We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent facility, but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    142
    102
    68
    54
See reviews for
136
151
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice clean room with clean remote control. Being a bit of a ' germaphobic ' things like this are important to me.
Nice full hot breakfast in the morning.
Downside 'no elevator'. For folks like us it is an important part of picking a place to stay after a long day of driving. The last thing you want to do is haul your luggage up a flight of stairs. No help was offered at the time of check in even when they watched us struggle.
So if you reserve and have this difficulty ask for a bottom floor.

Room Tip: Situated close to all amenities. Food and gas are real handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We selected to stay at the Best Western Crystal Place Inn & Suites due to its easy access to the 99 Freeway. After check-in we located our room and it was facing the frontage road on the ground floor. I considered going back to the desk and asking for a room facing off the road, but was tired from an all-day drive and I did not hear any traffic noise so considered it not worth the effort to make a move.

The front facing ground floor rooms are very spacious as it looks like originally these rooms had a porch which has been enclosed. Be aware that the floor is uneven at this transition and slopes downward toward the window a bit. The room was clean, neat and all accessories were functional. As it worked our room was very quiet, no traffic noise, nor did we hear any noise from the occupied rooms on either side or from overhead.

The free breakfast is provided in a restaurant next door. Available from 06:00 AM, a real plus. This is a sit down breakfast with full service from a menu of five selections. The service was cheerful and prompt and the food very good, a nice way to start the day.

For your information this is a large hotel built around a very large swimming pool with mature tropical landscaping. The rooms facing this area offer the feeling of a resort. Upper floor rooms have balconies and ground floor room a porch. This area as well as the hotel is well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior court yard / swimming pool have a nice tropical landscape view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room selled moldy. It killed my allergies due to the mold. It was worn and shabby. And to top it off the lights are on a motion sensor switch that can't be turned off, so they came on every time you roll over. If I had wanted to stay at a Hotel 6 quality hotel I would have called hotel 6 and not paid Best Western prices. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beadwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was the poorest BW hotels we stayed in during our trip but for $62 per night I can't complain. The smallish room was partially renovated compared to other BW hotels. The bathroom was redone and clean. The sit down full breakfast include was excellent. There are limited number of eating places within walking distance ( 2 or 3). We were unable to connect with their wi fi and had to use their lobby computer. The reasonable price plus excellent breakfast appealed to me and compensated for the short comings

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronash275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed one night. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly. Good Prices. Free WiFi and lots of free parking.

A safe area at night. 24 hour food nearby. A Arco gas station and 24 hour mini mart next door.

When in Bakersfield. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay up front. Quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here last night, and was shocked by what I was greeted with as I walked into my room. Water stains and sagging on the ceiling from water damage, huge chunks of peeling wall paper, and dirt and crumbs under the bedside table, on top of the baseboards in the bathroom and well... it needs a lot of work. As others have said the beds are not in great shape, and the towels are less than soft.

I gave it a second star because of the help I got from the Front Desk staff, or at least the compensation for a problem we had AND, the outdoor pool area looked extremely nice. The breakfast was hot and the service was good. All in all, it was rather quiet, but I wasn't about to stay there a minute longer than I needed before I was on my way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fixingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#27 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#15 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing