We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very nice hotel with a curtious staff good restuarant and bar. Easy place to do business with plenty of room in the lobby to meet. Comfortable and clean room with clean comfortable bed and nice working area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Bakersfield Marriott at the COnvention center, It is our goal to not only meet but exceed the expectations of our guests at all times. We look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Bakesrfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    135
    62
    21
    23
See reviews for
62
69
18
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We used to enjoy visiting about once a month, but will absolutely never go back. Service has slipped horribly. In the lounge, last month our group waited 30 minutes before we were even acknowledged -- and service didn't get much better. Today was almost as bad. And when I complained, I was asked if I wanted to speak to the manager. I don't want to speak to a manager. I just want good service, especially when I am paying high prices.

Room Tip: Choose between street noise and railroad noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the issues you recently experienced.
It is our goal to not only meet but exceed the expectations of our guests at all times.
I apologize once again for the trouble this may have caused you and we thank you for taking the time to assist us in personalizing not only your experience but every guest to come.
Should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly
at carlos.navarro@bakersfieldmarriott.com. Again thank you for the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Bakersfield Marriot was a nice litte surprise. Wasn’t expecting much but when I showed up I was glad to see a nice modern hotel. The room was very comfortable and the bed, desk, tv, and all the little things were nice and clean. The restaurant, bar, and lobby downstairs were perfect for business travelers. It had free wifi and was a good start to my work trip in California. No minifridge or microwave in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdesai78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

While the hotel itself has been cosmetically upgraded and looks modern and clean, the biggest problems at this Marriott are the systems that weren't updated and remain out of sight. My room had the LOUDEST air conditioner that I've ever heard. It rattled and banged like a jack-hammer ALL NIGHT. I called the desk at about 1 am because I couldn't sleep and they offered me the choice of two other rooms, however after previewing them it became apparent that the air conditioning noise problem was systemic. In addition, one of my windows was broken and wouldn't open, while the other one only opened a few inches so getting fresh air into the room wasn't really an option.

After a long, terrible night of either being too hot or listening to the prehistoric air conditioning unit bang, vibrate, and clatter, I decided to switch hotels completely for the duration of my stay. The desk staff was very understanding and didn't charge me for the night, however something needs to be done about this problem. After reading other reviews on here and on other websites, I am now aware that others also found the air conditioning at this hotel to be disruptive. It is. Believe us. Additionally, this hotel is, like others have said, in a mediocre end of downtown (that I wouldn't walk around in at night), not close to any restaurants or stores, and is located practically on top of the train line so there are train horns going off all night long. Unless they replace the air conditioners, I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Arrived around 9pm. Asked if there was any coffee or snacks available. Was told that there wasnt any and was directed to the bar. Bartender said that he could make me an expresso for charge and that the bar did have coffee in the morning also for a charge. Very small market behind lobby and since it was late there wasnt anything to eat except candy.
The breakfast buffet was $12 and consist of warm food. Had better food offered at other hotel for free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjoe95020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here overnight over the Labor Day weekend for a college football game. We arrived to find a huge wedding going on and their restaurant closed for the entire day for the wedding...that was a little upsetting given my family and I were hungry and were forced to find dining off the property since we didn't want to order room service or sit at the bar in the middle of the afternoon. The rooms are huge w/ lots of space to walk about and definitely roomy enough for 4 people. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom normal size (small), one couch w/ ottoman and big writing desk. I must express how friendly the staff was and more importantly trustworthy since my husband left behind his brand new iPad2 in the room and we were able to recover it 2 days after check out. Props to Carlos Gomez and his housekeeping staff!!! Just for that I would return to this property! OH and the breakfast buffet was only $12 USD...make your own omelette, waffles, simply enough to choose from...remember it's not brunch. And I must say, I didn't hear the train once at night for all those of you who had the unfortunate experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Chose this place for a family event and to get away from the Hwy 99 bustle. Good choice! Room is spacious & clean and the staff friendly & helpful. I thought we were in trouble when we arrived and found that Ringling Bros. Circus was next door at the convention center - should we expect clowns in the lobby? But all was quiet & peaceful. Woke up to find elephants being washed & fed in the parking lot. Cool!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan4093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
812 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing