We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations by miles!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
San Leandro, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations by miles!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Wow, what a find! If you find yourself needing a place to stay in Bakersfield go here. The place is super clean, the staff is very friendly, comfortable and clean rooms with good amenities. I was with a large motorcycle group and they even moved their shuttle van so we could all park under the awning right out front.

After I had checked in and had time to get settled I received a call from the front desk...just to check to make sure everything was to my liking and that i did not need anything else. Nice touch.

They also offer a complimentary breakfast at the attached cafe. Again, WOW! This isn't a make your own waffles breakfast, this was a proper breakfast with (5) different ones to select from - everything from (2) eggs with bacon, hash browns and toast to a big bowl of oatmeal with all the fixings. Plus it included coffee/tea. Super impressed.

I would definitely stay here again and I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    169
    128
    94
    97
See reviews for
191
198
38
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were given room 244 which faces onto the parking lot and the back of another hotel. I think we got this location because we are traveling with our 2 long haired miniature dachsies- ie dog rooms arent as nice as the others. This is disappointing since the other 2 overnights we have had on our trip down to Palm Springs have been economical but clean and fresh. Filthy stains on curtain , torn wallpaper next to it, tired bedlinens. This room/hotel needs a makeover. Location right off freeway so loud traffic noise and the floor of our room vibrates! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

MCKINLEYVILLE
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I saw a cockroach, it's live legs wiggling, on its back, under the sink, the first time I used the bathroom. then I saw an earwig next to the bathtub! Saved both of them and delivered them to the front desk when we checked out. Then, we noticed a huge water mark on the ceiling when we came back to the room that first night. neither of us remembered it being there earlier. and the rug was wet, and the top of the curtain was wet. and it wasn't located where another bathroom would be over us. it was 2 ft. across at one point, and then 4ft. across in the other direction. There was no real blanket. We had to ask for one. The faucets on the tub and sink were thumb busters for arthritics. The usual bad "water saving" shower head that just makes you take twice as long. The mini-frig wasn't working. why? it wasn't plugged in. why? We moved the long 6ft. heavy dresser to find that there was only one plug back there and you couldn't have the frig AND the lamp at the same time. Choose one. Our room was way in the back of the property with a parked car/truck at any given time right up against our window, parked in a sideways space, so we never could open our curtain. We walked past mostly empty rooms on the way to ours if you walked through the complex and wondered why we were put way in the back in the hinterlands. The Hot tub was operational. The pool area was nice, but no simple maintenance of the furniture was being done, every single cushion was rolled up, strewn about, wet, etc. I had to dry a lounge chair to use it. it was January but a beautiful day. warm enough to sit in shorts and tank top. I used the computer and printer in the lobby which both worked.

Room Tip: If you dare stay here, at least get a room near the pool area. it won't be disturbing because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night only, don't think we would stay there again. First of all, even though we had a coupon from a booklet, the hotel would not honour it - and we ended up paying $30 + tax, more : when I asked about this with the clerk, she said we could not get the coupon price as this applies to about 8 rooms only !!! - which I did not believe: I felt it was because the hotel was quite full, and of course the higher price would easily have been attained from someone else, had we not accepted it. The room was very smelly from stale smoke, even though on the door there was a "Non-Smoking room" notice. There were no bath towels in the room but were sent quite promptly when I phoned front desk. Breakfast was OK - one could not have both coffee AND orange juice, it was either or: there were 5 choices on the menu - one could not have fruit, and eggs etc - only one choice could be made. So was very disappointed indeed.

Room Tip: Make sure that if the notice shows "Non-Smoking Room" - that you get this - we didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

goid location, right off 58/99. next to buck owens crystal palace.

it's old. clean room, but we had flickering lamps along one wall, scary. prob b/c 2 lamps, tv, & mini fridge were all plugged in on the same wall!

had an 'old home' smell, not bad, but noticeable. I booked on travelocity, and we paid $78 with tax.

came with breakfast and supposed internet, but they never offered a router password.

overall, just ok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We traded some of our Best Western Rewards Points for a night 12/3/11 at the Crystal Palace, what a disaster! The room was in what we would refer to was in the hall of a "construction zone". The entire room was old and warn, the sheets and bed were limp and lumpy, it was not very clean. The lamp kept flickering going on and off, the TV started to do the same a few hours later. We called and were moved to another room, we honestly had fears of a fire since the electricity was shorting out. I would think that the name Best Western would demand a standard, I will have trouble trusting the name again. The service was okay.
The night before we stayed in a Best Western in Los Banos, it was excellent, the exact opposite of the one in Bakerfield.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Crystal Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Loud siren type noise so loud front desk could hear it over the phone. Moved us to a plain room. NOt properly cleaned.AWFUL!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrayatric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#25 of 63 in Bakersfield
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing