We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay her”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Bakersfield
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is no place to take the kid. The rooms at ok but thin pillows and worse towels on This must be a meeting place for the local druggies and drinkers. The police responded to a altercation in the next room and a all night party in the room above really noisy place. I would have left and aske for a refund but was too tired. I will never stay here again. What a joke and would be comical except for the fact that the whole place is pretty frightening after dark. I'm sure the police show up here pretty often.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobk95945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had 4 lobby interactions, and each time the person behind the desk was very rude and abrupt. The back parking lot is so dark and concealed that I was afraid to leave my car. The front parking lot spaces are so small my Jetta barely fit and I got a door ding. The rooms are so close to the 99 freeway that you hear each car. The walls are so thin you can understand your neighbors conversations. Do yourself a favor and drop $10 more per night and stay someplace safe and friendly. There are a dozen hotels in this area that aren't nearly as scary or rude.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aly9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your comments. We do all we can to make sure our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. We have recently installed new brighter lights in our rear parking lot, making it much brighter in that area. Also, please know we will use your comments to make our service even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Travellodge Bakersfield costs about 40% of a 3.5 Star hotel in the city, and provides in my estimate about 80% of the value. In my book, that's a good deal. It's conveniently located for travelers going either East/West (Hwy 58) or North/South (Hwy 99). it's clean, has reasonably good accomodations, and free internet (where the 3.5 Star hotels i've stayed at charge for internet). The modest but adequate Continental breakfast saves $8-$12 compared to stopping for coffee and breakfast at a typical fast food place. Again, the 3.5 Star hotels don't offer free breakfast. I've dealt with 3 people at the desk. The two gentlemen I've dealt with at the desk are friendly, helpful, and accomodating. There are a number of good-to-reasonable restaurants and convenience stores that are walking distance from the hotel. I don't want to stay in all parts of Bakersfield, but the Travelodge is in a fairly good part of town. I stay there on a regular basis on my way to and from from Las Vegas to Monterey.

Room Tip: I think they're all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodge010, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 741Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Erinn D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked on Hotels.com, took the family, only stayed one night...THANK GOODNESS! The pictures aren't up to date. I mentioned that to the manager and he stated that they are scheduling a new set of photo's soon. They say they provide Cribs, the Manager told me they don't have any, but will be ordering one. ONE!! My daughter took her shoes off and within 20 minutes her feet were black and I mean BLACK from the dirt on the carpet. I can't speak for all bathrooms but our shoes were sticking to the floor in ours so I went and got some cleaners and cleaned the floor and the tub before any showers were taken. The staff is nice and they are very quick to please. Yet they can only work with what they have. We also had a private deck that I would say hadn't been cleaned in at least a year!! I wish I had taken pictures of the chairs out there it was so disgusting.

Room Tip: Even though we booked with Hotels.com and trusted that the hotel would have a crib...call the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#14 of 63 in Bakersfield
209 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bakersfield

Address: 1011 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1061 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Range Hotel. We offer full breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We are centrally located in Bakersfield, CA right off the 99 Freeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing