We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As good as any other M6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“As good as any other M6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bakersfield isn't really a vacation stop and like most other reviewers we were in transit for business. Reception was good quick and efficient.
Fifteen minutes after checking in we got a call from customer service to ask if the room was OK.
That was a first at an M6 for me, but a nice touch.

There was nothing spectacular to say about the motel, so nothing bad either.

Room Tip: we always book a ground floor drive up and the motel complied with our request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    8
    2
    9
See reviews for
8
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed on February 14th as a pit stop on a trip to the Monterey area. We arrived around 9:00 p.m. and left fairly early.

The hotel was clean. Check-in was at the night desk, and other then feeling she could have hurried more or been a bit more friendly, it was fine. Parking, etc. felt a bit exposed, but this is a busy part of Bakersfield, near the freeway....hard to complain about it being loud and active.

The biggest negative was the thinness of the walls, particularly the exterior wall. We were on the second floor (would advise trying for first floor, but we knew we'd probably be out of luck with our late arrival). We were right at the top of the stairs. People coming up were amazingly loud and rude....but that isn't really Motel 6's fault. But what was amazing is how the movements on the stairs and balcony transferred into our room. It felt almost literally like we were on the other side of a trampoline from a bouncing child.

If this had kept us from sleeping well, I would have lowered to 2 stars (as it is, this is probably like 2.5 stars). But we slept well, which probably means the beds were decent (and yes, we were tired).

And now a general complaint.....its kind of a bummer that clocks and kleenex seem to be going away in motel rooms.

Coffee available in the lobby in the morning was a plus. I think we will try something else in this class, or, if we have any extra money, upgrade a bit, before we stay here again as we pass through Bakersfield.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elwood9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Typical nice Motel 6. Staff was friendly. Neighborhood seems nice- right off highway so easy to get to. Rooms and grounds nice and clean. Grass for dog to go in. Places to eat near by. We would come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8sfst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here; once again, traveling between cities. This time, we were not able to reserve the room before arrival and so we did not get the $45.99 price, however, $50+tax for a clean room with amenities, working TV, clean sheets & towels is still a great value for the money. Once again, one can get the morning coffee before going to the restaurant for their breakfast. This is a very good place to stay while driving between cities and get tired and need a place to crash before continuing the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margeskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were traveling through, got tired of driving and stopped by this Motel 6. The location is very convenient, close to the main highway. The room was very clean with basic amenities, working television and no-smoke smelling room. In the morning, you can get your first cup of coffee in the office until you get your breakfast at one of the lcoal restaurants in the surrounding area. Making a reservation 20-30 minutes before arrival we were able to get the $45.99+tax rate for a room with two Queen beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margeskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here earlier this week and found it to be a really good value with a great location near downtown. Like most Motel 6s the room was very spartan. So, make sure you bring your own shampoo, for instance. However, the room was extremely clean and had all the basics. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. For example, on the second night my door key stopped working and they were able to fix it in seconds.

There are also a lot of places to eat within walking distances and a nice Barnes & Noble across the street, which has a Starbucks Cafe and really good free Wi-Fi.

Overall, I had a good stay. However, I have a few minor complaints. Number 1, there were no Kleenexes in the room. (I had to make do with toilet paper.) Second, the Wi-Fi was so weak it was basically useless. What's worse, they charge $2.99 a day for it. Third, I was propositioned by a hooker in the parking lot. (Fortunately, I told her I wasn't interested and she left me alone.)

Still, I can definitely recommend them due to the location near the freeway and downtown, the price, the quality of the room, and the excellent staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianBinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

WE stopped off here for one night when travelling through the area on the way to Yosemite. The location is perfect very close to the main highway and yet pretty quiet. The hotel offered reasonable basic accommodation for a very good price. This included free wi fi. A couple of reasonable earting houses close by and a great Barnes and NOble store with a coffee shop if you wnat to spend a few minutes browsing. This is not a swanky place (that is not what Motel 6 offer) but the welcome was warm anf the rooms perfectly adequate for a quick stop pver.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Instep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
5.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#33 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#41 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#31 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center

Property: Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center
Address: 1350 Easton Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1062
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center is located within walking distance to area dining. Shopping is within 3 miles. Play golf at Kern River Golf Course 11.7 miles. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Bakersfield
Bakersfield Motel 6
Bakersfield Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing