pleasant reminder that there are still some good people out in the world.

HOTEL
The overall hotel - clean, clean, clean.
Big and clean bathroom with a curved/bowed out shower rod so you aren't cramped in (also equiped with plenty of towels.
Nice 32 inch flat panel, with great reception and channel selection.
COMFORTABLE BED AND PILLOWS!
Ad-free wi-fi access.
An alarm clock with battery backup and some dresser space in case you are staying for more than a day.
A phone in the room which I believe also has voice-mail.
A good sized mini-fridge (with some freezer space) as well as a microwave.
Nice free breakfast in the mornings with an option of a breakfast bag for the road if you're in a hurry...coffee is always full and ready to pour as well.
Pool looked really nice, though I didn't take advantage of it.
I didn't check out the fitness room, but the fact the the hotel even has one at it's low rates is amazing.
Everything in the place looks new and up-to-date.
They have a nice lobby with a couple of couches to sit on as well as some tables in the breakfast area to sit down and stuff your face.
They also have a "work/business station" that has a computer and printer to use.
They have security that keeps homeless people from pestering the guests.
Also a nice overhang at the front door in case it's raining when you check in.

LOCATION
Plenty of resturaunts and gas stations right across the road and honestly, not far from anything! About a 10 minute drive (including traffic) to stores and other resturaunts.
It's a very quiet hotel for being on such a busy/main street.
Entrance and exiting was very easy and convenient as well and the entrance to the freeway is literally about 1 minute away.

I'm sure there is tons more I'm forgetting to mention, but hey - you have to stop reading this and take your trip at some point.

Honestly, besides being in Cali with the nice weather and no work, I really was sad to check out. The staff are a bunch of friendly and great people that definitely are watching out for you and doing everything they can to make your stay the best possible while also trying to save you some cash!

If you're in Bakersfield, this is definitely the hotel you want to say at!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We value your positive feedback and hope you come vist again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked this hotel over others because of the free wifi and breakfast. Room was fine, nothing special but no issues. Wifi worked, and the breakfast was adequate. There's a Circle K convenience store across the street, a Chinese restaurant out front and a few fast food places nearby. Otherwise you'll have to drive to go eat.

Don't know if it's typical for Hampton Inns, but there's not a lot of public space for guests. The breakfast area gets very crowded and can't handle the pre-8 am rush of people, running out of tables. The workout room has just three exercise machines, an elliptical machine, a stair stepper and a stationary bike. Surprisingly, there's no treadmill. The pool is small and faces the parking lot in front of the freeway, not very attractive. Overall, the hotel is fine if you just need a room for a night, but would recommend staying somewhere with more amenities if your traveling for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We appreciate your review of our property. We have added many new upgrades and just completed some major renovations. We hope during your next visit to Bakersfield, you would come stay with us and take a look at our "New Look".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I can be short:

It was good!
Clean room
Clean bathroom
Good beds
Convenient in location towards sequoia
Pleasant staff
SUPER breakfast, very complete and included

Would surely stay here again (room with 2 queen beds)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marten162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
1.1 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#4 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Property: Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Address: 1017 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing