We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are the best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
San Bernardino, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They are the best!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for the fast and great service. We had booked over 50 rooms and we had no problems. All the room were clean and have quality/updated look that anyone would want. I love that it's next to the concert venue and they have a shuttle to the airport!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank independent1_noa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving us the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. we look forward to being of service on your next trip to Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    135
    62
    21
    23
See reviews for
62
69
18
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and modern. Beds are the typical Marriott wonderful level you'd expect. Lots of variety on the pillows. Crisp, decadent sheets. Restaurant is slightly expensive but the food is good. Starbucks in the lobby is convenient. Tiny little closet-like store sells basic amenities and snacks which is great since there isn't a grocery or convenience store nearby.

The only downside is that there are only 3 elevators and when there is a convention the wait is excessive. The stairs are external and in Bakersfield this means lugging bags up and down in 100 degree + weather for several months of the year, so they aren't a great alternative to waiting for the lift. Friday and Saturday nights they may have weddings booked so the parking will be spotty and there may be rowdy guests and loud music if you like getting to bed early.

Overall it is a great hotel though and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The options are facing Truxton or facing the railroad tracks. Neither really proves to be much of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntie_LaLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our performance Your feedback is very important in our continuous efforts to improve. We greatly appreciate it and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing The Bakersfield Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a great nights' stay at Bakersfield Marriott while driving across from Vegas to San Jose. The hotel looked bright, modern and clean, while all staff were friendly and helpful.

I'd booked the hotel with a view to walking a couple of blocks west and north to the downtown area to eat later on, but after scanning reviews online that evening while at the bar, we noticed that The Nines restaurant, which is part of the hotel, had the highest reviews so we took a table. My colleague had a seafood special, with salmon, scallops and shrimp while I had a salmon dish. Both were truly excellent, as was the Key Lime pie we finished with for desert. Highly recommended.

My room was also great, with a great coffee-maker and a Digital HD TV. In all, there was nothing to complain about whatsoever. A great hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so very much for the thoughtful and sincere review of our restaurant, I am thrilled to hear that every aspect of your dinner was exactly as you expected. I appreciate your kind words and will certainly pass along to our new Executive Chef Lance. Thank you once again for your thoughtful review! I cannot wait to share it with the entire team here at the Bakersfield Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here on a Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family in town. Not really expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. Great friendly service, really modern and clean rooms, beds were great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were on transit from san francisco to las vegas at this bakersfield
The hotel is average
The city I was felt is not too safe city
We were in the parking area of the shops some local approached us and asked for money
We were told by the hotel reception not to go to certain area in the city as a bit danger

Is good for transit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here one night when in town on a business trip. I can't say there is anything special about it, but it was clean, comfortable, and served my purposes. Pretty much a standard, basic Marriott. I think there were some other similar hotels near the interstate, but this seemed to be the best option if you want to be in downtown Bakersfield near the convention center, etc. The staff was friendly, parking was free, and I didn't have any problems staying here. The dining options seemed pretty limited in the area (I had to drive back to the interstate area because everything the immediate area downtown was closed), but that wasn't a big deal. If I needed to be in downtown Bakersfield, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback on our hotel and staff service. Our team here strives to provide consistent and excellent service to our valued guests, and I am happy to hear that is exactly what you experienced! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience at the Bakersfield Marriott! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Business trip to Bakersfield CA with a two night stay at this hotel. Pleasant surprise with the lobby, guuest area and restaurant.

Rooms were price about right and were clean and large but has a very small bathroom. Connection to the internet was free and speedy. Went to the 9th floor for drinks and a quick bite but should have just stayed in the lobby. A little cheesy...no pun intended.

People were VERY nice and informative of the local restaurants.

The hotel restaurant was good...not a five start but good. Had the Halibut which was very tasty and cooked to perfection. WIne I ordered was out so they gave me a better wine for the same price. Breakfast buffet was...well...a breakfast buffet...like all the rest. Good food and service.

Room Tip: There is a rail yard on the back side of the hotel about 1/4 mile away. There is a little noise so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soddycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
812 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing