We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best hotels in Bakersfield” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Bakersfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I travel to Bakersfield on business regularly and the Marriott is my favorite place to stay. The property is clean, modern, up to date, and conveniently located in downtown, which is good for my business appointments. My rooms are always clean and very well maintained. Sometimes I get a mini refrigerator in my room which is very convenient.

I am at Marriott Gold member and have access to the executive lounge. The personnel there are very friendly and accommodating. I just wish the prices on their wine and beers were more reasonable for their loyal customers. The prices during the happy hour in the lobby bar is cheaper than the executive lounge, so what gives? That makes no sense. Still, it is nice to have the hot appetizers in the afternoon and a nice breakfast in the morning in the lounge.

I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    127
    59
    20
    21
See reviews for
60
66
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good location - 5 min drive from Greyhound and Amtrak stations. Very friendly hotel staff - especially reception staff...Dominique was very helpful and always smiling when addressing any of our queries. Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Swimming pool was nice but the jacuzzi water was boiling hot! (maybe because of the intense heat?!) Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious and very vegetarian friendly!! The restaurant staff were very accommodating to our dietary requirements and were polite. Free hotel wifi was available at each corner of the hotel and was very quick to connect. The water cooler that dispensed cold water was a very good idea as it was extremely hot during our stay and a cold drink was always welcomed! Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rads-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here recently with a friend. This is my second trip to the Bakersfield area recently and I know I'll be back. The Marriott was outstanding in terms of quality of the room, price and service. My experience here couldn't have been any different from the poor experience I had at the Four Points weeks earlier. Here, the rooms were great and very comfortable, the check in process was easy and we were up in our room in no time. I had a high floor (7th) which gave a nice view out. Others have commented on the trains which we faced but we had no problems with noise. Parking was fine and generally available, though I'll say that there appeared to be a couple of weddings going on during our stay and the parking lot filled up when those were going!
The restaurant, bar and pool were really wonderful. My only criticism would be that they should look at having someone from the bar periodically go out thru the outdoor seating and pool areas to clean up and take orders out there. We sat out by the pool for a lazy Saturday afternoon and several people commented that they'd have liked a drink or food but kept having to go inside to the bar to order....might not be a big deal but I think they could have sold a lot more drinks and food if they'd had someone cruise thru once or twice an hour. Beyond that though, the pool was just perfect...very refreshing in the heat. Really, I don't have anything negative to write. I'll probably be back in the area in a couple of weeks. I'm already planning the trip and we'll be staying at the Marriott I'm sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSMGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped off for one night halfway through our drive from San Diego to Yosemite. The rooms were clean and nice, and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The front desk staff helpfully provided directions to a great Italian restaurant in the area for dinner and the morning staff at Starbucks were very friendly. They even have a computer and printer in the lobby for guest use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bll97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We attended a wedding that had its reception at this hotel. The room was ready when we arrived. It was clean with comfortable beds and good towels. The free wifi worked great. The price seemed reasonable for a Marriott.

The only down side was that parking can be a challenge if there is a couple of big gathering scheduled, which there was when we were there. Also, which is no fault of the hotel, we had some noisy neighbors that let the kids run wild.

I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was very nice - on the 6th or 7th floor of the building - and spacious The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room itself was impeccably clean. The staff at the front desk were VERY NICE and accommodating! The only reasons I did not give this hotel 5 stars is because 1) the jacuzzi had a pebble finish that made it very uncomfortable and 2) Partiers that were VERY loud right down the hall. I didn't call security to deal with them - just went down the hall and knocked on the door. When the girl opened the door and I asked if they could "keep the noise down as it was 4 a.m. in the morning," she laughed and said, "it's a hotel." So I told her I would just take the matter up with security and walked back to my room. We didn't hear a peep from them the rest of the night (morning actually)! -( So I guess , the girl got the message - Hee hee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tberger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped off at Bakersfield for a break from our trip from San Diego to San Francisco on I5.

We were warned that Bakersfield is not a great town, but it really isn't that bad.

The Marriott at the Convention Center is an excellent hotel. The rooms are clean and big and quiet.

But the WIFI connection is atrocious. You'll be lucky if you can check your email. We were on the sixth floor, of course, but that shouldn't make a difference.

There are plenty of stores within a 1-mile radius and there are plenty of places that will deliver pizza or Chinese to your room.

Parking for hotel guests is free.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to pick a room next on a lower floor, so you're closer to the lobby if you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warsenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#3 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4726
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing