We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This place is no palace!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off + Perks
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“This place is no palace!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Although the property has tremendous potential, this hotel has seen better days. It seriously needs some updating! But if your more concerned about saving a buck or two I would recommend it, if comfort is what your looking for try The Holiday Inn across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    141
    101
    68
    54
See reviews for
135
150
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Most hotel's free breakfast is until 10:00 am this one is untill 9:30. we came at 9:35 am and the restaurant manager said in a rode way, breakfast is closed. I went to the front desk and ask if I can have breakfast since we came 5 minutes late. and in rode way and a mean look he said no. So we did not have breakfast that morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

linens thread-bare, stained and torn. very run-down. Pool area was the best part of the stay….if there had been a place to sit. 2 lounge chairs only!!! understaffed . Staff tried their best to be accommodating , but only so much they can do. NO assistance from the managers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is a nice hotel that was very convent to the confrence we had to go to clean and confortable. good price. i would stay there again. It is easy to get in and out of. easy on and off ramp tho hwy 58.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 872donnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's by this attraction called Buddy Evan's Crystal Palace, which I thought was kind of funny. He's the guy who started Hee Haw I guess. This was a nice hotel, and they did have a lounge and breakfast joint that was very busy, but still got everyone fed. The lounge is located back in this tiny corner, so I didn't like that because I couldn't find it. It's hard to find a drink at night in Bakersfield but other than that little fact, I'd say this is a great place to settle for a night, and right on the freeway (interior CA 99.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

NO ELEVATOR - staff was able to get us a downstairs room. Website does not indicate clearly no elevator. Room was Clean, Had to ask for more towels - room for 2 people should have 2 of each kind of towel. Staff addressed the no elevator & towel issue quickly. Nice Breakfast - choices not typical free breakfast - a cut above.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

You get an excellent room for the price. On vaca with the wife. This is one of the best we stayed at. Large room with many amenities. Fridge, microwave, desk, table and chairs. Also dressing area and bath.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#21 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#13 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing