We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spot in Bakersfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Nice Spot in Bakersfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place surprised me. I was on my way to Furnace Creek, CA for a bicycle race. Good location just off SR 58 & 99 about half way to my destination. Hotel has older decor but featured a clean, very spacious room and a comfortable bed. The breakfast provided as part of the stay is by far the best I've had at a Best Western. I was considering staying at a Marriott property but no availability on points. For the price, about 60% of an equivalent Marriott property, this place is an absolute steal. I also have to thank the staff for directing me to the Mexican restaurant about a half block away - great, authentic food at decent prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    163
    113
    79
    76
See reviews for
163
177
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place was a total disaster. The front desk clerk was disinterested. You have to go on a day hike to get to your room. Accomodations are minimal. Just sheets and a blanket, no bedspread. Worst of all, people all night long yelling and screaming in the back parking lot. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Bakersfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is next to Buck Owen's Crystal Palace. The hotel is central to plenty of nearby restaurants and highway access. Impressed with beautiful courtyard surrounding the pool. Would definitely stay here again and take advantage of full breakfast and pool. One of the best hotel beds I've ever slept on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thiis my home away from home when I'm working in the Central Valley of California. The staff is well-trained and caring; the accomadtions are very comfortable, the interior/pool rec area is meticulously kept with BBQ, you name it, perfect for a small, family reunion, etc. Central to everything you need including Buck Owens Crystal Palace. They even have a corral out front for your livestock. A seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. We checked in and the first thing as you walk in the room is there is no cover on the light switch, second the refrig, table lamp and pole lamp do not work. We contacted a maintenance guy and he inspected the outlet and said he would be back, 4 days later he never returned.
Maid Service, one day no coffee, one day remove all the bars of soap and only leave one for 2v people. Came back to the room after being gone all day and all the lights were on and the toilet bowl was brown. came back another day and our card keys didn't work. i was waiting at the desk to get a breakfast ticket, they only give you one everyday, so everyone wanting breakfast has to go to the desk everyday and someone was checking out and when he was done started almost yelling at the employee that this was the sh***est Best Western he ever stayed at. He shouldn't take it out on the clerk, ask for the manager. The managers office was right behind the clerk and every time I had to go to the desk (about 8) it said the manager Lucy was in, but there was never anybody sitting in the office and looking into the office you see some really beat up mini blinds. There was a large puddle of water by the vending machines the entire 4 days i was there. The rooms had no Do Not Disturb signs, The non smoking rooms with balconies I guess people think they can smoke on the balconies, the smoke comes right in you room if your door is open. There are some nice parts to this hotel, the grounds, pool area are very nice and well kept. The breakfast they provide is in a coffee shop and you get choices of 5 different menu items, food is good and the servers are very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffcatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in Bakersfield for the California Hot Rod Reunion and had long days at the track so enjoyed the accomadations. The free breakfast was great and staff helpful. Watch the housekeeping people they did short us on towels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel staff was not very friendly, upon arrival the rep was not very polite when he answered the phone while we had been standing at the front desk for about five min. The parking was a joke, there was no regulations. Trucks and cars had taken up two or more spots when they could have taken less. The room had bugs. I am not talking about one or two either. It was really gross! For a family of four we had two large towels and two washcloths. The upside, the bed was comfortable and the little fridge was nice to have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing