We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very satisfied and super breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very satisfied and super breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I can be short:

It was good!
Clean room
Clean bathroom
Good beds
Convenient in location towards sequoia
Pleasant staff
SUPER breakfast, very complete and included

Would surely stay here again (room with 2 queen beds)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marten162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    149
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
117
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Positives: staff was friendly and helpful, great location if you are on your way through, right next to HWY 99 and easy return to HWY 5 via Hwy 58), clean rooms, decent continental breakfast included.
Negatives: the hallway on the 3rd floor smelled like a smoking floor (it wasn't), the floors are creaky and we could hear the people in the room above us walk around

Room Tip: heard the rooms next to the Hwy are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We apologize for any inconvience of noise you may have experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your comment, which will help to better take care of you "Our Guests". Very happy to here our staff was great. We would love to have you back next time your in Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The room was no frills but clean and good for a short term stay. We had the top floor mid building so we were insulated from any street or freeway noise. Staff were friendly and complimentary breakfast was decent.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I always get top floor away from any streets.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank imcookn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out for your review on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your last stay we have upgrades on our property inside and out. We do hope to see you here with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My son was going to Bakersfield on business and had booked his room earlier than I did. When we arrived, our two rooms were right across the hall from each other. The rooms were bright and airy. The breakfast room was well-stocked and welcoming. Since my son had the rental car during the three days we were there, I needed to travel to various sites by bus. The reception staff looked up the bus schedule and map, printed them out and gave them to me. I travelled to the shopping centre one day and enjoyed lunch and shopping there, and got back to the hotel unscathed. I went to the natural history museum downtown the next day and had a great time looking at the history of Bakersfield. The hotel was right near several good restaurants plus a few fast food places and a shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We so appreciate your feedback and most of all appreciate you staying with us. Happy your experience with us was to your satisfaction. We love having you here, and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have been coming to Bakersfield twice a year for 18 years to participate in the races at Famoso Raceway. We have stayed at many places that were okay, but we have found a new home for our trips. We were able to book our rooms at this Hampton Inn at the last minute as we weren't sure we were going to be ready in time for this year's March Meet.

The staff, all shifts, was fantastic!! Helpful, friendly and always pleasant. Check in and out was a breeze. We did the free breakfast only one morning, but it was good and everyone was content. The rooms were clean and well laid out. The beds were a tad hard for my taste, but everyone else was happy. It's just me and my bad back! The best part was on Friday morning, after our first night, one of my crew mentioned at breakfast that he didn't think there was anyone else on our floor as heard no noise what so ever. Very nice bonus since we work long & hard hours during the weekend and need a good nights sleep.

This is our new place to stay when we come back to Bakersfield as voted by our team. I highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews of our Hampton Inn Hotel. We so enjoy you and your car teams staying with us each and every year. Your loyalty means the world to all of us. We look forward to seeing you all here with us again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have been staying at this Hampton Inn each week for the past several years. All of the staff from the Manager, desk clerks to the Maids provide the most of care and make sure you are pleased. The rooms are very clean , quiet and comfortable. If ever I have a need I just call the front desk and they make sure to help me and/or honor my request.
Bakersfield has many choices for a hotel. However, you will not find one with cleaner rooms or better service. The entire staff at this Hampton Inn is wonderful. They must be doing something right to keep me coming back each week for several years.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranaepasorobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We value your business each and every week. Guests as you have become a part of our Hampton Family. We love having you here and look forward to your stays week to week. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us ur feedback and loyalty as a Hampton Inn guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I enjoy the friendly service, clean rooms and good hot breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron5432180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
1.1 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#4 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Property: Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Address: 1017 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing