We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable place to stay on business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Bakersfield
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay on business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and will go back. Bed and pillows were very good but towels are rough. Room is nicely appointed with refrig, work table and good lighting as well as free wifi. Staff and service were wonderful. Very close to resturants and town. Nice to haveBistro in hotel to get meals and snacks. My only complaint is the loud and annoying humming sound coming from the bathroom light fixture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Linda G for staying at the Courtyard Bakersfield. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again if in the area.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
37
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

clean and acceptable...it's just a shame that those standards cost what they do these days but if these courtyards don't start stepping it up there are much nicer options for a fraction more that will be an easier choice to make...it's time for a sprucing up around there. cracked floor in elevator, improperly marked/unmarked fire escape plan in room, old shower tile with aging grout and caulk. desk/furniture kind of worn, scratched up...this lack of attention to detail is starting to become more than just detail and it is starting to become a theme with many of the courtyards I visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank travelnowandagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Travelnowandagain for staying at the Bakersfield Courtyard. We are excited to announce we will be getting the much needed "spruce up" you're referring to starting this month. As with the lobby and Bistro area, our rooms will have a complete make over that I think you will enjoy.

Thanks Again,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is near freeways and nestled among other hotels. This hotel is good for a quick stop through town. Clean rooms. Some rooms have a small balcony and a view of the pool. Great customer service. Front desk staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Claud34 thank you for choosing the Courtyard Bakersfield for your quick stop through the area. We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit through Bakersfield.

Regard,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for the AYSO Section Playoffs. The public areas and lobby were very nice, the rooms were ok, nothing great. The service is what sets this Courtyard apart from any other hotel of this class that I have stayed at. The staff was incredibly accommodating especially given the chaos and rowdiness of the soccer teams that were there. The front office staff was always smiling and more than willing to help us find anything we needed in town or on property. The Bistro was, as expected, a bit pricey, but the food was pretty good. The Bistro staff went way above and beyond. On our last night there, we bought In N Out and also brought in our own alcohol. Being that I work in hotels and have a bachelor's in hotel management, I know that most hotels will tell you to leave the lobby if you want to do that and go back to your room. The staff here embraced our byob and food decision. We did not ask, but they brought us ice buckets for our beers and made sure we were taken care of. They even had one member of the staff going around to our tables and such making sure our bottles were open and were clearing our "dishes" without us saying anything. For this class of hotel, this is unheard of!! We were all incredibly impressed!! The next morning one of the people we were traveling with woke up at 430am with a migraine and asked the front office for Excedrin. They did not have any, but that did not stop the front desk agent. She offered to go to a local store and purchase some right away! That offer was declined and the front desk agent then offered to check her purse to see if she had any. She found some and without any hesitation gave some to the person with the migraine.

Mr. Marriott should be very proud of the staff at this property. They truly embody the meaning of hospitality and made our stay in Bakersfield a very memorable one.

The only reason I am not giving this property 5 stars is because of the rooms being rather "cheesy" and the pillows being flat. Other than that, this is an excellent property and if you are in Bakersfield, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kendall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much Kendall for your kind words. Our staff truly loves their job and wants to please. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we welcome you back again next year during your soccer tournament.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed here twice now while traveling on business and like this property. The second time we got a room on the inside courtyard with a slider door to a patio which was by the pool. There was nice outdoor seating scattered around, including some comfortable couches. Kids were having a great time in the pool and we enjoyed watching them. The fitness room is ok with two treadmills, an elliptical, and some free weights. No free breakfast which is ok with me as I'm not a big fan of those. They do have a coffee bar with Starbucks coffee and light fare. The coffee was great.

Front desk staff was very pleasant and we took advantage of our AARP membership and got a nice discount on the room. There are a few restaurants within walking distance which is always great after a day of driving. We ate at Black Angus for dinner and it was good.

Our double queen room was big and comfortable with a small fridge. Plenty of electrical outlets for electronics. The internet here is free, which is as it should be and we do book places based on that.

We have stayed in many motels and hotels in Bakersfield and this is one of our favorites. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for inside next to the Courtyard. Nicer than the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you Thoosa for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Bakersfield.

Sincerely,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here 1 night while passing through. Conveniently located off freeway 99. New, updated lobby with "Bistro" restaurant/bar. Our room was OK. Probably needs updating as it was pretty bland. Bed was OK, although the comfortable was on the flimsy side. Convenient to a few restaurants and Costco was across the street. Did not have breakfast at the hotel; instead drove 1/2 a mile to an IHOP. Staff was friendly. I would recommend a room away from 99 as there was some road noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice staff, beautiful lobby, great room and quiet. It was a welcome place to stay mid way in our way back home. I don't know about the other reviews, but our room was nice and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Julie R. for your review. Please note we are excited about our upcoming renovation in March to renew our rooms to match our great lobby setting. Hope to see you again soon.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#7 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Property: Courtyard Bakersfield
Address: 3601 Marriott Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6248
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take travel to the next level at Courtyard Bakersfield. As one of the premier hotels in Bakersfield, California, we invite you to indulge in the perfect mix of comfort and convenience. Enjoy easy access to exciting attractions including Kern River, Lake Isabella, Buck Owens Crystal Palace and Bakersfield Speedway. Back at the hotel, retreat to relaxing accommodations featuring free Wi-Fi, spacious work desks, luxurious bedding, mini refrigerators and plenty of space for the whole family to spread out. When it's time to fuel up for adventures, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. makes mouths water with refreshing morning favorites, as well as specialty Starbucks beverages. Dinner and evening cocktails are also served on site, giving guests the space to socialize while satisfying their cravings. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or make a splash in our sparkling outdoor pool. Book your stay today and experience better travel for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing