We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely will stay again!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at this location while on our summer road trip. We stayed on two separate nights one week apart, and had largely the same experience both times. We enjoyed fabulous service from the front desk staff, and a delicious breakfast in the attached restaurant. Our room was very conveniently located to both the front desk and the restaurant. The pool area was beautifully maintained and the rooms were clean and well kept.

On our first trip, we stayed over a Friday night, and found the restaurant to be very busy in the morning. As a result, there was a bit of a wait for our food, however, the wait staff were very friendly, and our food came out cooked perfectly, and was delicious. I believe they were short-handed that day as well.

There were a few maintenance issues that could probably use some attention. The air conditioner in our room was exceptionally loud. We also had a very hard time regulating the hot water in our room (we stayed in the same room both times). The water was either scalding hot or cold, without much in between. We did mention the hot water issue to the front desk clerk on check-out on our second stay, and he immediately sent maintenance to check on it.

In spite of a couple of maintenance issues, the service at this establishment made such an impression on us, we would gladly stay again. We had to leave very early in the morning on our second stay, and Ash, the front desk clerk was kind enough to call over to the restaurant (without my asking) and ask them to fix to-go breakfast sandwiches for us to take with us on the road.

We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    168
    126
    89
    92
See reviews for
180
192
38
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here a few times now. They offer covered parking for motorcycles right out front. The landscaping is awesome. The restaurant next door has the free breakfast. It’s a nice breakfast too, pancakes, oatmeal, eggs bacon, egg sandwich. Good stuff. The rooms are always nice and the beds are real nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickthatrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for twenty years and will never return. When we arrived there was absolutely no parking. The parking lot was full of broken down trucks. When we finally made our way to our room there were several parties going on in near by rooms. Guys sitting outside their rooms half naked, smoking and drinking. They were loud and partied all night. I did not feel safe in our room at all. There is just a shady feeling overall around this motel. To top things off the internet didn't work and our tv in our room didn't work. The staff could have cared less about this. Also. Beware of the three dollar safe fee they add on to each room. Even if you don't use it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thereal411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is a must,for many reasons,and they are: the vicinity of Buck Owens Crystal Palace Steakhouse.Kern County Museum and Pioneer Village,Silver City Ghost Town.California Living Museum,World market 5 miles away.

My wife and I occupied room 105 which overlooked the garden and pool,what a lovely establishment they have here.The room had a King Bed and ALL the nick nacks in the room you wish to have.the cost for two nights was $226.77 ( £141.73) senior rate. Also I might add the breakfast was great.

This is certainl one of the best Best Westerns that I have the fortune to stya at,so go ahead and book. Hope your stay is as good as ours was.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELLER343Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is clean with a nice pool and hot tub. The room was huge with a clean bathroom. The Internet connection was good. The breakfast was slow and they are understaffed since they do it restaurant style, but it was hot and tasted great.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stopped here for the night and were quite satisfied. The room was large and comfortable, and recently updated. The pool is spectacular. We had dinner in the bar (pub grub, limited menu) and it was very good (if noisy). They serve a full hot breakfast - no extra charge. Unfortunately, all I wanted was a danish to take to our room, and I was sent away. If we travel 99 again, we'll stop here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

If an hotel has a restaurant it should be open 7 days a week. To close Sunday for there own reasons is not acceptable. It would not happen in Europe. Having said that this hotel is a good stay. Rooms are good size with good internet and king beds. The pool is great if unheaetd with good pool furniture and green surroundings..Management need to look at reception, not too welcoming, and rooms were not all cleaned before 5pm.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 63 in Bakersfield
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hill House
Best Western Plus Hill House
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing