We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Extraordinary beds!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary beds!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I had to leave the Travelodge on Oak in the middle of the night due to safety concerns and rude neighbors & staff. I found this place in an emergency situation at 3am and the staff could not have been more sympathetic and helpful. They worked with me on rates because of my awkward check in time and were very concerned about my frazzled mental state - even offered me tea. Once I got to my room - which cost only $10 more than the Travelodge disaster - I was very happy. The bed was amazing, shower head had good spray and pressure, an the whole room is looks new and immaculate. The wifi is free and worked super fast for me on my HP and Apple products. The parking lot is huge, well lit, and patrolled. The police station an courthouse are down the road, so I felt very safe. And as a woman alone, that's all I wanted. But as usual, the Marriott continues to impress. This and the courtyard Marriott will be the only 2 places I stay in Bakersfield ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    121
    56
    19
    21
See reviews for
58
61
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just completed a 5 week job in Bakersfield, during which time I tried several hotels. This one was the best. Everyone was polite, everything worked as expected. Staying here was actually a relief after some of the other hotels, and I slept better. And its a pretty good deal; sure you could save $10/night at the Best Western, $30/night at Econo Lodge, but there onemust trade savings for less helpful staff, thin walls, and way more late night noise when trying to be bright and ready for work the next day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Bakersfield Marriott four or five times and my experiences have all been great. The hotel is conveniently located and the staff is friendly. It's also very clean. When I return to Bakersfield, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has a very nice lobby and free parking. That's about where the positives end. The WiFi here is actually worse than 1990s era dial up. I went to the front desk to ask about it and I got the same look that people give you when they don't speak English. It is UNACCEPTABLE for any hotel of this stature not to have good WiFi.

The walls and windows also must be made of paper. It is the noisiest hotel that I have ever stayed at. Sirens blaring all night, loud people in the hallways. You can actually hear chatter from the bar area from a 3rd floor room.

This is one of the worst hotel experiences that I have ever had and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiznessTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed one night and were towing a trailer so I chose this establishment because it had a restaurant on site. It was a ways off of the freeway but well worth it. All of the staff we encountered were happy and helpful. There was a great hotel bar and we chose to eat there. The food was very good. We will return if we ever have to stay in Bakersfield again. The only hiccup was that our breakfast order that I hung on the door was lost. Once I phoned the front desk they were very apologetic and our food arrived in a short while. I think that it was a great value and even though it is an older building Marriott is doing a good job keeping it up to date.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We hadn't stayed at this hotel since it was reopened as a Marriott. It was a Holiday Inn before. It was great. We stayed on the ninth floor for three days. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice. The room was clean and the beds were great. The exercise room is bright and modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If this same hotel were located in a big city, you'd pay a lot more. For a reasonable rate, I received a bright and pleasantly appointed room, which was clean and comfortable, with a plush bed. The lobby has a lovely fireplace and is very appealing overall, as are the other public spaces, including the restaurant. I enjoyed lunch in the restaurant, The Nines, which is casual but smart enough for a business meeting. This hotel is within walking distance (if you don't have heavy luggage) of an Amtrak station, a bonus if you're arriving or departing by train. It's nice to be able to stay in an upscale hotel without breaking the bank, so take advantage of it if you're in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bythemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#3 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing