We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN UNENJOYABLE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed March 7, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MUDMANDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lets start with the swarm of ants crawling up the walls of my first room, not to mention the dirty sheets in the second room. Breakfast was more like being in an institution then a hotel.( The cockaroachs are a nice touch). Fitness center a complete mess when open. Staff nasty front desk manager actually lied to Best western when I called to complain. GM never returned my call. If you choose to stay here may God have mercy on your soul.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pjlindley92057
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I don't like to write negative reviews, but I feel obligated to provide a report about what I saw.
I found the room to be clean and comfortable. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. The grounds were beautiful, immaculately maintained. There's also a nice swimming pool in the courtyard. Normally, the facility would be good enough for me to say that I would gladly stay here again.
Two major problems were encountered during my stay: security and cleanliness in the restaurant that provided the "free" breakfast.
The area around the motel does not appear to be safe. I visited the nearby businesses on foot and felt uneasy. The uneasiness was confirmed when at check out, a woman reported to the front desk that two men had tried to break into her room while she was in it. I also noted individuals on the premises that did not appear to have any reason to be there. The motel appears to need a uniformed security person to patrol the grounds even if it means charging guests more for a room.
The other problem was a cockroach that walked across the counter while I was dining.
The staff response to the report of the woman and my report about the cockroach was inadequate.
I have notified Best Western of my experience. Whether I stay at this facility again will depend upon the response of the management, including upgrade of security.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms may hear footsteps from rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here because we ended up in beautiful downtown Bakersfield at the end of a long drive and this motel was conveniently located just off Hwy 99. Adequate room at a very decent price, but the good breakfast included was the only factor that exceeded an average rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

While this hotel is centrally located and reasonably priced, we found the rooms lacking in respect to comfort. The mattresses were hard, worn and uneven, the beds came with only a blanket and a sheet. The towels were paper thin and while we booked a room for two people, we were only provided with one towel and had to ask for extras. The pool and spa were not working.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for business and the first time I stayed, I was in a room that was a little dirty & the fridge didn't work but other than that - looked like a decent place to stay so I decided to give it another try on another trip. The second time I stayed I was placed in a clean room facing the pool/hot tub area which is really pretty (hot tub was heavenly). The hotel is down the street from Rosedale Ave/Rd which is close to plenty of restaurants (also one onsite) and about a 7 minute drive to downtown Bakersfield (where the real fun is). They also offer free internet in the lobby, free breakfast and all in all - it's a good value for what you pay. I will be staying here again on future business trips because of the good service & value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room downstairs since they don't have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rloro1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#28 of 63 in Bakersfield
351 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $57 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is a clean, comfortable, hotel with tropical themed landscaping featuring a crystal clear Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub, relaxing courtyard, among other amenities. Red Lion hotel is conveniently located within easy access of downtown Bakersfield area which makes it suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with upgraded flat screen TV’s with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Complimentary made-to-order breakfast is provided each morning, along with a fitness center accessible to guests, and 4000 square feet of meeting space. This hotel is centrally located to Freeway 99, and Highways 58 and 178, making travel simple. Located conveniently near main Bakersfield attractions such as the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park, the Fox Theater, and the Kern County Fairgrounds, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing